Follow Us:
Monday, March 30, 2020

Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan movie release: Highlights

Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan, starring Ayushmann Khurrana, Jitendra Kumar, Gajraj Rao, Neena Gupta and Manu Rishi.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi | Updated: February 23, 2020 6:23:00 am
Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan movie review: Will Ayushmann Khurrana deliver yet another hit?

Ayushmann Khurrana starrer Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan releases in theaters today. The Hitesh Kewalya directorial also stars Jitendra Kumar, Gajraj Rao, Neena Gupta and Manu Rishi. The film’s plot revolves around the love story of two men who are trying to convince their family to accept their relationship. The film releases alongside Vicky Kaushal starrer Bhoot: The Haunted Ship.

Ayushmann Khurrana earlier told indianexpress.com, “Our film is one of its kind. It is a giant leap for Indian cinema where we are portraying two men as homosexuals, and we are very front-footed about it. It is also the reaction of the family when they find out that their son is gay.”

Khurrana added, “Though we have seen films which are based on homosexuality in the past, this is probably the first commercial attempt in Hindi cinema. With Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan, we are not preaching to those who are converted. We are creating a brand new thought process for the average regressive Indian audience.”

Director Hitesh Kewalya told indianexpress.com, “Films on homosexuality were always being made. However, your take or the point of view changes because you cannot go against the law. Even if the law is not anymore relevant in the current times, you cannot really take a call on it. When Supreme Court decriminalized Article 377, it gave validation to the fact that you can tell your stories about a very basic aspect of human nature without feeling hindered in any way.”

Live Blog

Read all the updates about Ayushmann Khurrana's Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan.

Highlights

    16:02 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan movie review: Ayushmann starrer is all about the chase of love

    The Indian Express film critic Shalini Langer gave the film 3.5 stars. She wrote, "At the same time, the chase of love is what Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan is all about. Love that could spring between two men Kartik and Aman (Khurrana is good, but Kumar is almost heartbreakingly fragile; full marks to the former for allowing the film to be so much about the latter). Love that ultimately binds families together, and shows up in unexpected ways. Love that goes beyond Romeo & Juliet, Shirin & Farhad, Jack & Jill, even Simran & Raj. Love that sees no colour/class, or the gender of the hand reaching out to help you into a running train."

    Also Read | Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan movie review: The chase of love

    15:42 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan is an entertaining affair
    15:18 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Huma Qureshi is in love with Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan

    Actor Huma Qureshi tweeted, "Saw #ShubhMangalZyadaSaavdhan congratulations to
    @aanandlrai

    @cypplOfficial
    for backing content that is both fun and audacious.
    @ayushmannk
    kudos for picking subjects like this ... more power to you! Welcome director saab
    @hiteshkewalya."

    15:03 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan is a one-time watch?

    Not everybody, it seems, is enamoured of Ayushmann's latest film.  A Twitter user Sakshi Denis wrote, "#ShubhMangalZyadaSaavdhan Weak script, screenplay, dialogues; good concept; repetitive acting by #AyushmanKhurrana; plays on same old small town setting. One-time watch."

    14:45 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan is a "fantastic film"!

    A Twitter user Vivek Verma wrote, "#ShubhMangalZyadaSaavdhan Men holding hands♥
    Rating: Glowing starGlowing starGlowing starGlowing star/5
    This is a fantastic film with a superb ScreenPlay and Storyline...
    @ayushmannk
    and Jitendra kumar done a great job.. other actors performances are also good.. This film will become Super-Hit and collect 100 cr+.."

    14:23 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Still undecided? Watch Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan's trailer here!

    13:57 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan is a family film'

    In an interview with indianexpress.com, Ayushmann Khurrana said, "There is nothing in Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan that you cannot watch with your family. There is a kissing scene but nothing beyond that. It is a family film."

    Also Read | Ayushmann Khurrana: Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan underlines that homosexuality is natural and normal

    13:21 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Manu Rishi on playing a homophobic uncle in Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan

    In an interview with indianexpress.com, Manu Rishi said, "The major responsibility of showing homophobia was with Gajraj Rao, who plays my elder brother. It is a common fear, and people refuse to even think about it. My character also has a certain level of homophobia, like I am unable to speak the word ‘gay’. But personally, I don’t see myself at that level because we began our journey with theatre and our thoughts were moulded accordingly. We learned to give the same respect to such relationships. I got an opportunity to grow with this film. I was prepared to accept it as an expression of love."

    Also Read | Manu Rishi: Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan was a philosophical experience

    13:09 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Ayushmann Khurrana on Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan

    In an interview with indianexpress.com, Ayushmann Khurrana talks about Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan, and the need to create a brand new thought process for the regressive Indian audience. He said, "Our film is one of its kind. It is a giant leap for Indian cinema where we are portraying two men as homosexuals, and we are very front-footed about it. It is also the reaction of the family when they find out that their son is gay. The comments that we have got on YouTube for our trailer are unanimously positive. It is a very healthy sign for Indian cinema and our society in general. This film could be like an induction for the Indian audience. It is not something that is very serious. It is mainstream and commercial. It is a popcorn entertainer." 

    Also read | Ayushmann Khurrana: Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan is a giant leap for Indian cinema

    12:51 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Neha Dhupia wishes good luck to Ayushmann Khurrana

    Neha Dhupia wrote on Twitter, "All the best ... truly you two are the nicest and the best in the business ... all the best @ayushmannk @vickykaushal09 #ShubhMangalZyaadaSaavdhan #bhoot." 

    12:40 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Gautam Rode on wife Pankhuri's Bollywood debut

    "Mubarak ho biwi for your debut film ❤❤ you have acted really well (Saying this as your senior 😊) and looking v pretty in the film(Saying this as your husband😁😜) .. Guys it’s a brave entertaining film #SHUBHMANGALZYADASAAVDHAN .. A must watch 👍 @Panawasthy_31" TV actor Gautam Rode tweeted. 

    12:24 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Neena Gupta and Gajraj Rao just killed it together'

    Gauahar Khan watched the Ayushmann Khurrana starrer on Thursday and shared on Instagram, "So I watched Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan! Pankhuri you were lovely as Kusum. Good luck and lots of love! Guys, please watch the film. Neena Gupta and Gajraj Rao just killed it together." She also wrote, "I am such a huge fan of Gajraj Rao ji. He is, as usual, brilliant in Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan."

    12:10 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    A list of LGBTQ films that you ought to see if you haven't already

    Before Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan, we have had queer characters that have touched hearts and made us think. (By and large, the rainbow is missing in cinema, but still the recent spike in LGBTQ films is a welcome change). Here's a list of gay/lesbian movies that you ought to see if you haven't already.

    1. Kapoor & Sons (2016)

    In one crucial scene from the film, the mother played by Ratna Pathak Shah fails to understand how her son (Pakistani heartthrob, Fawad Khan) could be in love with another man. She has stumbled upon her son’s photos in his laptop. Her world-has-come-crashing-down reaction tells you why he couldn’t have come out in a family like the Kapoors, not even to his mother — especially, not to his mother. A well-enacted and evocative scene in a finely-made film that explores all the secrets lurking behind the Kapoor family facade.

    Read the full list here.

    11:59 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Neena Gupta on her role in Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan

    Talking to indianexpress.com about her role in the movie, Neena Gupta shared, "I played a mother in Badhaai Ho, and in this one, I play a mother to Jitender Kumar’s character. My character is very different to what I played in Badhaai Ho.”

    Also read | Neena Gupta: Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan will encourage parents to have a conversation on homosexuality

    11:43 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Celebrities attend the screening of Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan
    Ayushmann's brother Aparshakti Khurrana at the screening of his film Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan. (Photo: Varinder Chawla)
    Ayushmann's wife Tahira Kashyap also attended the screening Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan. (Photo: Varinder Chawla)
    Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan actors Neena Gupta and Gajraj Rao spotted at the film's screening. (Photo: Varinder Chawla)

    Also read | Hina Khan, Gauahar Khan, Tahira Kashyap and others attend the screening of Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan

    11:31 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Funny, real and audacious'

    Film producer Tanuj Garg watched the movie and wrote on Twitter, "Watched #ShubhMangalZyadaSaavdhan. It's funny, real & audacious. Every member of the ensemble cast is in splendid form. @ayushmannk is endearing and effortless, and getting increasingly uninhibited with every gig.  @farjigulzar is an absolute star.  Proud of you @hiteshkewalya!" 

    11:18 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Fantastic performances by everyone'

    Filmmaker Guneet Monga watched Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan and wrote, "Fantastic performances by everyone but I died laughing with the banter between my favourites @Neenagupta001and @SunitaRajwar! So good to see @Farjigulzar get his due with such a lovely film! Congratulations @aanandlrai sir, Himanshu Sharma, Kanupriya, @hiteshkewalya and the entire team of #ShubhMangalZyadaSaavdhan for breaking the stereotype and acing it like a boss! 🌈And @ayushmannk for always being ahead of the curve!"

    11:05 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    5 Reasons to watch Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan

    10:52 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Hina Khan praises Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata actor Sunita Rajwar

    Hina Khan attended the special screening of Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan and shared a photo with actor Sunita Rajwar. Along with the photo, she wrote, "You were fab in the film! Especially, your punches."

    10:39 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Every human being must see Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan'

    "EVERY Human being MUST see #ShubhMangalZyaadaSaavdhan !!! It’s HILARIOUS but so so brave and such an imp film for same sex love equality and rights. 👏👏👏😍 bravo @ayushmannk @Farjigulzar @itsBhushanKumar @hiteshkewalya @aanandlrai @raogajraj @Neenagupta001 @TSeries," Milap Zaveri tweeted.

    Film trade analyst Girish Johar predicted the first-day collection of Shubh Mangal Zyaada Saavdhan will be Rs 8-9 crores.

    After a successful 2019 with films like Bala, Dream Girl and Article 15, Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan is Ayushmann Khurrana's first release of 2020.