scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Wednesday, July 28, 2021
Live now

Simmba movie review and release LIVE UPDATES: Ranveer Singh starrer opens to mixed reviews

Simmba movie review and release live updates: Here's what critics, celebrities and fans are saying about Rohit Shetty directional Simmba, starring Ranveer Singh and Sara Ali Khan.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: December 28, 2018 2:54:39 pm
Simba movie Simmba movie LIVE UPDATES: The Ranveer Singh starrer is helmed by Rohit Shetty.

Starring Ranveer Singh in and as Simmba, the film directed by Rohit Shetty has hit the theaters. Sara Ali Khan plays Ranveer’s love interest in the film and from the trailer, it looks like Ajay Devgn’s Singham will also play a significant role in the film.

Rohit Shetty’s films are known for being masala entertainers and so far, the audience has enjoyed the way he presents big action sequences with high drama. Shetty’s style of comedy is also loved by the viewers.

With Simmba being the last big release of the year, the audience will surely be looking forward to ending their year with a bang.

This will be Ranveer Singh’s second release of the year after Padmaavat. He is being seen as a front-runner for all the awards after his performance as Khilji in Bhansali’s film.

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about Ranveer Singh and Sara Ali Khan's Simmba.

14:22 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Simmba: Our verdict

The only reason to watch Simmba then is Ranveer Singh. In his sharp moochh sticking up at both ends, shiny bronzed face, broad shoulders filling out, eventually, the khakee uniform, Singh is Simmba. Striding into cop stations, wading into ‘goondas’, losing his heart to the girl across the road Shagun (Ali Khan), Singh is fully alive to the moment, knowing that he is working in a template, aware that he has to keep breaking out.

Also Read | Simmba movie review: Ranveer Singh makes this jaded thing sing

14:02 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Watch: Ranveer Singh and Sara Ali Khan heap praise on Simmba director Rohit Shetty

13:05 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Ronit Roy on Simmba

Ronit Roy tweeted, "Simmbaaaaaaa aala re!!!!!!!! And I have a feeling it’s gonna rock! All the very best @RanveerOfficial @karanjohar #SaraAliKhan #RohitShetty and the entire team of #Simmba"

12:48 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Ranveer Singh is the star of our generation, says Ashish Chanchlani

Ashish Chanchlani posted on Twitter, "@RanveerOfficial is the STAR of our generation and i mean HE IS THE STAR!!! i absolutely love him and his performance in #Simmba proves that! he is hilarious,serious and powerful at the same time. Proud to be your fan❤️"

12:35 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Farah Khan om Simmba
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Giving me a hug when Most needed!! Thank u & All the best @itsrohitshetty Go ROARRRR! Wishing the entire team♥️@karanjohar 👍🏻

A post shared by Farah Khan Kunder (@farahkhankunder) on

12:07 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Check out this video from Simmba shoot wrap

12:00 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Sara's mother Amrita Singh and brother Ibrahim Ali Khan at Simmba screening

Source: Sara Ali Khan/Instagram

11:44 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Karan Johar shared a photo of Team Simmba after the screening

Source: Karan Johar/Instagram

11:24 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Watch Simmba song Mera Wala Dance here

11:03 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Rohit Shetty talks about his genre of filmmaking

In an interview, Simmba director Rohit Shetty said,  "When I start writing a script and shooting it, all I keep in my mind is my audience. The people who come to watch my films are the family audience. If I were trying to prove a point, I would not have been here. There are people who will dislike what I do, but I know that there is an audience that loves my cinema. So, you have to come to terms with the fact that a certain section of the audience might not love your films. One can only hope that they like your films at some point. I deal with the problems of the middle class and that’s why my films are termed massy. I can’t solve their problems, but at least, I can entertain them. What I find hypocritical is, when someone curses in English, it is considered cool and not massy. However, when the same curses are in Hindi, the ‘massy’ tag is promptly added. I don’t fear my film being a flop, but I do fear losing the audience that loves my cinema."

10:42 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Watch the trailer of Simmba here

10:33 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Singer Harbhajan Mann on Simmba

"All the best to @RanveerOfficial for the release of #SIMMBA! @DharmaMovies @karanjohar @deepikapadukone @RelianceEnt," Harbhajan Mann said via Twitter.

10:18 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Simmba finds a fan in Vikramaditya Motwane

Director Vikramaditya Motwane wrote on Twitter, "I ♥️ @RanveerOfficial more & more everyday! He’s an absolute Riot in #Simmba. Its like Govinda and @AnilKapoor had a love child. Watch the film opening weekend, and watch it on a single screen please!! A couple of scenes in the second half will BRING THE F*****G HOUSE DOWN!!!"

10:09 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Milap Zaveri on Simmba

Satyameva Jayate director Milap Zaveri tweeted, "Looks like by initial reviews #Simmba is gonna be another huge victory and vindication for the mass/Masala genre! Congrats @RanveerOfficial @khaansara Rohit Shetty n team @karanjohar @apoorvamehta18 @DharmaMovies @RelianceEnt @SonuSood @farhad_samji @SajidSamji 💪👏🤗"

09:59 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Actor Luv Sinha on Simmba

Paltan actor Luv Sinha shared on Twitter, "Best wishes to #Rohitshetty, @SonuSood sir, @RanveerOfficial , and everyone associated with #Simmba . Looking forward to watching it at a single screen over the weekend!"

09:48 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Karan Johar on Simmba

Karan Johar posted on Twitter, "TODAY!!!!!!! #SIMMBA!!! A ROHIT SHETTY FILM!!!!! @RanveerOfficial #SaraAliKhan @SonuSood"

09:39 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Watch Simmba song Aankh Marey here

09:25 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Ranveer Singh on Deepika Padukone's reaction to Simmba

Ranveer Singh shared, “She (Deepika) is very proud of me and as well as Rohit (Shetty) sir. She gave so many compliments to Rohit sir. So, I felt that should praise me as well.”

Also Read | Ranveer Singh on Deepika’s reaction on Simmba: She is proud of me

09:03 (IST)28 Dec 2018
Rohit Shetty on Simmba

Rohit Shetty earlier spoke about the film, "I am not saying that we have created something different but this film will give you a high. The film will make you happy and cry at the same time."

Also Read | Rohit Shetty: Simmba will make you happy and cry at the same time

Talking about Simmba, director Rohit Shetty said, "I am not saying that we have created something different but this film will give you a high. The film will make you happy and cry at the same time.”

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
X