Soorma movie review and release Highlights: Celebs laud Diljit Dosanjh starrer

Soorma movie review and release highlights: Here's what critics, celebrities and fans said about the Sandeep Singh biopic Soorma, starring Diljit Dosanjh, Tapsee Pannu and Angad Bedi among others.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: July 13, 2018 5:23:36 pm
soorma Soorma movie review and release highlights: Directed by Shaad Ali, Soorma stars Diljit Dosanjh, Angad Bedi, Taapsee Pannu and Kulbhushan Kharbanda.

Soorma movie review and release highlights: Bollywood loves biopics. After Rajkumar Hirani’s Sanju, a biopic on controversial Bollywood actor Sanjay Dutt, we are getting Soorma, a film on legendary Indian hockey player Sandeep Singh. Sandeep, played by Diljit Dosanjh in Soorma, was hit by a stray bullet while travelling in Shatabdi Express and was paralysed. However, he made a comeback to the Indian Hockey team after two years.

Under Sandeep’s captaincy, India went on to win the 2009 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup and even qualified for the 2012 Olympics.

Also Read | Soorma review: Diljit Dosanjh as Sandeep Singh is spot on

Directed by Shaad Ali, Soorma also stars Angad Bedi, Taapsee Pannu and Kulbhushan Kharbanda.

Live Blog

Soorma movie twitter reactions, review and release: Read all the updates about Diljit Dosanjh, Tapsee Pannu and Angad Bedi starrer Soorma.

15:28 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Here's what the audience has to say about Soorma

14:14 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Dhadak director Shashank Khaitan on Soorma
13:16 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Taapsee Pannu on Soorma script

Taapsee Pannu told indianexpress.com, “I consider myself a sports enthusiast. When I was told about Sandeep Singh’s accident and his comeback as the captain of Indian hockey team, I felt guilty that I did not know of this. And the only way I thought I could redeem myself from this guilt is by doing this film and letting the world see what true sportsman spirit is.”

Also Read: It’s unfortunate that no sport in India is as celebrated as cricket: Soorma actor Taapsee Pannu

12:52 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Soorma is an unexpectedly warm, moving film, says Richa Chadha

"Watchudoing today?Go watch #Soorma.An unexpectedly warm, moving film about human triumph and family.Thanks for this one @shaadesh, @SnehaRajani ! You have a lifelong fan in me @diljitdosanjh 🙏 and amazing work by @taapsee @Imangadbedi #SatishKaushik and the rocking #vijayraaz," Richa Chadha said via Twitter.

12:16 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Nikhil Dwivedi is overwhelmed by Soorma

Nikhil Dwivedi tweeted, "Once in a while comes a film that overwhelms you. #Soorma is that film. I don't know how to define it. Is it a Sports film? Or the triumph of human spirit? That it's a true story of a Lion called #SandeepSingh makes it even more euphoric. Or is it a Love Story? Or is it a tale of two brothers, their selfless love sans any rivalry, envy or jealousy, their sheer sacrifice!! #ShaadAli u ve made ur finest yet. heartening tht u chose ths as ur next. Ths ll become ur signature film for a long time to come. @SnehaRajani ur choices r defining u. Rarely do I express myself so freely & so much. #Soorma compels me to do so. Everyone of you, go watch it & make it earn tonnes of money. Because I will be heartbroken if this one doesn't!! And @Imangadbedi you are so important to the film & you know it. This is a film you will always be proud of! Well done! That you ve given it your heart and soul to this one is evident. Immensely happy for you. #Soorma."

11:51 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Vivek Oberoi on Soorma

Vivek Anand Oberoi shared on Twitter: "Best of luck to the super talented team of @diljitdosanjh @taapsee & my brothers @Imangadbedi @shaadesh for the release of #Soorma. Congrats @SnehaRajani the film is looking awesome! @shaadesh meri jaan hope you guys ‘score’ big with this one!"

11:38 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Soorma movie box office prediction

Film trade analyst Girish Johar told indianexpress.com, “Soorma will open with a collection of Rs 2.5-3 crore. It might grow with a positive word of mouth on the evening shows on Friday and Saturday. By the end of its first weekend, the film will earn Rs 10-12 crore.”

11:22 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Sharad Kelkar on Soorma

Sharad Kelkar posted on Twitter: "#soorma an inspiring true story, loved the simplicity of characters and @diljitdosanjh and @Imangadbedi bro u guys are fab! Congratulations @IChitrangda @SnehaRajani @sonypicsprodns #shaadali and @imvijayraaz sir im ur fan #SandeepSingh"

11:00 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Angad Bedi on Soorma
10:28 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Watch: Rapid fire with Diljit Dosanjh and Sandeep Singh

10:07 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Our verdict

Diljit Dosanjh as Sandeep Singh is spot on. And that is the film’s biggest triumph. Whenever Dosanjh is on screen, we are with him, as he goes through Singh’s arc—the struggle to please a vicious bully of a local coach (Hussain) who gets his jollies from beating up young players, the falling in love with the bright-eyed Harpreet ( Pannu), who is an equal dab hand with the stick and who wants to play for India as much as he does, the shocking incident on a train which leads him to paralysis, and the tough, painful journey back to the field.

Also Read | Soorma movie review: Diljit Dosanjh as Sandeep Singh is spot on

09:44 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Sandeep Singh is a real life hero, says Vineet Singh

Mukkabaaz actor Vineet Singh said, "I am proud that he is my friend. His life journey is so inspiring. He is real life hero . I am waiting to watch his biopic #soorma. My best wishes and lots of love my dear brother Sandeep Singh @flickersingh"

09:25 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Soorma is an emotional film, says Subhash Ghai

"It was pleasant surprise to watch #soorma such an emotional n inspiring film on super hockey player Sandeep singh who fought with his destiny n God to achieve his goal with super performances n story Congratulations Entire team for this lovely film 👍," Subhash Ghai said via Twitter.

09:14 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Zaheer Khan on Soorma
08:55 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Watch: In conversation with Diljit Dosanjh

08:47 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Sandeep Singh opens up about shooting incident

In an interview with indianexpress.com, Sandeep Singh said, “I was sitting with an Indian hockey player and the TTE of Indian Railways. Suddenly we hear a sound similar to a bomb blast and the next moment I feel as if a hot iron rod was inserted into my back. With blackness surrounding my eyes, I hear a voice saying ‘Merse goli chal gayi hai’ (I have mistakenly fired a gunshot). After a while, my body gradually starts getting numb and I cannot move my legs. The train is made to stop at the Kurukshetra railway station and I was carried on a stretcher which is used to remove dead bodies from the railway track. This is when I told myself, ‘I don’t want to die’”.

Also Read | Soorma: Sandeep Singh opens up about shooting incident and his comeback to hockey field

08:34 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Diljit Dosanjh on Sandeep Singh

“Sandeep paaji is a Soorma in the true sense. The story of his life and his comeback is the one which I haven’t ever heard or read anywhere. He is a living legend,” Diljit Dosanjh told indianexpress.com.

Also Read: Diljit Dosanjh: Sandeep Singh is a Soorma in the true sense

08:16 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Planning to watch Soorma? Here are five reasons why you should catch the Diljit Dosanjh starrer

08:08 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Diljit Dosanjh is absolutely brilliant, says Karan Johar

Karan Johar tweeted, "The performances of #Soorma are supreme! @diljitdosanjh is absolutely brilliant as #sandeepsingh ! What an incredible actor!!! @Imangadbedi is superb!!!! Solid, soulful and full of heart ! He delivers his best yet! @tapseepannu is always a pleasure to watch!"

08:02 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Soorma is an inspiring film, says Divya Dutta

Divya Dutta shared on Twitter: "#soorma is an amazingly inspiring film!! Taut script, nuanced.. emotional as well as breezy.. this one is a must watch!!! Congrats @SnehaRajani @shaadesh @IChitrangda !! It is beautiful... and @diljitdosanjh you are so so endearing.@Imangadbedi @tapseepannu , so sincere!"

07:54 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
I enjoyed watching Soorma a lot, says Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar wrote on Twitter: "A real story portrayed beautifully on reel. @flickersingh's determination to play for India is truly commendable, enjoyed watching #Soorma a lot. My best wishes to the entire cast and crew. @imangadbedi @diljitdosanjh @taapsee"

07:48 (IST) 13 Jul 2018
Soorma is a heartwarming film, says Shabana Azmi

Shabana Azmi posted on Twitter: "What a heartwarming film #Soorma is. @shaadesh tells the beautiful story with warmth and sensitivity @DiljitDosanjh is heartbreakingly sincere @Imangadbedi endearing.Ably supported by @taapsee and @satishkaushik2 @flickersingh @sneharajani you have a winner. Go watch it"

Soorma is a biopic on former India hockey captain Sandeep Singh. Also known as Flicker Singh, Sandeep was paralysed for two years after being shot at and seriously injured on a train. However, his determination brought him back to the hockey field.