scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Sunday, January 23, 2022
Live now

Avengers Endgame movie review and release LIVE UPDATES: The big MCU finale is here

Avengers Endgame movie review and release live updates: Here's what celebrities, critics and fans across the world are saying about Avengers Endgame. Starring Robert Downey Jr, Chris Evans, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson, Brie Larson and Josh Brolin among others, the film is directed by Joe and Anthony Russo.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: April 26, 2019 3:58:04 pm
Avengers Endgame movie review Avengers Endgame movie review: The Joe and Anthony Russo film is expected to break box office records.

Avengers Endgame has released all over the world today. Directed by Joe and Anthony Russo, Endgame picks up after events of the 2018 release Avengers Infinity War. Half the superheroes that the audience had come to know and love disintegrated after Thanos’ snap and it seems like the remaining superheroes will do everything in their power to bring back the fallen heroes.

From the promotional material and the interviews, the makers have strongly suggested that this film will focus on the dynamics of the six original Avengers – Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, Hulk, Black Widow and Hawkeye. Of course, they will be strongly supported by Captain Marvel and Ant-Man. The film also brings back the characters who survived Thanos’ snap which includes Okoye, James Rhodes, Rocket and Nebula among others.

Fans were overwhelmed after the emotional end of Avengers: Infinity War and the early reviews of Avengers: Endgame suggest that the audience is going to have a strong reaction to this one as well. Much like the last film, the makers have requested the audience to not share any spoilers.

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about Avengers Endgame.

15:58 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Our verdict | Avengers Endgame movie review

Having laboured over setting up the final battle in Avengers: Infinity War, Directors Anthony and Joe Russo get their act together to give a proper, emotional, funny and, yes, even spectacular, send-off to a cast of characters we have come to know (and, mostly love) over 22 films and 10 years.

Read here | Avengers Endgame movie review: A spectacular send-off

15:47 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Avengers Endgame cast talks about the emotional wrap up

15:36 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Watch: Bengaluru fans are loving Avengers Endgame
15:20 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Avengers Endgame runtime

The exact runtime of Avengers Endgame is said to be 182 minutes making it the longest film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The runtime of Avengers Infinity War was 149 minutes.

15:06 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Watch: Fans are going to miss their favourite superheroes after this big finale
14:51 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Our verdict | Avengers Endgame movie review

Having laboured over setting up the final battle in Avengers: Infinity War, Directors Anthony and Joe Russo get their act together to give a proper, emotional, funny and, yes, even spectacular, send-off to a cast of characters we have come to know (and, mostly love) over 22 films and 10 years.

Read full review here |  Avengers Endgame movie review: A spectacular send-off

14:36 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Watch: Bengaluru is enjoying Avengers Endgame
14:20 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Watch: Fans are overwhelmed by the emotional end
14:05 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Joe Russo on Avengers Endgame fan theories

Joe Russo told indianexpress.com, “People are creative and funny, and the fact that they are so excited about these movies that they are adding their own stories to it, I mean, it is not really all that storytelling, it is this sort of collective contribution. And I think the Marvel universe represents that – how 11 franchises are woven together by a bunch of different artistes. I think that it is just fun to see the fans reflecting it the same way and telling their own stories.”

13:48 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Watch: Fans are catching Avengers Endgame before work
13:36 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Avengers Endgame cast talks about the big finale

13:20 (IST)26 Apr 2019
‘Thanos is a sociopath’

Joe Russo earlier told indianexpress.com, “Thanos’ goal was one that’s very philosophical. It was a teachable moment. Ultimately we should remember that he is a sociopath. So you have to ask the question as to what was his goal ultimately. To teach people about resources or to fulfill his demented vision of the universe?” 

Also Read |  Avengers Endgame director Joe Russo: Thanos wanted to teach a lesson about resource abuse

13:05 (IST)26 Apr 2019
'I don’t believe that there is ever a finish line'

Jeremy Renner told indianexpress.com, "I don’t know. I feel like there is never a last thing with anything in Marvel. Marvel is a giant universe of storytelling. So I don’t believe that there is ever a finish line. So I would say no."

Also Read | Jeremy Renner on Avengers Endgame being his last Marvel film: There’s never a finish line

12:49 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Thanos' snap was supposed to happen in Avengers Endgame?

Screenwriter Stephen McFeely, who wrote the movie’s script with Christopher Markus, revealed to Empire that initially the snap was supposed to happen in Avengers: Endgame. McFeely said, “We had so much story in those early drafts of Infinity War that, if anything, we thought we maybe shouldn’t do The Snap until the end of act one of Endgame.”

12:36 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Watch: Fans bid emotional goodbye
12:19 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Mark Ruffalo shot for multiple endings for Avengers Endgame

Mark Ruffalo told E!News in an interview, "I shot, like, five different endings to this movie. I didn’t even get a whole script to this movie. And I don’t know why. The script I did get had dummy scenes in it." Joe Russo later said, "The truth is he actually shot 11 endings!"

12:04 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Director Joe Russo on Avengers Endgame

11:50 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Watch: Avengers Endgame fans in Kochi
11:36 (IST)26 Apr 2019
'This is why we watch films'

Director Milap Zaveri shared on Twitter, "Never felt the magic of the movies in my life like I did in #AvengersEndgame I laughed, I cheered, I clapped, I cried. I felt my heart swell, break and love. This is why we watch films. Make films. Love films. Live and breathe films. ??"

11:19 (IST)26 Apr 2019
Kevin Feige asks fans to bring tissues for Avengers Endgame

"I think bring tissues. And bring your enthusiasm and love for these characters and cast because the actors have worked so hard for so long. We shot this movie for almost two years with Infinity War at the same time. I think just go into a theatre full of fans and other people. And I hope you enjoy the movie," Kevin Feige said at a media interaction in Seoul.

Marvel Cinematic Universe started with Iron Man in the year 2008 and Robert Downey Jr's star power scaled new heights soon after the film. Over the years, Marvel films have helped in creating new heroes who are worshipped throughout the world. It's only a testament to their success so far that Avengers Endgame tickets in India were sold within minutes. As per online ticket booking site BookMyShow, they sold 18 tickets per second. There are talks about 24X7 shows in cinema halls across India. Such kind of fandom is unheard of.

MCU is expected to broaden its scope after Avengers: Endgame as Disney has more characters to play with after the Fox acquisition. Marvel president Kevin Feige is yet to announce the studio's direction after Endgame but sequels for Black Panther and Doctor Strange are speculated to be in the pipeline. Guardians of the Galaxy 3 is also in the works and there has been a strong chatter about a standalone Black Widow movie. Spider-Man: Far From Home is scheduled to release in July 2019.

Avengers Endgame stars Robert Downey Jr (Tony Stark aka Iron Man), Chris Evans (Steve Rogers aka Captain America), Chris Hemsworth (Thor), Mark Ruffalo (Bruce Banner aka Hulk), Scarlett Johansson (Natasha Romanoff aka Black Widow), Jeremy Renner (Clint Barton aka Hawkeye), Brie Larson (Carol Danvers aka Captain Marvel), Paul Rudd (Scott Lang aka Ant-Man), Danai Gurira (Okoye), Don Cheadle (James Rhodes aka War Machine), Karen Gillan (Nebula), Bradley Cooper (Rocket) and Josh Brolin (Thanos).

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.