scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Saturday, August 08, 2020

Student of the Year 2 movie review and release: Highlights

Student of the Year 2 movie review and release highlights: Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about the Karan Johar production, starring Tiger Shroff, Ananya Panday, and Tara Sutaria.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi | Updated: May 10, 2019 7:49:36 pm
student of the year 2 songs Student of the Year 2 movie review: SOTY 2 stars Ananya Panday, Tiger Shroff and Tara Sutaria.

After its prequel gave us actors like Varun Dhawan, Alia Bhatt and Sidharth Malhotra, Student of the Year 2 will see another fresh batch entering Saint Teresa’s College. The Karan Johar production marks the acting debut of Ananya Panday and Tara Sutaria. The film, also starring Tiger Shroff, has been directed by Punit Malhotra.

While Ananya is actor Chunkey Panday’s daughter, we have seen Tara as a child artist in Disney India’s Big Bada Boom and sitcoms The Suite Life of Karan & Kabir and Oye Jassie. And giving company to these two girls is Tiger, who is working in a Dharma Productions’ film for the first time.

Sharing his experience of working in Student of the Year 2, Tiger had said, “I am very glad that I got a chance to work on Student of Year 2. It has been a different world for me altogether. It is a very different character too. I am not Superman. You punch me and I bleed. It is not like I am indestructible. It was a great film to work on and I would like to thank Karan (Johar) sir and Punit (Malhotra) sir for holding my hand through every scene. I would say it was a breather. A light and fun experience.”

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about Student of the Year 2.

19:47 (IST)10 May 2019
Student of the Year 2: Our verdict

The Indian Express film critic Shubhra Gupta gave the film 1.5 stars and wrote in her review, "SOTY 2 is a sequel to the first 2012 edition, and it doesn’t even bother refreshing the template: everything is dispiritedly familiar. And that is precisely the problem: despite the presence of singing-dancing-fighting hotstar Tiger Shroff, two brand new female leads, Tara Sutaria and Ananya Panday, and a whole new set of ‘teachers’, this part two comes off choppy and jaded."

Also read | Student of the Year 2 movie review: Everything is determinedly familiar

15:43 (IST)10 May 2019
Kapil Sharma shares his best wishes

"All my best wishes to my younger brother ⁦ @iTIGERSHROFF ⁩ n the team for #SOTY2 #Studentoftheyear2 go n watch it 🤗," wrote Kapil Sharma on his Twitter account.

15:28 (IST)10 May 2019
'Realised the worth of my life after watching this movie'

@adityaatare tweeted, "Just got done watching #SOTY2 .So blessed. So moved. So grateful. Can’t believe this is my life. Never going to take it for granted. I realised the worth of my life after watching this movie. I was just one Tiger somersault away from death. Always going to give back thank you."

14:59 (IST)10 May 2019
Student of the Year stars Manjot and Sahil Anand are seen in SOTY2 too

Actor Manjot shared photos from the sets and wrote, "Dimpy and Jeet are back in student of the year 2! #FeelYoung #SOTY2 @sahilanandactor @punitdmalhotra.

14:39 (IST)10 May 2019
Huma Qureshi loved SOTY2

Huma Qureshi posted on her Twitter account, "So #SOTY2 has been seen and enjoyed .. and @iTIGERSHROFFdrooled over 🤪 @Official_Ananyais a firecracker @tarasutariaagorgeous and @AdityaSeal_so so good !! Congratulations my friend @punitdmalhotra❤@karanjohar @DharmaMovies."

14:23 (IST)10 May 2019
Student of the Year 2: Our verdict

The Indian Express film critic Shubhra Gupta gave the film 1.5 stars and wrote in her review, "The running time is too long for what is, essentially, yet-another-buffed-up-version of Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikander crossed with Kuch Kuch Hota Hai. This class of 2019 has predictable beats, which is to be expected in an underdog story, but that it is so stilted is disappointing."

Also read | Student of the Year 2 movie review: Everything is determinedly familiar

14:08 (IST)10 May 2019
'Student Of The Year 2 is better than Student Of The Year'

Rohit Jaiswal tweeed, "For those asking me,YES #StudentOfTheYear2 is better than #StudentOfTheYear in terms of ENTERTAINMENT. I was not Expecting Much but I must say, I am impressed with @punitdmalhotra and team #SOTY2. Your film will Hit the HIT VERDICT #soty2review 3.5*/5."

13:45 (IST)10 May 2019
'Fab job by the new comers'

Mukesh Chhabra posted on Twitter, "What a beautiful journey creating the batch of 2019.#SOTY2 is all about competition,Dance,drama with funny moments keeping you so entertained throughout.Fab job by d new comers @Official_Ananya and @tarasutariaaalongside our handsome hunk @iTIGERSHROFF."

13:23 (IST)10 May 2019
'Tara was fab her dialogue delivery is great'

Bhavesh Punjabi tweeted, "Saw #SOTY2 last nite at the premiere Honestly i liked the film Tiger was amazin Tara was fab her dialogue delivery great Ananya has done a great job.Songs are ok except Jawaani.Overall 1 baar dekhna to banta hai boss⭐⭐⭐#TigerShroff #studentoftheyear2 #TaraSutaria #AnanyaPanday."

13:08 (IST)10 May 2019
Abhishek Bachchan welcomes Ananya and Tara to the movies

"All the best to the new students for their release today. @karanjohar@punitdmalhotra @iTIGERSHROFF Ananya, Tara and Aditya. Ananya and Tara welcome to the movies. Best wishes. #SOTY2," tweeted Abhishek Bachchan.

12:41 (IST)10 May 2019
Meet Ananya Panday as little excited girl

Ananya Panday's mother Bhavana Pandey shared an old video of her little princess.

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️ @ananyapanday @shanayakapoor02 @maheepkapoor

A post shared by Bhavana Pandey (@bhavanapandey) on

12:20 (IST)10 May 2019
'Film has correct dose of entertainment'

Film Trade analyst Sumit Kadel tweeted, "#SOTY2 is cromulent ,film has correct dose of entertainment, good music & engaging screenplay. @ITIGERSHROFF performance is fantastic in every aspect, debutant Ananaya SHINES ,Aditya did complete justice to his part & Tara is mediocre . Film can work at the BO . Rating- ⭐⭐⭐."

12:02 (IST)10 May 2019
'Superb action and songs'

"Had the privilege to watch SOTY2 with my brother and human of the Century, Tiger!! @tigerjackieshroff Superb action and songs, really enjoyed his dance, romance and fight scenes.. Please go and watch to get entertained and inspired.. #soty2 #tigerians #brotherhood #movie #review," Vijay Thakkar wrote on his Twitter account.

11:40 (IST)10 May 2019
'A decent start for SOTY2'

Anurag Pandit wrote on his Twitter account, "#SOTY2 take decent start on morning shows across all over India occupancy 20-21%."

11:01 (IST)10 May 2019
'Old story line, bad music and immature acting'

#SOTY2Tomorrow , Just saw #SOTY2 , time pass movie no way near to part 1. Old story line , bad music and immature acting are highlights. Loose script takes the lead. Technically film was not a dharma movie. 2.5 stars ⭐ !!! Watch it if u have nothing to do this weekend :), " tweeted @drejazwaris.

10:42 (IST)10 May 2019
'The film has dance, great action, thrills, humour and sincere emotion'

Shashank Khaitan wrote on his Twitter account, "Watched #SOTY2 .Had a blast watching it. @punitdmalhotra you have done such a good job handling this genre... the film has dance, great action, thrills, humour and along with all this sincere emotion which is so tough to achieve. All the best my friend. @karanjohar @DharmaMovies."

10:21 (IST)10 May 2019
'While Tara Sutaria stands out, Ananya Panday is cute'

@RahulVerma4860 tweeted, "#SOTY2 is a trash mindless action ,sorry (so called youth oriented college flick) . @iTIGERSHROFF should enroll himself in acrobatic instead of films,#TaraSutaria stands out while #AnanyaPanday is cute , story is trash (old routine drama) with good cinematography. ⭐⭐/5 (2/5)."

09:59 (IST)10 May 2019
Gul Panag in Student of the Year 2

Gul Panag will make a cameo appearnace in Punit Malhotra directorial Student of the Year 2. Sharing photos from the sets of the film on Instagram, Gul wrote, "Good luck @punitdmalhotra and team #soty2 . @tigerjackieshroff @samirsoni123 @adityaseal @dharmamovies @ananyapanday @tarasutaria Swipe for #bts #punitmalhotra #tigershroff #samirsoni #adityaseal #dharmamovies #dharmaproductions #karanjohar #movies #instafilm"

09:40 (IST)10 May 2019
Sophie Choudry on Student of the Year 2

Sophie Choudry took to Twitter and wrote, "#SOTY2 “Work hard to make ur own dreams come true!” @iTIGERSHROFF is all about that! The most sincere guy with epic moves on the dance floor & in the action ring🔥 @ananyapandayy u r SO good❤️ @tarasutariaa lovely & @AdityaSeal_ superb!! Go get em #BatchOf2019 @punitdmalhotra"

Student of the Year 2 also stars Aditya Seal, Samir Soni, Manoj Pahwa and Farida Jalal. Alia Bhatt, who entered Bollywood with Student of the Year in 2012, has also done a special song for the sequel titled "The Hook-Up Song". She shares screen space with Tiger Shroff in the number.

Speaking about the song, Tiger said, "It is a different sort of a song that I have shot. Personally, I have not done something like that before. Working with Alia was an amazing experience."

On getting to shake a leg with Alia, he added, "Though she is such a big star, she was so easy to work with. She was so open and hardworking on set, even after achieving so much. It was really inspiring being around her."