scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Friday, October 22, 2021

Satyameva Jayate movie review and release highlights

Satyameva Jayate movie review and release highlights: Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about Satyameva Jayate, starring John Abraham and Manoj Bajpayee among others.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: August 15, 2018 4:02:03 pm
Satyameva Jayate actor John Abraham Satyameva Jayate movie review: Satyameva Jayate will clash with Gold at the box office.

Starring John Abraham and Manoj Bajpayee, Satyameva Jayate is a vigilante drama. John plays the vigilante who wants to bring justice to those who have been wronged by the corrupt system and he won’t stop at anything to restore justice in society. Manoj Bajpayee plays the cop who has to stop the vigilante.

The film also stars Aisha Sharma and Amruta Khanvilkar in pivotal roles. The recreated version of the popular song “Dilbar”, featuring Nora Fatehi, has received a lot of appreciation from the audience.

Also Read | Gold box office collection prediction: Akshay Kumar film to earn Rs 20 crore on Day 1

Satyameva Jayate is directed by Milap Milan Zaveri who was also a writer for the TV show 24, starring Anil Kapoor.

Live Blog

Satyameva Jayate movie release highlights: Follow all the latest updates about Satyameva Jayate, starring John Abraham, Manoj Bajpayee, Aisha Sharma and Amruta Khanvilkar.

15:56 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Our verdict

There’s so much gore that even hardened viewers may flinch, and there’s something entirely gratuitous about characters being made to mouth thunderous lines against people taking the law in their hands, and then showing humans being burnt and beaten.

Read More | Satyameva Jayate movie review: The John Abraham starrer revives forgotten horrors of 80s B-grade cinema

15:23 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Watch this dialogue promo of Satyameva Jayate

14:52 (IST)15 Aug 2018
John Abraham on Satyameva Jayate

John Abraham told PTI, "We have spoken about patriotism, corruption. This is an unfiltered commercial film. It has everything from drama to action.'

14:17 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Nora Fatehi on Dilbar song from Satyameva Jayate

Nora Fatehi said, "If Nikkhil (Advani) sir and Bhushan (Kumar) sir hadn’t trusted me with the song, all this wouldn’t have happened. People are not just appreciating me for the hotness of the video but for the performance too. They say it is so refreshing to see that someone can dance and express too because they feel there are a lot of actresses, who come from abroad and lack the ability to express. I think that’s the best compliment."

Read More | Nora Fatehi on Dilbar song: Nobody can beat Sushmita Sen, she is iconic

13:51 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Audience is applauding Manoj Bajapyee's presence in Satyameva Jayate

Twitter user Priya Ranjan Pradhan wrote, "#SatyamevaJayate sets it's stall out very early on in the proceedings and it has a fabulous kitsch appeal to it @TheJohnAbraham bites into his role with relish . @zmilap did a fantastic job & what made #SatyamevaJayate more special is the presence of @BajpayeeManoj . Jai Hind.."

13:35 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Audience reaction - Satyameva Jayate

Twitter user Vishal Singh wrote, "#SatyamevaJayate is Paisa Vasool in the truest sense of word! It has been made by a bunch of passionate #HindiCinema lovers."

13:20 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Manoj Bajpayee on playing a cop

Manoj Bajpayee on playing a cop in Satyameva Jayate, "I would say I don’t play the uniform, I play the person who is wearing that uniform."

Read More | Manoj Bajpayee: Satyameva Jayate’s story grabbed me by my collar

13:00 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Here's what the audience is saying about Satyameva Jayate

Twitter user Nilay Shah wrote, "Just watched #SatyamevaJayate . This has a super hit written all over it !! Congratulations @zmilap !!"

12:23 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Director Milap Zaveri shared this video on Twitter
12:00 (IST)15 Aug 2018
John Abraham on Satyameva Jayate and Gold clashing at the box office

John Abraham told IANS, "I think there is enough space for two big films on a holiday. It’s not competing. We are complementing each other. We would love if people go and see Satyameva Jayate and we would be absolutely happy if people go and see Gold."

11:45 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Nora Fatehi has received a lot of appreciation for her song in Satyameva Jayate

11:23 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Satyameva Jayate actor Manoj Bajpayee on the plot of the film

Manoj Bajpayee told IANS, "Satyameva Jayate is an action-thriller where a cat-mouse fight is happening between the two characters – a police and a criminal."

11:04 (IST)15 Aug 2018
John Abraham at the screening of Satyameva Jayate

Photo credit: Varinder Chawla

10:55 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Satyameva Jayate actor Aisha Sharma on her character

Aisha Sharma told PTI, "When you look a certain way, it is easy for people to cast you in certain roles. Slotting does happen. I have made conscious effort to choose roles that are out of the box. I don’t have a quintessential role in Satyameva Jayate. It is a different role."

Read More | Aisha Sharma: Don’t have a quintessential role in Satyameva Jayate

10:34 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Watch the trailer of Satyameva Jayate here

10:24 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Diana Penty on Satyameva Jayate

Diana Penty tweeted, "My partner-in-nuclear espionage, @TheJohnAbraham is back to kicking a** and serving justice in #SatyamevaJayate. Loads of luck to @zmilap @BajpayeeManoj @aishasharma25 @TSeries and to my friends @EmmayEntertain @nikkhiladvani @monishaadvani @madhubhojwani 🤗😊👍"

10:07 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Gold producer Farhan Akhtar wishes the team of Satyameva Jayate

Farhan Akhtar tweeted, "Best wishes to my friends @nikkhiladvani @monishaadvani @madhubhojwani @zmilap @TheJohnAbraham @BajpayeeManoj and team #SatyamevaJayate for the release of their film today."

09:59 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Five reasons to watch John Abraham starrer Satyameva Jayate

09:48 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Satyameva Jayate actor Manoj Bajpayee talks about the engaging story of the film

Manoj Bajpayee said, "It’s a massy film, which I’m not that much known for. But it’s a story which grabbed me by my collar. When Milan Zaveri narrated the script, I was sitting quietly through the narration. It didn’t even give me a chance to yawn. And I was on the edge of my seat. I said let’s go ahead and do it!"

Read More | Manoj Bajpayee: Satyameva Jayate’s story grabbed me by my collar

09:31 (IST)15 Aug 2018
Satyameva Jayate box office collection prediction

Trade analyst Girish Johar shared, 'Satyameva Jayate is a masala entertainer. It is expected to earn Rs 10 crore on its opening day."

Read More | Satyameva Jayate box office collection prediction: John Abraham film to earn Rs 10 crore on opening day

According to the makers, Satyameva Jayate is the story of DCP Shivansh who has been tasked to catch Vir, the man behind police killings in the city. Both are eventually against the same enemy but divided by a fine line, the law.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.