Follow Us:
Monday, November 29, 2021

61st National Film Awards: ‘Shahid’ wins two top awards, ‘Ship of Theseus’ best film

Rajkummar Rao shares best actor with Suraj Venjaramoodu. Geetanjali Thapa is best actor (female) for 'Liar's Dice'

By: Press Trust of India Written by Sarika Sharma | New Delih |
Updated: April 17, 2014 12:15:55 pm
Rajkummar Rao won the Best Actor award at the 61st National Film Awards. Rajkummar Rao won the Best Actor award at the 61st National Film Awards.

Hindi movie ‘Shahid’, based on the life of murdered human rights lawyer Shahid Azmi, won the  best actor award for actor Rajkummar Rao and the best director award for Hansal Mehta in the 61st National Film Awards announced on Wednesday (April 16).

PHOTOS: Big winners at 61st National Film Awards

“It is a wonderful feeling. It is a tribute to Shahid Azmi. It is just his karma which has worked for the film and for us. It’s also a tribute to my team who stood by me for three and a half years while making this film,” Mehta said.

Click to view full image. Click to view full image.

Reacting to the news, Rao said: “I am more than happy. It is the most important day of my life. Never expected this to happen. I am thankful to everyone actually Hansal Mehta, Shahid team and the audience. I am overwhelmed.” He shared the Best Actor award with Suraj Venjaramoodu, who was honoured for his performance in Malayalam movie Perariyathavar.

Among the first to congratulate Rao was his Kai Po Che director Abhishek Kapoor. He tweeted: @raj_kumar31 U Giant of an actor. Congrats on the #nationalaward. V proud if u.

Anand Gandhi directed ‘Ship of Theseus’ was named best feature film at the 61st National Film Award. ‘Gulaabi Gang’ won the award for Best Movie on Social Issues. ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ was named Best Popular film.

Best Actor (Female) went to Geetanjali Thapa for ‘Liar’s Dice’. Best Supporting Actor (Female) was shared by Aida Elkashef  (Ship of Theseus) and Marathi actress  Amruta Subhash for Astu. Saurabh Shukla was declared the best supporting actor for court-room drama ‘Jolly LLB’, which was also named the best Hindi film.

Indira Gandhi Award for best debut film will go to Marathi director Nagraj Manjule for his critically acclaimed ‘Fandry’. Nargis Dutt Award for best feature film on National Integration will be given to Balu Mahendra directed Tamil film ‘Thalaimuraigal’. The awards were announced by an 11-member jury headed by noted directed Saeed Akhtar Mirza.

In the language category, ‘Ajeyo’ was named the best Asamese film, ‘Bakita Byaktigato’ (Bengali), ‘December 1’ (Kannada), ‘Baga Beach’ (Konkani), ‘North 24 Kaadham’ (Malayalam), ‘Aajcha Diwas Majha’ (Marathi), ‘Thanga Meengal’ (Tamil) and ‘Na Bangaaru Talli’ (Telugu) were other winners. ‘Yellow’ (Marathi) and ‘Na Bangaaru Talli’ were given special mention by the jury. The other language winners were: ‘The Coffin Maker’ (English), ‘RI’ (Khasi), ‘The Crossing Bridges’ (Sherdukpen).

Interestingly, both the original and adapted screenplay awards went to Kannada films. P Sheshadri won the award for his original screenplay in ‘December I’ while Panchakshari won the award for adapting ‘Prakruti’. Best editing went to V J Sabu Joseph for the Tamil sports drama ‘Vallinam’ while best production design was won by ‘Miss Lovely’.

‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ choreographer Ganesh Acharya won in the best choreography category for directing the song ‘Maston Ka Jhund’. The best dialogue award will go to Sumitra Bhave for Marathi film ‘Astu’.

In the best music direction went to Bengali film ‘Jaatishwar’ , which also won Rupankar the best male playback singer award for the song ‘E Tumi Kemon Tumi’. Bela Shende won best playback singer female for the song ‘Khura Kura’ from Marathi film ‘Tuhya Dharma Koncha’. Tamil film ‘Na Bangaaru Talli’ won for the best background score.

In the best audiography category John Abraham-produced political thriller ‘Madras Cafe’ won the award for location Sound Recordist and Sound design while Malayalam film ‘Swapaanam’ won for re-recordist of the final mixed track.

‘Jal’ won for special effects. The film ‘Jaatishwar’ also won in the make-up and costume design categories.

The jury selected the winners in the best feature film category out of 310 films, an official said.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Entertainment News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard