scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Sunday, April 11, 2021
Live now

The Girl on the Train review and release LIVE UPDATES: Parineeti Chopra’s film gets mixed response

The Girl on the Train review and release LIVE UPDATES: Here's what celebs, critics and fans are talking about Parineeti Chopra starrer Netflix film, The Girl on the Train, which is directed by Ribhu Dasgupta.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: February 26, 2021 7:16:58 pm
parineeti chopra the girl on the train filmParineeti Chopra suffers from amnesia and alcoholism in The Girl on the Train. (Photo: PR Handout)

The Girl on the Train, starring Parineeti Chopra, releases on Netflix today. The Ribhu Dasgupta directorial is the Hindi remake of 2016 Hollywood film featuring Emily Blunt. The original was based on Paula Hawkins’ bestselling novel of the same name. While this is Ribhu’s second outing with Netflix after Bard of Blood, it marks Parineeti’s digital debut. The psychological thriller also stars Aditi Rao Hydari, Avinash Tiwary, Kirti Kulhari and others.

While Parineeti plays Mira Kapoor (the Hollywood version saw Emily Blunt playing Rachel) and Aditi plays Nusrat (the original had Haley Bennett as Megan). As per the original story, Mira suffers from amnesia and is an alcoholic. Post an unfortunate incident, Nusrat (Aditi) gets murdered and the evidence points towards Mira. The only way out for Mira is that she needs to remember what transpired on that fateful night.

Talking about adapting the Hollywood screenplay and the book for Indian audience, Ribhu told indianexpress.com, “”There was an already existing material, there was a novel, there was a film. Of course the structure and the basic material is from that. But, we’ve given it our own colour. Before I started writing the script, I knew the things which really work and parts which won’t be so important for the film. Since it was a Hindi film, we had to rewrite some portions, give some elements to the characters and write them very differently. At the end of the day, you’re an Indian consumer, so they were our first priority. Now, let’s see how people react because some have seen the original, most of them have not, I think.”

Live Blog

Follow all the updates about The Girl on the Train.

19:09 (IST)26 Feb 2021
Our verdict

In her review of The Girl On The Train, Shubhra Gupta wrote, "It’s only after a good hour has passed that the overwrought Parineeti Chopra settles down, to dig a little deeper into her role, and deliver moments when you can see the girl’s pain, even if fleeting. And then the film swings right back to its choppy contrivances, with a hard-to-swallow climax." 

Also read | The Girl On The Train movie review: Parineeti Chopra film has the subtlety of Shatabadi Express

18:29 (IST)26 Feb 2021
'Highly recommended'

"#TheGirlOnTheTrain What an ending, watch the film. Highly recommended," @Dramaquueeeen tweeted. 

17:56 (IST)26 Feb 2021
'A lot of surprises, newer characters and plot points'

@fenil_seta wrote on Twitter, "#TheGirlOnTheTrain is a decent attempt at best. Those who have the original will be in for a surprise as there are a lot of changes and newer characters and plot points. 1st half is fine and from start to finish, the pace is quick. So the attention of viewers doesn’t wander even for a second. A few scenes are exceptional. But on the flipside, there’s no character development of supporting characters." 

16:49 (IST)26 Feb 2021
'Absolutely fantastic acting'

"@ParineetiChopra Absolutely fantastic acting skills in #TheGirlOnTheTrain. Your career BEST" @iamMohiitt said via Twitter. 

16:28 (IST)26 Feb 2021
'What a tremendous performance by Parineeti'

A fan @pariholicparth tweeted, "Done watching #TheGirlOnTheTrain and omg the climax was something I never expected! Definitely better than the original movie and what a tremendous performance by @ParineetiChopra. Keep it up girl."

16:17 (IST)26 Feb 2021
'I have never seen a thriller like this ever before'

@Taiyaba_Pari posted on Twitter, "Just Finished Watching #TheGirlOnTheTrain and i am SPEECHLESS I have never seen a thriller like this ever before @ParineetiChopra.. EK HI DIL HAI MERE PAAS KITNI BAAR JEETOGE?"

16:02 (IST)26 Feb 2021
'What a brilliant performance'

@Naman__Kaur tweeted, "I have goosebumps. I have tears. @ParineetiChopra what a brilliant performance <3 like WOW #TheGirlOnTheTrain."

15:34 (IST)26 Feb 2021
'There are always two sides to every story'

Aditi Rao Hydari took to Twitter to post, "There are always two sides to every story.  #TGOTT, now available in Tamil and Telugu too, only on Netflix."

15:11 (IST)26 Feb 2021
Ribhu Dasgupta looking forward to the film

When The Girl on the Train director Ribhu Dasgupta was asked if there’s anything he’d like to change about the movie, he shared, "Once you’ve made the film, it’s already done. I’ve delivered it to Netflix also. So, even if I want to change anything, I can’t change it. And I think once you see the film, you’ll know, the kind of adaptation we have done. "

14:45 (IST)26 Feb 2021
Girl on the Train out on Netflix, announces Parineeti

Parineeti Chopra tweeted, "STREAMING NOW. #TheGirlOnTheTrain #Netflix."

14:24 (IST)26 Feb 2021
Revisiting The Girl on the Train ahead of its Hindi adaptation:

Starring the versatile and wonderful Emily Blunt as the titular 'girl on the train,' the 2016 movie directed by Tate Taylor is peopled with a talented cast, but the narrative, which is a messy take on redemption of the female spirit, doesn't do them justice. Parineeti Chopra is starring in the Hindi adaptation. It would have made sense to adapt Paula Hawkins’ bestselling novel, The Girl on the Train, as a web or TV series. READ MORE

14:04 (IST)26 Feb 2021
Aditi Rao Hydari all praises for director Ribhu Dasgupta

The Girl on the Train star Aditi Rao Hydari lauded the way director Ribhu Dasgupta played with the two female leads in the film. She shared in her interview, "Every character Ribhu has written is layered. I loved how he played with the opposing worlds Mira and Nusrat. I think that was what really drew me to this. I don’t know how I played it. I’m one of those trusting people who walks onto a set and surrenders myself to the story. I like working like that."

13:44 (IST)26 Feb 2021
Kapil Sharma 'proud of' Parineeti's singing

Kapil Sharma praised Parineeti Chopra's song ‘Matlabi Yariyan’ for The Girl on the Train and tweeted, "It’s beautiful proud of u girl. eagerly Waiting for #TheGirlOnTheTrain."

13:27 (IST)26 Feb 2021
Fans react ahead of Girl on The Train release

A fan @Naman__Kaurm tweeted, "The train is arriving today. #TheGirlOnTheTrain premiers on Netflix today at 1:30 pm ist. We may look fine from the outside, but deep down we are going crazyyyy, we are . freakingg exciteddd and really nervous as well. Good luck pari, we know you have rocked it."

13:18 (IST)26 Feb 2021
'Really looking forward to watching it'

"#TheGirlOnTheTrain had me intrigued since the day it was announced... I haven't read the book or seen the English version! I'm really looking forward to watching it... TGOTT AT 1:30PM TODAYYYYYY OMGGGG IT'S TODAY ALREADY...I JUST REALISED AS I WAS TYPING," posted a fan @DuttKriti on Twitter.

13:02 (IST)26 Feb 2021
Kirti Kulhari shares her look from The Girl in The Train
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Kirti Kulhari (@iamkirtikulhari)

Kirti Kulhari shared her look from the film The Girl on the Train. She plays a cop in the Ribhu Dasgupta film.

12:47 (IST)26 Feb 2021
Aditi Rao Hydari on her role in The Girl on the Train

Aditi Rao Hydari calls her character Nusrat in The Girl on the Train, “the perfect sunshine girl.” According to Aditi, despite Nusrat being adapted from Megan in the Hollywood original, she has a lot more going on around her in the Netflix film. We know Megan was a mysterious, emotionally distraught girl, who gets murdered in the original. So, how different is Nusrat from her? “Ribhu re-wrote this character a lot. He brought a lot more of her backstory. I really liked the way he juxtaposed these two very opposite characters, where Mira (Parineeti Chopra) is the one who is going through this turmoil and the girl on the balcony, Nusrat, is this perfect sunshine girl. It’s like she’s living vicariously through her. Megan in the original film is a mysterious girl on the balcony. But, Nusrat is very flesh and blood,” Aditi told indianexpress.com, in an exclusive chat.

12:23 (IST)26 Feb 2021
The Girl On The Train out on Netflix at this time

Netflix India took to Twitter to post, "Your attention please: The Girl On The Train is scheduled to arrive at 1:30 PM."

12:20 (IST)26 Feb 2021
Aditi Rao Hydari plays 'The girl on the balcony' in the film
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Aditi Rao Hydari (@aditiraohydari)

Aditi Rao Hydari shared a promo video of The Girl on the Train and wrote along, "The girl on the balcony with the perfect life 😍...is it?... 🧐."

12:03 (IST)26 Feb 2021
'Still cant believe I get to sing'

Sharing the song 'Matlabi Yariyan's link, Parineeti Chopra wrote, "Still cant believe I get to sing ... 🙏"

Talking about her reference point between the book and Emily Blunt's performance in the original Hollywood film, Parineeti Chopra told indianexpress.com, "I think I work with visuals better. So, I did revisit the film, just to get into the world of it. But it was mostly visual references of various things I’d seen all over the world. I used to actually practice in front of the mirror to see how a certain expression looked on my face because I had to be an alcoholic, which I have no experience of. So, I needed body language. I didn’t want to make it very filmy."

Parineeti had recently wished Emily Blunt on her birthday. The Bollywood actor took to her Twitter account and wrote a special post, calling her “the voice in my head” So, what is she taking away from this movie?

"Happy bday #EmilyBlunt! You gave me the inspiration (and many sleepless nights) to do something I never had the guts to do before. Thank you for being the voice in my head when I was shooting. I hope I have done even 10% of what you did in #TheGirlOnTheTrain. Big shoes to fill," Parineeti tweeted.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
x