scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Monday, April 12, 2021

Total Dhamaal movie review and release highlights

Total Dhamaal movie review and release highlights: Here's what fans, critics and celebrities said about the Indra Kumar directorial that stars Ajay Devgn, Madhuri Dixit, Anil Kapoor, Riteish Deshmukh, Arshad Warsi and Javed Jaffrey.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: February 22, 2019 4:58:38 pm
Total Dhamaal Total Dhamaal movie review: Total Dhamaal is helmed by Indra Kumar.

Total Dhamaal, starring Ajay Devgn, Madhuri Dixit, Anil Kapoor, Riteish Deshmukh, Arshad Warsi and Javed Jaffrey, has hit the screens. The Indra Kumar directorial is the third installment of the Dhamaal franchise that began in 2007. Total Dhamaal is being touted as an adventure comedy that promises laughter, but it is yet to be seen how the film will be perceived by the audience.

The film’s big attraction includes the comeback of the iconic 90s jodi of Anil Kapoor and Madhuri Dixit. The duo has worked in hit films like Tezaab, Beta, Ram Lakhan and Jamai Raja among others. Sonakshi Sinha features in the recreated version of “Mungda” in the film.

After the Pulwama attack, the makers decided to not release Total Dhamaal in Pakistan.

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about Total Dhamaal.

16:47 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Our verdict

Indian Express' film critic Shubhra Gupta gave Total Dhamaal, a one-and-a-half-star review. She wrote, "About the only people who prevent you from strangling yourself is the forever-bickering couple played by Anil Kapoor (motabhai, husband) and Madhuri Dixit ( Marathi mulgi, wife). They have an easiness between them which comes of long years of working together, and watching Dixit, unburdened from the weight of looking glamorous, reminds you of the powerhouse she used to be. These two deserve a film of their own."
Also read: Total Dhamaal movie review: The Indra Kumar directorial is a string of random sequences

15:17 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Total Dhamaal gets decent opening

Girish Johar, film trade analyst, tweeted, "With a wide release, #TotalDhamaal has good start atthe BO in range of 35 - 40% in early shows ! Mass Family Entertainer is expected to pick over the day & through the weekend ! @ajaydevgn @AnilKapoor @MadhuriDixit @Riteishd @ArshadWarsi @jaavedjaaferi @imsanjaimishra @pitobash." 

14:42 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Planning to watch Total Dhamaal? Watch its trailer here

14:10 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Rakul Preet on Total Dhamaal
13:57 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Our verdict

Indian Express' film critic Shubhra Gupta, in her review of Total Dhamaal, wrote, "Ajay Devgn brings his slo-mo stride to the plot. Err, what’s that? Total Dhamaal is nothing but a string of random sequences, shot in water and on land, desert and sky. Sanjay Mishra keeps saying ‘bro’: he doesn’t, in my hearing, say ‘yo’. Boman Irani vamps it up, in a sharp little moustache. Arshad Warsi and Jaaved Jafferi twin, inhabit mostly flatness, making me wish for the hundredth time that these two sharp comic talents get a movie which gives them something, anything, to do, other than being chased by computer-generated vultures (yes, this happens)." 

Also read | Total Dhamaal movie review: The Indra Kumar directorial is a string of random sequences

13:42 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Arshad Warsi praised his co-stars Anil Kapoor and Madhuri Dixit

Arshad Warsi, who has been part of all Dhamaal films till date, tweeted, "This is nothing compared to what the two legends @MadhuriDixit & @AnilKapoor have done in #TotalDhamaal"

13:30 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Ajay Devgn said one needs to understand the audience to grow as an actor

Ajay Devgn told PTI, "They (audience) are changing and you (actors) have to change with time. Today the way my daughter thinks and I think is completely different. I try to grasp from what she is thinking.

"I try to learn what is the mindset and thought process of people today. Emotions are the same but the way we emote and they emote is different, they react to things differently. And we need to learn that for cinema and for ourselves."

12:57 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Madhuri Dixit on doing comedy

Madhuri Dixit told indianexpress.com, "I love doing comedies. I believe it is a lot of fun, and I enjoy it. And once I knew that Indu ji (director Indra Kumar) was at the helm, everything else followed. And we have a lovely group with Ajay (Devgn), Anil ji (Kapoor), and the other actors. So there’s a comfort level, and I thought I’ll have great fun on the set."

12:32 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Ajay Devgn shared a fun click from Total Dhamaal promotions

Asserting how Madhuri Dixit's presence in the film was one of its high points, actor Ajay Devgn tweeted a picture that has the diva along with co-actors Anil Kapoor, Riteish Deshmukh and director Indra Kumar. Ajay captioned the image as, "Ek Madhuri Sab Pe Bhaari!"

12:14 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Here's what fans said after watching Total Dhamaal
12:00 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Ajay Devgn on Total Dhamaal not releasing in Pakistan

Ajay Devgn exclusively told indianexpress.com, "This is an aspect or a part of it. We need to show that we are with our nation and armed forces. And this is the only way we can show. Rest, people are doing their own thing. They have put sanctions on so many things. So, when everything will be put together, there will be a difference. It is not that our decision is going to make all the difference. It is everything put together."

11:46 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Watch: Total Dhamaal song Mungda

Sonakshi Sinha has done a special song for Total Dhamaal, which is a recreated version of the iconic Helen number from 1978 film Inkaar. 

11:31 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Anil Kapoor on Total Dhamaal

Actor Anil Kapoor had told PTI, "I do films with the sole purpose of entertaining people. I am an entertainer, I like to make people laugh, cry, angry and connect with them. For me, doing drama, horror or patriotic film, making people cry is also entertainment.

"I like to engage audience. I don’t want to bore the audience. If it connects with people, I feel happy and if it doesn’t, I get sad too,” Kapoor said.

"For certain films you have to be spontaneous and instinctive and for some you have to do quite a bit of prep work. I am playing a Gujarati in Total Dhamaal so I had a dialect coach, he helped me. For every film it is different," Anil Kapoor added.

Also read: Total Dhamaal actor Anil Kapoor: Acting is about engaging audiences

11:18 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Director Indra Kumar on reuniting with Anil Kapoor and Madhuri Dixit

In an exclusive chat with indianexpress.com, director Indra Kumar said, "(It was) Like a blessing, as two immensely talented actors were coming together again. And others are also on board. So I felt we struck gold.

"They all improvised which was very good. We all accepted that. So things used to become easy for me with their own additions," he shared.

Also read: Total Dhamaal has many stars and so much masala: Director Indra Kumar

11:04 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Trade analyst Sumit Kadel called Total Dhamaal an

Trade analyst Sumit M Kadel gave Total Dhamaal a three-star rating. He tweeted, "#TotalDhamaal is funny specially in Ist half. Its a no brainer fast paced family entertainer, lavishly shot & well performed by @ajaydevgn @MadhuriDixit @AnilKapoor @Riteishd & the entire cast. 2nd half is moderate & it could have been better. Overall Good film. Rating- ⭐️⭐️⭐️"

Sumit added in another tweet, "#TotalDhamaal has opened well at the box office with the occupancy of approx 30% in morning shows. Advance for the day is looking good specially in Single screen at mass belts."

10:47 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Boman Irani thanked Suniel Shetty for his wishes

Total Dhamaal actor Boman Irani replied to Suniel Shetty's message wishing the team. Boman wrote, "Thanks a lot dearest @SunielVShetty.  Will make sure you enjoy the wildest adventure ever! Love, always. "

Ajay Devgn also replied to Suniel Shetty with a tweet that read, "Thank you! It was #TotalDhamaal indeed!"

10:30 (IST)22 Feb 2019
It's a houseful opening for Total Dhamaal!

Film distributor Raj Bansal tweeted, "@ajaydevgn #TotalDhamaal opens to packed houses all over. Its HOUSE FULL. @MadhuriDixit @sonakshisinha @eshagupta2811 @AnilKapoor @ArshadWarsi @Riteishd"

10:17 (IST)22 Feb 2019
WATCH: In conversation with Ajay Devgn and Riteish Deshmukh

09:54 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Madhuri Dixit on reuniting with Anil Kapoor, Ajay Devgn and Indra Kumar

Madhuri Dixit told indianexpress.com, "I love doing comedies. I believe it is a lot of fun, and I enjoy it. And once I knew that Indu ji (director Indra Kumar) was at the helm, everything else followed. And we have a lovely group with Ajay (Devgn), Anil ji (Kapoor), and the other actors. So there’s a comfort level, and I thought I’ll have great fun on the set."

Also read | Total Dhamaal actor Madhuri Dixit: I love doing comedies

09:37 (IST)22 Feb 2019
Total Dhamaal actor Ajay Devgn on doing comedy films

Ajay Devgn recently sat down for an exclusive chat with indianexpress.com while promoting Total Dhamaal in New Delhi. He said, "Comedy is a genre which is universally liked. It is not an easy genre. You need to really work at it. We had a lot of fun on the set. We were laughing in the shots, but even for that, we need the timing right. It takes a lot of effort and energy." 

Also read | Total Dhamaal actor Ajay Devgn: Comedy is not an easy genre

After Dhamaal (2007), and Double Dhamaal (2011), Total Dhamaal is the third film in the franchise. Riteish Deshmukh, Arshad Warsi and Javed Jaffrey have featured in all the Dhamaal films.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
x