Follow Us:
Wednesday, February 26, 2020

Satyameva Jayate movie review and release highlights

Satyameva Jayate movie review and release highlights: Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about Satyameva Jayate, starring John Abraham and Manoj Bajpayee among others.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: August 15, 2018 4:02:03 pm
Satyameva Jayate actor John Abraham Satyameva Jayate movie review: Satyameva Jayate will clash with Gold at the box office.

Starring John Abraham and Manoj Bajpayee, Satyameva Jayate is a vigilante drama. John plays the vigilante who wants to bring justice to those who have been wronged by the corrupt system and he won’t stop at anything to restore justice in society. Manoj Bajpayee plays the cop who has to stop the vigilante.

The film also stars Aisha Sharma and Amruta Khanvilkar in pivotal roles. The recreated version of the popular song “Dilbar”, featuring Nora Fatehi, has received a lot of appreciation from the audience.

Also Read | Gold box office collection prediction: Akshay Kumar film to earn Rs 20 crore on Day 1

Satyameva Jayate is directed by Milap Milan Zaveri who was also a writer for the TV show 24, starring Anil Kapoor.

Live Blog

Satyameva Jayate movie release highlights: Follow all the latest updates about Satyameva Jayate, starring John Abraham, Manoj Bajpayee, Aisha Sharma and Amruta Khanvilkar.

Highlights

    15:56 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Our verdict

    There’s so much gore that even hardened viewers may flinch, and there’s something entirely gratuitous about characters being made to mouth thunderous lines against people taking the law in their hands, and then showing humans being burnt and beaten.

    Read More | Satyameva Jayate movie review: The John Abraham starrer revives forgotten horrors of 80s B-grade cinema

    15:23 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Watch this dialogue promo of Satyameva Jayate

    14:52 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    John Abraham on Satyameva Jayate

    John Abraham told PTI, "We have spoken about patriotism, corruption. This is an unfiltered commercial film. It has everything from drama to action.'

    14:17 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Nora Fatehi on Dilbar song from Satyameva Jayate

    Nora Fatehi said, "If Nikkhil (Advani) sir and Bhushan (Kumar) sir hadn’t trusted me with the song, all this wouldn’t have happened. People are not just appreciating me for the hotness of the video but for the performance too. They say it is so refreshing to see that someone can dance and express too because they feel there are a lot of actresses, who come from abroad and lack the ability to express. I think that’s the best compliment."

    Read More | Nora Fatehi on Dilbar song: Nobody can beat Sushmita Sen, she is iconic

    13:51 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Audience is applauding Manoj Bajapyee's presence in Satyameva Jayate

    Twitter user Priya Ranjan Pradhan wrote, "#SatyamevaJayate sets it's stall out very early on in the proceedings and it has a fabulous kitsch appeal to it @TheJohnAbraham bites into his role with relish . @zmilap did a fantastic job & what made #SatyamevaJayate more special is the presence of @BajpayeeManoj . Jai Hind.."

    13:35 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Audience reaction - Satyameva Jayate

    Twitter user Vishal Singh wrote, "#SatyamevaJayate is Paisa Vasool in the truest sense of word! It has been made by a bunch of passionate #HindiCinema lovers."

    13:20 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Manoj Bajpayee on playing a cop

    Manoj Bajpayee on playing a cop in Satyameva Jayate, "I would say I don’t play the uniform, I play the person who is wearing that uniform."

    Read More | Manoj Bajpayee: Satyameva Jayate’s story grabbed me by my collar

    13:00 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Here's what the audience is saying about Satyameva Jayate

    Twitter user Nilay Shah wrote, "Just watched #SatyamevaJayate . This has a super hit written all over it !! Congratulations @zmilap !!"

    12:23 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Director Milap Zaveri shared this video on Twitter
    12:00 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    John Abraham on Satyameva Jayate and Gold clashing at the box office

    John Abraham told IANS, "I think there is enough space for two big films on a holiday. It’s not competing. We are complementing each other. We would love if people go and see Satyameva Jayate and we would be absolutely happy if people go and see Gold."

    11:45 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Nora Fatehi has received a lot of appreciation for her song in Satyameva Jayate

    11:23 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Satyameva Jayate actor Manoj Bajpayee on the plot of the film

    Manoj Bajpayee told IANS, "Satyameva Jayate is an action-thriller where a cat-mouse fight is happening between the two characters – a police and a criminal."

    11:04 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    John Abraham at the screening of Satyameva Jayate

    Photo credit: Varinder Chawla

    10:55 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Satyameva Jayate actor Aisha Sharma on her character

    Aisha Sharma told PTI, "When you look a certain way, it is easy for people to cast you in certain roles. Slotting does happen. I have made conscious effort to choose roles that are out of the box. I don’t have a quintessential role in Satyameva Jayate. It is a different role."

    Read More | Aisha Sharma: Don’t have a quintessential role in Satyameva Jayate

    10:34 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Watch the trailer of Satyameva Jayate here

    10:24 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Diana Penty on Satyameva Jayate

    Diana Penty tweeted, "My partner-in-nuclear espionage, @TheJohnAbraham is back to kicking a** and serving justice in #SatyamevaJayate. Loads of luck to @zmilap @BajpayeeManoj @aishasharma25 @TSeries and to my friends @EmmayEntertain @nikkhiladvani @monishaadvani @madhubhojwani 🤗😊👍"

    10:07 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Gold producer Farhan Akhtar wishes the team of Satyameva Jayate

    Farhan Akhtar tweeted, "Best wishes to my friends @nikkhiladvani @monishaadvani @madhubhojwani @zmilap @TheJohnAbraham @BajpayeeManoj and team #SatyamevaJayate for the release of their film today."

    09:59 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Five reasons to watch John Abraham starrer Satyameva Jayate

    09:48 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Satyameva Jayate actor Manoj Bajpayee talks about the engaging story of the film

    Manoj Bajpayee said, "It’s a massy film, which I’m not that much known for. But it’s a story which grabbed me by my collar. When Milan Zaveri narrated the script, I was sitting quietly through the narration. It didn’t even give me a chance to yawn. And I was on the edge of my seat. I said let’s go ahead and do it!"

    Read More | Manoj Bajpayee: Satyameva Jayate’s story grabbed me by my collar

    09:31 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Satyameva Jayate box office collection prediction

    Trade analyst Girish Johar shared, 'Satyameva Jayate is a masala entertainer. It is expected to earn Rs 10 crore on its opening day."

    Read More | Satyameva Jayate box office collection prediction: John Abraham film to earn Rs 10 crore on opening day

    09:06 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Our verdict

    The film takes its objective very seriously indeed. We are shown stacks of wood, kerosene cans and matchsticks, and burning human flesh, over and over and over again. And again, just in case we’d forgotten. There was a time, in the 70s and 80s, when B grade cinema embraced this theme—weeding out corruption with extreme violence– with enthusiasm. Satyameva Jayate brings it all back, with all its dialogue-baazi, and relentless background music, piling one improbable, cliché-ridden sequence upon another.

    Also Read | Satyameva Jayate movie review: The John Abraham starrer revives all the forgotten horrors of 80s B-grade cinema

    08:46 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Siddharth Kannan on Satyameva Jayate

    Siddharth Kannan shared on Twitter, "Action packed masala entertainer. Seeti maar action,zabardast dialogues. @TheJohnAbraham is our very own star action hero! @BajpayeeManoj proves yet again why he is an icon! @aishasharma25 is a breath of fresh air! @zmilap truly makes us feel patriotic! 4* #SatyamevaJayate #SidK"

    08:29 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Satyameva Jayate is an wholesome entertainer, says Abbas Mustan

    Abbas Mustan wrote on Twitter, "Dear Milap @zmilap #SMJ is very well directed n written wholesome entertainer Taalis n Seetis drama emotion. Best wishes @TheJohnAbraham @BajpayeeManoj @TSeries @monishaadvani @itsBhushanKumar"

    08:13 (IST)15 Aug 2018
    Siddharth Malhotra on Satyameva Jayate

    Hichki director Siddharth Malhotra posted on Twitter, "It’s takes a while for a film maker to find his voice,my friend @zmilap has found &owned his identity in #SATYAMEVAJAYATE full masala, dialoguebaazi, emotion and drama his style to the gallery..many congrats @madhubhojwani @TheJohnAbraham ur in super form @nikkhiladvani 🙌"

    According to the makers, Satyameva Jayate is the story of DCP Shivansh who has been tasked to catch Vir, the man behind police killings in the city. Both are eventually against the same enemy but divided by a fine line, the law.