Follow Us:
Friday, July 20, 2018

Barfi! wins Best Picture,Ranbir,Priyanka Best Actors at TOIFA

The most anticipated performance was by Aishwarya,who returned to stage first time after the birth of Aaradhya.

Written by PTI | Vancouver | Published: April 8, 2013 10:11:18 am

Director Anurag Basu’s Barfi! swept the first Times Of India Film Awards (TOIFA) here by taking home five statuettes including the best picture,director and best acting honours for its lead stars Priyanka Chopra and Ranbir Kapoor.

The Bollywood extravaganza that culminated here saw some electrifying performances by superstar Shah Rukh Khan,Aishwarya Rai Bachchan and Katrina Kaif.

Ranbir,who was a big hit amongst the crowd here with his effervescent personality,entered the stage singing a parody of best film nominees on the title song of Barfi!. He was later joined by co-host Anushka Sharma and was helped by actor Boman Irani with the hosting duties.

He was soon called up to accept the first trophy of the night that went to his father,Rishi Kapoor,for being the best onscreen villain in Agneepath. The veteran beat off competition from co-star Sanjay Dutt,Bipasha Basu and Tigmanshu Dhulia.

Barfi!,a sweet romance of a deaf-mute boy and an autistic girl,was clearly the most loved film at the ceremony as it went on to sweep awards in all the major categories.

Ranbir was named the best actor at the end of the ceremony and a visibly happy actor shouted,”I love you,thank you”.

An emotional Priyanka Chopra accepted the Best Actress trophy with her father by her side. She was seen wiping off tears as her father,who is recovering from a heart attack,slowly made his way to the stage.

“It is clearly Barfi!‘s’ night. My father made 30 hour long journey to be with me. I want to thank my father for teaching me to believe in myself,” the actress said.

Ranbir piggy-backed Basu as he accepted the best director trophy. Though Illeana D’Cruz lost out to Dolly Ahluwalia of Vicky Donor fame in the best supporting category,she managed to bring ‘Barfi’ its fifth trophy by winning the Best Female Debutante Award.

Vicky Donor star Ayushman Khurana was named the Best Male debut of the year while Annu Kapoor was given the Best Supporting Actor award.

True to Bollywood style,the award function was high on music and performances.

Abhishek Bachchan started the festivities by entering through back door and taking a round trip of the venue before delivering an energetic routine that started with a Bhangra number.

As Abhishek made a trip to the front row,he forced Shah Rukh Khan,Gauri Khan and Karan Johar to join him in singing Bunty Aur Babli. The actor also danced on jhoom barabar jhoom and chalao na naino se.

Abhishek also won the trophy for the Best Comedy Actor for his performance in Bol Bachchan.

“We were to perform here in Vancouver five years ago but that got cancelled. I hope that I have made it up for that with this performance. I promise you that next time I will not only come with Ash but will also bring my dad (Amitabh Bachchan),” said Abhishek before paying a tribute to his wife,who was sitting in the audience.

The most anticipated performances of the night were by Shah Rukh Khan and Aishwarya,who returned to stage for the first time after the birth of her daughter Aaradhya.

Aishwarya started her act with Khwaja mere khwaja before dancing on her songs from Taal and Dhoom.

Katrina,one of the earlier performers,began her routine with Singh is Kinng before moving on to her popular item numbers like Sheila Ki Jawaani and Chikni Chameli.

Priyanka’s act was more elaborate as she performed on different aspect of a woman beginning with her latest item number Babli Badmaash. She also danced her way through Don,Barfi among others.

In other categories,Gulzar was named the best lyricist for penning Saans in Yash Chopra’s last film Jab Tak Hai Jaan while Ajay Atul won the best music director award for Agneepath.

Sonu Nigam’s Abhi Mujhme kahi from Agneepath won him the Best Playback singer award while Shalmali Kholgade won in the female category for her number Pareshaan from Ishaqzaade.

TOIFA also honoured in Critics categories where Gauri Shinde was given the

Best Director trophy for English Vinglish,Anurag Kashyap’s Gangs Of Wasseypur was named best film,Deepika Padukone best actress for Cocktail and national-award-winner Irrfan as best actor for Paan Singh Tomar.

The curtains came down with a performance by Shiamak Davar and his troupe as they were joined by Ranbir,Anushka,Shah Rukh,Asin,Priyanka Abhishek and Aishwarya Rai who danced together on Kajraare.

For all the latest Entertainment News, download Indian Express App