scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Friday, September 24, 2021

Thalaivii, Bhoot Police movie review and release updates: Kangana calls Smriti Irani ‘real life Thalaivii’, Saif Ali Khan film opens to positive reviews

Thalaivii and Bhoot Police Movie Release and Review Updates: Kangana Ranaut starrer Thalaivii released in theatres. The audience at home can watch Disney+ Hotstar's latest release Bhoot Police.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: September 10, 2021 8:45:16 pm
movie releasesThalaivii, Bhoot Police release today.

Kangana Ranaut starrer Thailaivii released in theatres on Friday. Based on the life of late movie star and politician J Jayalalithaa, Thalaivii has Kangana playing the titular role. Arvind Swami Jisshu Sengupta, Bhagyashree also star in significant roles. Helmed by AL Vijay, the film is releasing in Hindi, Tamil and Telugu. Thalaivii was initially supposed to hit theatres in April but due to the second wave of Covid-19, the release got postponed.

Kangana has been primarily a Hindi film artiste through most of her career and Thalaivii marks her foray into the regional industry. In a recent conversation with YouTube channel Tried and Refused Productions, Kangana said that Bollywood is a “toxic place.” Talking about the working culture of the regional v/s Hindi film industry, she said, “What is very striking about regional cinema is that at least they find some common ground. They’re chameleons, and that’s something that they resonate with… Whereas in Hindi films, because we’ve all migrated to Mumbai, there is so much diversity there, yet there is a bit of tension always… Everybody wants to pull everybody down, that’s not helping at all. It’s become such a toxic place that somehow, nobody is happy for another person, and we are not able to find a common ground we are able to identify with.”

A few days ago, after watching the film, Kangana took to her Instagram and gave Thalaivii a glowing review. She wrote, “What a gratifying experience to watch Thalaivii, the best film of my career so far.” She added, “Thalaivii is a theatrical experience, hopefully, Hindi multiplexes will also play it. I am confident that it will bring audiences back to theatres.”

While Thalaivii is for the theatrical audience, the audience at home can enjoy Disney+ Hotstar’s latest release Bhoot Police today. Starring Saif Ali Khan, Arjun Kapoor, Jacqueline Fernandez and Yami Gautam, Bhoot Police was scheduled to release next week but the release was preponed a few days ago.

Directed by Pavan Kripalani, the horror comedy has been produced by Ramesh Taurani, Akshai Puri, and co-produced by Jaya Taurani.

At the film’s trailer preview, Arjun spoke about his character and said, “While I don’t believe in ghosts and stories about witches, I really liked the film’s script. When Rameshji (Taurani) shared the script with me, I told him about this, and he said 90% of India believes in ghosts and witches, and only 10% don’t. So my character will be relatable to 90% of the audience, and Saif’s will be to only 10%, so I am happy! (chuckles).”

In a recent interview to PTI, Saif shared, “This film is on location, very dramatic, there’s a lot of things going on, and I remember being very, very tired, very often even though I enjoyed it every day, but it was tiring.”

Live Blog

Here are all the latest updates on Thalaivii, Bhoot Police

16:24 (IST)10 Sep 2021
'A larger than life experience'

Aditi Ravindranath posted on Twitter, "#Thalaiviii is Amazing. A larger than life experience in every sense. @thearvindswami sir is fire. #KanganaRanaut @thondankani sir #ALVijay the best yet. Please go watch this on big screen. Celebrate #Thalaivii & #MJR Wow."

16:15 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Yami asks who is prettier between her and Jacqueline, Madhuri has the best reply 

The upcoming episode of Dance Deewane 3 will see the team celebrating Ganesh Chaturthi. Joining the celebration will be Bollywood stars Jacqueline Fernandez and Yami Gautam, who will be there to promote their upcoming film Bhoot Police. The show has Madhuri Dixit, Dharmesh Yelande and Tushar Kalia as judges.

Apart from joining host Bharti Singh and Haarsh Limbachiyaa for a fun dance, Yami and Jacqueline will also be seen interacting with Dance Deewane contestants. READ THIS

16:03 (IST)10 Sep 2021
'Bhoot Police gets horror, comedy right'

A user @iamrealdasi tweeted, "#BhootPolice is a perfect combination of Horror and Comedy ! For First time #JacquelineFernandez enjoying a perfect comic role with hilarious dialogues! Top Notch performances by #SaifAliKhan !"

15:55 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Thalaivii: Our verdict

Indian Express film critic Shubhra Gupta gave the film three stars and wrote, "Kangana Ranaut inhabits the very complex character of J Jayalalithaa like skin." READ THE FULL THALAIVII REVIEW HERE

15:11 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Arjun Kapoor shares BTS video from Bhoot Police song



 


 

 

 

 


View this post on Instagram

 



 

 

 


 

 


 

 

 


 

 

A post shared by Arjun Kapoor (@arjunkapoor)

'I love dancing & song shoots are always fun. So happy to be back dancing on set.Always helps having @remodsouza sir and his team to make me look good 😉 #HappyFeet #BhootPolice #AayiAayiBhootPolice,' shared Arjun Kapoor.

14:44 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Thalaivi is a 'must watch'

Karthick Naren tweeted, "#Thalaivi is a must watch. Awestruck with the performances & the craft on display. Massive respect to A.L.Vijay sir & the entire team for pulling this off with such conviction. @thearvindswami sir, you were a class apart. Take a bow!"

14:38 (IST)10 Sep 2021
When Jayalalithaa ‘raged, argued against’ a film career

In an old interview, Jayalalithaa said she never wanted to become an actor or a politician. Her life will be presented in Thalaivii with Kangana Ranaut playing the lead. READ THIS

14:00 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Kangana has 'set the parameter of excellence'

Ashoke Pandit tweeted, "#KanganaRanaut with her bombastic performance has set the parameter of excellence in @thalaiviifilm #ArvindSwamy as MGR is a revealation. Have to mention the courage of the producer @ShaaileshRSingh who pulled all stops to produce this brave film. @TSeries."

13:32 (IST)10 Sep 2021
'Saif Ali Khan aka Vibhooti and Arjun Kapoor aka Chiraunji'

Disney+ Hotstar shared on Twitter, "Ullat Baba & Sons presents Bhoot Police  - India's first premium ghost busting service ft. Saif Ali Khan aka Vibhooti and Arjun Kapoor aka Chiraunji. Call Now! #DisneyplusHotstarMultiplex #BhootPolice #SaifAliKhan @arjunk26."

13:06 (IST)10 Sep 2021
The many faces of ‘Thalaivii’ Jayalalithaa in pop culture

We look at various portrayals of the late Tamil Nadu chief minister in Tamil pop culture. READ THIS

12:30 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Kangana shares Thalaivii is 'getting massive seeti, taalis in the theatres'
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Kangana Thalaivii (@kanganaranaut)

Kangana Ranaut shared via Instagram, "Most loved film highly acclaimed and getting massive seeti, taalis as well in the theatres….. what you waiting for 🥰👏👏👏👏👏👏go watch Thalaivii today ❤️❤️❤️."

12:10 (IST)10 Sep 2021
'Overwhelming cinematic experience'

Sridevi Sreedhar tweeted, "#Thalaivii- 4/5 The racy second half is full of mass moments and this magnum opus turns out to be an overwhelming cinematic experience. Hats off to the team #KanganaRanaut @thearvindswami @gvprakash @vishinduri @BrindaPrasad1 Go watch this in theatres near you!"

11:40 (IST)10 Sep 2021
'Film successfully evinced the good mixture of comedy & horror'

Sumit Kadel shared via Twitter, "#BhootPolice ⭐⭐⭐Amusing watch,provides wholesome entertainment. Film successfully evinced the good mixture of comedy & horror. #ArjunKapoor shines & how with his superb comic timing,his chemistry with Saif is the highlight.Pavan Kirpalani direction is decent. Recommended !"

11:18 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Madhuri dances with Yami and Jacqueline
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Madhuri Dixit (@madhuridixitnene)

Bhoot Police stars Yami Gautam and Jacqueline Fernandez were seen dancing with Madhuri Dixit on Dance Deewane Season 3 sets.

10:47 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Kangana Ranaut: We need to discourage Hollywood movies

Kangana Ranaut said that there is a need to discourage Hollywood movies and instead promote Indian stories from different languages. The 34-year-old actor, who was in the national capital to promote her upcoming movie Thalaivii, a biopic on late J Jayalalithaa, said keeping “our people and our industry” a priority is important to “make an Atmanirbhar Bharat”.

“We need to discourage American and English movies as they are taking over our screens. We need to behave like one nation. We need to stop dividing ourselves like North India or South India. We need to enjoy our own films first, be it Malayalam, Tamil, Telugu or Punjabi,” Ranaut told reporters during a press conference.

10:25 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Kangana Ranaut addressed Smriti Irani as 'the real life Thalaivii'
(Photo: Kangana Ranaut/Instagram)

Kangana got to meet actor-turned-politician Smriti Irani at Thalaivii’s screening for parliamentarians in Delhi. Kangana Ranaut shared a photo with the union minister and wrote, ‘real life Thalaivii’.

10:03 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Kangana Ranaut hosted 'a screening for prominent politicians'
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Kangana Thalaivii (@kanganaranaut)

Sharing her look for the event, Kangana Ranaut shared, "All ready for Parliamentarians and Ministers screening in Delhi …..Rarely we celebrate our politicians and very few films on politics and politicians are made, one such rare film is Thalaivii based on former chief minister of Tamilnadu Dr.J.Jayalalithaa…. Honoured to be hosting a screening for prominent politicians today."

09:50 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Bhoot Police: Our verdict

Bhoot Police movie review is here. Indian Express film critic Shubhra Gupta gave the film 2.5 stars and a part of her review reads, "The film works best when Saif Ali Khan is on a song, which is quite often. Arjun Kapoor fits the part too, as do Yami Gautam and Jacqueline Fernandez."

READ THE FULL BHOOT POLICE REVIEW HERE

09:33 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Bhoot Police arrived early

Yami Gautam Dhar shared a promotional video of the film and wrote, "Mann lagake bhooton ko darayenge. Because #BhootPolice are arriving early on 10th September. Stay tuned! @DisneyPlusHS#DisneyplusHotstarMultiplex." The film released on early on Friday, a week ahead of its scheduled date.

09:06 (IST)10 Sep 2021
Kangana Ranaut thanks fans for Thalavii response

Kangana Ranaut shared via Instagram, "Thank you for showering overwhelming love, admiration and support for #Thalaivii Means a lot to us…. ❤️🙏."

After the release of Thalaivii, Kangana will be seen in Dhaakad where she is sharing screen space with Arjun Rampal. She will don the IAF uniform for Tejas, which is being produced by RSVP movies and directed by Sarvesh Mewara. A sequel to her hit film Manikarnika is also on the cards. She will also be seen playing the role of Indira Gandhi in a film based on Emergency.

Talking about Tejas, Ranaut had previously said, "Tejas is an exhilarating story where I have the privilege of playing an air force pilot. I am honoured to be a part of a film that celebrates these brave men and women in uniform who make immense sacrifices in the line of duty every day. Our film celebrates the armed forces and its heroes."

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
X