scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Live now

Zero movie review and release LIVE UPDATES: Despite bad reviews, audience applauds SRK, Anushka

Zero movie release live updates: Here's what celebrities, critics and fans are saying about Zero, starring Shah Rukh Khan, Anushka Sharma and Katrina Kaif.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi | Updated: December 21, 2018 3:36:07 pm
zero review Zero movie review: The film is helmed by Aanand L Rai.

Zero, starring Shah Rukh Khan, Anushka Sharma and Katrina Kaif, has hit the screens. The Aanand L Rai directorial is the solo Bollywood release this week and is expected to perform well at the ticket counters. In the movie, Shah Rukh essays the role of a vertically challenged man who falls in love, first, with wheelchair-bound Anushka and then with a popular actress essayed by Katrina. Apart from the three lead actors, Zero also features Zeeshan Ayyub and has special appearances by actors like Abhay Deol, Madhavan, Salman Khan, Sridevi, Alia Bhatt, Karisma Kapoor and others.

Also Read | Zero movie review: Preposterous drivel

Talking about Zero, director Aanand L Rai told PTI, “Zero is about the incompleteness of any form – be it emotional or physical. But it has nothing to do with happiness. The film is about ‘let’s celebrate life in any form’. This film makes me feel very dreamy. I being on a wheelchair can be a happier person than you. It is about accepting all the flaws and weaknesses and celebrating life. It is about romancing life not surviving. Don’t survive… live.”

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about Shah Rukh Khan's Zero. Read updates in Hindi.

15:36 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Zero: Our verdict

This could have been a film for the ages. How many times do we see A-list Bollywood superstars go out of their comfort zone? SRK could have taken a deep dive into Bauua and emerged on another level: there is no one else who aces the lover-and-the-joker with as much self-awareness as he does. But he gets busy trying to do another Swades, and fly the flag, and be a patriot. In trying to do everything, very little is achieved.

Read More | Zero review: Preposterous drivel

15:01 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Watch Zero song Heer Badnaam featuring Katrina Kaif here

14:27 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Watch Zero song Issaqbaazi featuring Salman Khan here

13:59 (IST)21 Dec 2018
T-Series head Bhushan Kumar on Zero

Bhushan Kumar posted on Twitter, "It's #ZeroDay. My best wishes to the entire team for today's release! Delighted to have been a part of this project. @iamsrk @aanandlrai @AnushkaSharma #KatrinaKaif"

13:52 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Zero: fan reactions

SRK fans are loving his performance in Zero.

13:32 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Farah Khan on Zero

Farah Khan posted a special message for Shah Rukh Khan on Instagram with this photo. She wrote, "Sending the warmest, tightest hug to my dearest @iamsrk today for his most awaited #zerothefilm .. wishing it all Success, love n blessings 💕@gaurikhan @katrinakaif @anushkasharma & AnandRaiAnand.."

(Source: Instagram/Farah Khan)

13:06 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Watch the trailer of Zero here

12:43 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Zero: Fan reactions

Zero has been receiving mediocre reviews from the critics but SRK loyalists are loving the film.

12:23 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Shah Rukh Khan and Aanand L Rai attend Zero screening

(Express photo: Varinder Chawla)

12:10 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Anushka, Katrina at Zero screening

(Express photo: Varinder Chawla)

11:52 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Raees director Rahul Dholakia on Zero

Rahul Dholakia, who has earlier worked with SRK on Raees, posted on Twitter, "May the Audience be with you ! @iamsrk Sir !! Best wishes to the Team #Zero @Mdzeeshanayyub @aanandlrai"

11:41 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Shah Rukh Khan on Zero

Shah Rukh Khan told indianexpress.com, "I always think, within the commercial cinema setup that I am working in, how I can bring in something new, as an actor, as a producer, in whatever capacity I can. So, there I am not complete at all. I am very restless. If you think you are complete, then you are boring. Then you are over and done with."

Also Read | Zero actor Shah Rukh Khan: As an artiste, I am very incomplete

11:31 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Tumbbad actor Sohum Shah praises Zero's climax

Sohum Shah shared on Twitter, "#Zero is an absolute spectacle. Right from @aanandlrai sir’s direction to @iamsrk’s performance.. everything in this film is flawless. The climax will leave you stunned and how."

11:12 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Emraan Hashmi wishes SRK for Zero

Emraan Hashmi shared on Twitter, "Hearing fab stuff about #zero . Preview show reactions and critics alike ! All the best @iamsrk and team!! This ones a winner 🥂

10:47 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Abhishek Bachchan wishes all the luck to Team Zero

Abhishek Bachchan shared on Twitter, "Here's wishing all the best to @iamsrk, @aanandlrai, Anushka, Katrina and the entire team of #Zero all the very best for their release today. Can't wait to watch it."

10:24 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Shah Rukh Khan on Zero

SRK spoke to indianexpress.com and said, "I hope people understand it is amazingly special to be ordinary, to be who you are physically, mentally and emotionally. We have tried to cover all three aspects. I think people will come out smiling from the theater."

Also Read | Shah Rukh Khan: With Zero, I hope people understand how amazingly special it is to be ordinary

10:09 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Kubbra Sait on Zero

Sacred Games actor Kubbra Sait posted on Twitter, "I’ll go on a limb and say this... #Zero will be a head turner, time stopper, heart breaker and the rescuer of love. Grandest luck to @iamsrk @AnushkaSharma #KatrinaKaif"

09:54 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Anurag Kashyap wishes luck to Team Zero

Anurag Kashyap posted on Twitter, "Zero day today .. all the best @aanandlrai and team zero"

09:46 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Zero: Quick take

Indianexpress.com's Anvita says, "The first half of the Shah Rukh Khan starrer is entertaining enough, but the second half of the movie is so disastrous that you can't help but wonder what the writer and filmmaker were thinking of when they were penning the script. Let's just put it this way, Zero suffers from the lack of a story. There's no plot, there are just lines thrown around by three very popular actors."

09:36 (IST)21 Dec 2018
Katrina on SRK

In an interview with indianexpress.com, Katrika Kaif said, “I do believe that because Shah Rukh in his approach with women and his female co-stars is all about making you better and as good as you can be. He wants his female co-stars to shine. He wants them to be strong. I do feel that it does in the end. It does add to the fact that you very rarely see an insipid, incidental character in a Shah Rukh Khan film. It’s rare. Most of the female characters in his films are well-defined and most of the women in his films also get appreciated."

Also Read: Zero actor Katrina Kaif: It’s rare to have insipid, incidental characters in a Shah Rukh Khan film

Talking about the message of Zero, Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan said, "I hope people understand it is amazingly special to be ordinary, to be who you are physically, mentally and emotionally. We have tried to cover all three aspects. I think people will come out smiling from the theater."