Steven Spielberg to be awarded Presidential Medal of Freedom

Steven Spielberg to be awarded Presidential Medal of Freedom

Presidential Medal of Freedom to be awarded to Director Steven Spielberg.

Steven Spielberg, Steven Spielberg director, Steven Spielberg award, Steven Spielberg Presidential Medal of Freedom, singer James Taylor, Barbra Streisand, Obama, Composer Steven Sondheim, Producer Emilio Estefan, Gloria Estefan, Itzhak Perlman, White Housem, Entertainment News
Director Steven Spielberg to be awarded Presidential Medal of Freedom along with few others. (Source: Reuters)

Director Steven Spielberg, singer James Taylor and multihyphenate Barbra Streisand are set to be awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the Obama administration said.

Producer Emilio Estefan, singer-songwriter Gloria Estefan and conductor Itzhak Perlman are also among Hollywood notables who will receive the honor on November 24 at the White Housem, said the Hollywood Reporter.

Composer Steven Sondheim, who was awarded the honour last year but wasn’t able to attend the 2014 ceremony, will be awarded the honour this month.


“I look forward to presenting these 17 distinguished Americans with our nation’s highest civilian honour,” said the President in a statement.


“From public servants who helped us meet defining challenges of our time to artists who expanded our imaginations, from leaders who have made our union more perfect to athletes who have inspired millions of fans, these men and women have enriched our lives and helped define our shared experience as Americans.”

Last year, mogul Oprah Winfrey, actress Meryl Streep, singer Stevie Wonder and anchor Tom Brokaw were among the recipients.