Follow Us:
Monday, April 06, 2020

Thappad movie release: Highlights

Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about Thappad, starring Taapsee Pannu, Pavail Gulati, Ratna Pathak Shah, Tanvi Azmi, Ram Kapoor and Kumud Mishra.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi | Updated: March 1, 2020 4:23:45 pm
Thappad movie review Thappad movie review: The Indian Express film critic Shubhra Gupta says Thappad is an important film.

Anubhav Sinha directorial Thappad, starring Taapsee Pannu, Pavail Gulati, Tanvi Azmi, Ratna Pathak Shah, Kumud Mishra and Ram Kapoor among others, releases today. The film charts the journey of Pannu’s character Amrita who decides to divorce her husband Vikram (Gulati) after he slaps her at a party. But her family members try to reason with her saying, ‘It was just one slap.’

Talking about Thappad in an interview with indianexpress.com, Taapsee shared, “I think it’s a talking point. It’s a film that deals with a subject that’s been shoved under the carpet for the longest time. And which can make people feel either really uncomfortable or totally at comfort that finally, this is out in the open.”

The makers of Thappad held several special screenings of the movie. After watching it, many found it “powerful” and “jaw-dropping”.

In her review of the film, The Indian Express film critic Shubhra Gupta wrote, “Thappad resonates, as it is meant to. Because the director shows, without mincing any words (sometimes too many), just how patriarchy is handed down from one generation to another, and women are equally complicit. Those are the most effective parts of the film, in which we are shown just how women are always being told how to feel, how to keep their feelings in check, how not to give into them.”

She added, “Pannu holds the film, but the effort she puts into her performance shows. There is a more welcome edge in the way Sarao comes across, with her own dismissive spouse (Kaul), as well as Ohylan’s spirited ‘kaam-waali’. And in the way all the main characters are given redemptive speeches, some of the sharpness is leached away.”

Live Blog

Read all the updates about Taapsee Pannu starrer Thappad.

19:16 (IST)28 Feb 2020
'A directorial brilliance'

Rajeev Mansharamani tweeted, "#Thappad indeed a directorial brilliance . The cast , screenplay , acting , dialogues. Perfect example of resource optimisation. Movie feast #Thappadformales,"

18:37 (IST)28 Feb 2020
Thappad is a 'a powerful drama'

@chitgunn wrote on Twitter, "Thappad is such a powerful drama with well developed characters that you really care about it. The messaging is not in your face and the writing is crisp. Absolutely loved the film and one of the greatest dramas I have seen recently.  @taapsee @anubhavsinha #Thappad."

17:00 (IST)28 Feb 2020
'Serious, intense cinema'

"#Thappad Interval: Serious, intense cinema. The drama begins with that one slap and from thereon, it's a strong, emotional road on display.
@taapsee
is utterly terrific playing the girl at the center, acing both the shades so far!, " @sidhuwrites tweeted.

16:31 (IST)28 Feb 2020
Thappad is laudable!

Somesh Sinha tweeted, "#ThappadReview: #Thappad is a commanding story, has an authoritative central character, has several dominant and thought-provoking moments, which makes it an all-persuasive film. #Thappad boasts of some of the most talented names on and off screen. And the outcome is laudable!"

15:57 (IST)28 Feb 2020
Thappad is 'a deeply layered, well-executed & Important film'

"#Thappad is a deeply layered, well-executed & Important film that moves very smartly, explores everything perfectly and leaves a huge impact.
@anubhavsinha
Thankyou for This Clapping hands sign
@taapsee
wins over me once again with her stellar performance & Choices," tweeted @boxoffice_stats.

15:32 (IST)28 Feb 2020
'A thappad on patriarchy'

"Must watch movie.... Thappad on patriarchy,. Will be a super hit @taapsee .. love you ma'am," itanshi nailwal tweeted.

14:30 (IST)28 Feb 2020
Taapsee Pannu on #BoycottThappad

Talking to ETimes, Taapsee Pannu said, “I think personal opinions of actors should not affect their profession and I don’t really think it does to an extent. It takes about 1000-2000 tweets to trend a certain hashtag. Does that really affect a film? I don’t think so. I might have different social and political views from a lot of people but that does not mean people will not go and watch the film. An actor is never bigger than a film. A film has hundreds of people involved in it. It is stupid to decide whether or not you will watch a movie based on an actor’s socio-political views.”

13:58 (IST)28 Feb 2020
'Thappad is the most important film of our generation'

Ayushmann Khurrana tweeted, '#Thappad is the most important film of our generation. @anubhavsinha sir take a bow. Kudos @taapsee @pavailkgulati @Manavkaul19 @deespeak @mrunmayeelagoo #SoumikMukherjee #KumudMishra #RatnaPathakShah #NailaGrewal #MayaSarao @farewellwaltz. Must watch! It’s a master class.'

13:03 (IST)28 Feb 2020
'I am the biggest fan of your love affair with words and lines'

Taapsee Pannu posted a note for Thappad director Anubhav Singh on Instagram. The note read,"“मालूम है आपको सहारे की ज़रूरत नहीं है, मैं बस साथ देने आया हूँ “ that day and now I am the biggest fan of your love affair with words and lines. The proud witness of version 2.0, I really don’t know if I am a bigger fan of the writer/director or the human being he is! He has spoilt his actors for delivering their best and being their best. Not just my filmography but the book of my life (if ever there is one) shall be incomplete without writing about you. (And since it’s WRITING, I shall send it to you only for doctoring) Yet another Friday for us and with full faith in the honesty with which we made our career’s best film, we shall soon get back to breaking our own record! ZINDABAD!@anubhavsinhaa"

12:38 (IST)28 Feb 2020
'One of the best films I've seen in a while'

Saiyami Kher posted on Twitter, "One of the best films I've seen in a while, #Thappad puts out a strong message for BOTH men & women. Doesn't fall into a stereotypical trap of becoming a male-bashing, preachy film. Brilliant performances & writing. PLS WATCH. Thank you @anubhavsinha @taapsee @pavailkgulati"

12:19 (IST)28 Feb 2020
‘A film for everyone’

“#Thappad is a film for everyone. Even though it fights patriarchy, it’s informed, sensitive, and creates an environment that doesn’t glorify any of the two sides. @anubhavsinha Hats off. @taapsee delivers easily one of her best performances,” shared user @jashtchill on Twitter. 

12:04 (IST)28 Feb 2020
‘One of the best Bollywood films in recent times’

User @Bollywood_Wale wrote via Twitter, “#ThappadReview One Word Review :- Fearless Rating :- 4 stars #Thappad is one of the best Bollywood films in the recent times It’s not just a slap, it’s the thought which makes the society uncomfortable. @taapsee @anubhavsinha thank you for telling this story through your art.”

11:49 (IST)28 Feb 2020
'Thappad is a tight slap on the face of patriarchy'

User @Aritracalling tweeted, “@taapsee you are the performance of the year so far. #Thappad is a tight slap on the face of patriarchy and male privilege. Kudos to u for choosing this subject. Will push my whole family to watch this gem of a movie. @anubhavsinha wish all men watch this. Cheers to womanhood.”

11:34 (IST)28 Feb 2020
'Powerful'

“#Thappad: POWERFUL. Rating: 4 stars @anubhavsinha makes a strong statement yet again. @taapsee spectacular, even her silence speaks volumes. Outstanding Movie With Social Message For Society terrific. Must watch! #ThappadReview #FridayVibes #ThappadMovieReview,” user @imakshaykothari shared on Twitter.

11:20 (IST)28 Feb 2020
'Taapsee is on top of her game'

“#Thappad out in cinemas today. Watch it for its sharp, compelling depiction of deep-rooted gender imbalance and male privilege. And a stunning ensemble led by the formidable @taapsee, who’s on top of her game in this one,” user @AniGuha tweeted. 

11:04 (IST)28 Feb 2020
'Film that deserves prolonged applause'

User @SinhaSomesh shared on Twitter, “#FinalVerdict: AUDACIOUS Rating:4 stars #ThappadReview: Produced by @TSeries and @BenarasM, director @anubhavsinha's #Thappad is a thought-provoking film that deserves a prolonged applause. One of the most comprehensive scripts to come out of the #Hindi film industry in 2020!”

10:49 (IST)28 Feb 2020
Planning to watch Thappad? Check out the trailer first

10:34 (IST)28 Feb 2020
UN women India lent its support to Thappad

“.@unwomenindia is proud to support #Thappad (the movie, not actual slaps!) For there is no excuse for any form of violence against women & girls,” the official handle posted on Twitter.

10:19 (IST)28 Feb 2020
'Cuts close to the bone'

“#Thappad Just a film? No. @anubhavsinha #Thappad, as pointed as #Mulk and #article15 but markedly less dramatic, cuts close to the bone. It is likely to reverberate beyond the darkened movie halls where it plays. It has the potential to force audience @taapsee,” tweeted user @Freaky_rj.

10:04 (IST)28 Feb 2020
'Blown away beyond words'

“EVERY MAN EVERY WOMAN MUST MUST MUST WATCH #THAPPAD ! BLOWN AWAY BEYOND WORDS... THANK YOU @anubhavsinha @mrunmayeelagoo @taapsee @deespeak and the entire crew and cast... *aap sab magic ho*,” producer Guneet Monga wrote via Twitter. 

At the box office, Thappad is expected to attract the audience and grow with a positive word of mouth. Film trade analyst Girish Johar has said the film won't face any competition from previous week's releases, Bhoot: The Haunted Ship and Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan.