Follow Us:
Thursday, May 26, 2022

Southern cinema sweeps the National Awards

The 55th National Awards has left Bollywood hanging as southern cinema sweeped all the main categories.

Written by Agencies | New Delhi |
September 7, 2009 5:16:09 pm

Filmmaker Priyadarshan’s Tamil film ‘Kanchivaram’,a period drama about silk weavers of the south,was chosen as the best movie at the 55th National Film Awards announced here.

Tamil actor Prakash Raaj beat off competition from Bollywood superstars Shah Rukh Khan and Aamir Khan to bag the Best Actor award for his role in ‘Kanchivaram’,which depicts the lives of silk weavers of Kanchipuram during the pre-Independence era.

Raaj had earlier won the Best Supporting Actor award for his ‘Iruvar’ in 1998 and also a special Jury Award in 2003.

Veteran filmmaker Adoor Gopalakrishnan has got the Best Director’s award for his film ‘Naalu Pennungal’. This will be his seventh national award.

Best of Express Premium

UPSC Key – May 26, 2022: Why and What to know about Hawala Transaction to...Premium
BJP big guns to lend Himachal CM Jai Ram Thakur a hand as corruption, fac...Premium
Explained: The message behind Margaret Atwood’s ‘unburnable&#...Premium
Welcome to the elusive world of crypto mining: Rohtak rig, 3 engineers, R...Premium

He was named among the host of other winners of the National Film Awards announced for the year 2007 by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting here today.

Actress Umashree has bagged the Best Actress award for her performance in Girish Kasaravalli’s Kannada film ‘Gulabi Talkies’,which depicts the transformation of the people of a small fishing village after their exposure to colour television.

The Best Child Actor award has gone to Sharad Goyekar for his role in the Marathi film ‘Tingya’.

Actor Darshan Zariwala has won the best supporting actor award for his role in Feroz Abbas Khan’s film ‘Gandhi- My Father’,which is the only Hindi film to bag two more awards for Best Screenplay for Khan and Special Jury award.

Shah Rukh Khan-starrer ‘Chak De India’ bagged the national award in the Wholesome Entertainment Category,while Aamir Khan-directed ‘Taare Zameen Par’ won the award in Family Welfare Category.

Playback singer Shankar Mahadevan won the award for the song “Maa” in the film ‘Taare Zameen Par’,while Prasoon Joshi won the award for the Best Lyrics for the same song.

Filmmaker Sai Paranjpe headed the jury for feature film category,documentary filmmaker Ashoke Viswanathan chaired the jury for the non-film category and writer Namita Gokhale chaired the jury for best writing on Indian films.

The winners were selected from among 102 films and 106 non-feature films.

Sources in the ministry said though the list had been finalised last week,the announcement was deferred due to the death of Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Y S R Reddy.

Among other notable winners was Hindi film ‘Frozen’,which won the Indira Gandhi award for best first film of a director,for its maker Shivajee Chandrabhushan.

The film also bagged an award for best cinematography.

Another Hindi film ‘Dharm’,directed by Bhavna Talwar and starring Pankaj Kapoor,won the Nargis Dutt Award for best feature film on national integration.

‘Foto’ (Hindi) won the best children’s film award,while ‘Inimey Naangathaan’ (Tamil) won the best animation film award.

Actress Shefali Shah won the best supporting actress award for English film ‘The Last Lear’ and Shreya Ghoshal won the best female playback singer award for the film ‘Jab We Met’. ‘Jab We Met’ song ‘Yeh Ishq Hai..’ won an award for best choreography Shah Rukh Khan starrer ‘Om Shanti Om’ won an award for best art direction.

Adoor’s film ‘Naalu Pennungal’ bagged the best editing award also.

Hindi film ‘1971’ won the best audiography award and it also won the award for best film in Hindi under the language specified in schedule VIII of the Constitution category.

In the same category,Bengali film ‘Ballygunge Court’ won the best film award,while ‘Gulabi Talkies’ was named the best Kannada film.

‘Ore Kadal’ won the best Malayalam film,’Nirop’ won the award for best film in Marathi. ‘Periyar’ got the award for Tamil,while ‘The Last Lear’ won the award for being the best film in English.

Rajnikanth starrer ‘Shivaji:The Boss’ won a award for best ‘Special Effect’.

For all the latest Entertainment News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard