scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Live now

Pareeksha movie release LIVE UPDATES: Highlights

Here's what celebrities, fans and critics are saying about Prakash Jha-Adil Hussain film Pareeksha, which is streaming on ZEE5.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi | Updated: August 6, 2020 3:55:53 pm
pareeksha film poster adil hussain Pareeksha is streaming on ZEE5. (Photo: Prakash Jha Production/Twitter)

Prakash Jha directorial Pareeksha – The Final Test is finally streaming on ZEE5. The movie stars Adil Hussain, Priyanka Bose, Sanjay Suri and Shubham Jha. Touted to be a commentary on India’s education system, it follows the story of a rickshaw puller in Bihar who dreams of providing quality education to his son and the eventual challenges he faces. Jha, known for critically-acclaimed films like Apaharan, Gangaajal, Raajneeti, Mrityudand and Damul, is making his digital debut with Pareeksha.

Speaking about the story of Pareeksha, the filmmaker told indianexpress.com, “The core of the story has been with me since childhood. I also used to travel to a convent school via a rickshaw, and I would always wonder about the kid of that rickshaw puller and even the peon in the school. Then Abhayanand once told me the story of the time he was posted in Jahanabad, which is a Naxal-afflicted area. Sometimes, when they would raid, they wouldn’t find the Naxals but would come across their children. These kids, once they overcame the fear of speaking to a police officer, would turn out to be so expressive. There were many success stories that came from there, when they were provided with the right education. That’s how the story came into being. There have been so many real-life stories of people who have faced several hurdles to give their kids basic education.”

Pareeksha had its premiere at the 50th International Film Festival of India last year at Goa. Sharing his expectations from Pareeksha, Prakash Jha said, “I want people to enjoy it. It’s a beautiful story. For inspiration, they can just look around. Recently, when the board results were announced, we read about so many brilliant stories. From a girl staying in footpath all her life passing the exams, to a young child climbing up a mountain to get network. All these are inspirational tales and will make you understand the extent one has to go to get the opportunity to study in the country.”

Live Blog

Follow all the updates about ZEE5's Pareeksha.

15:55 (IST)06 Aug 2020
Pareeksha: Our verdict

Based on a real-life story, Pareeksha is about a rickshaw puller in Bihar whose desire to see his son attend the city’s best English-medium private school, surmounts all else. And while the treatment is linear, often taking a simplistic hop-skip-jump over tough problems to reach its message-y end, it toplines hope: if one poor man’s child can break into the privileged sanctum of expensive education which will lead to a better life, so can many others.

Read more

15:22 (IST)06 Aug 2020
Priyanka Bose's role in Pareeksh

Priyanka Bose plays a doting mother in Prakash Jha's film.

A doting mother and an incredible actor, watch @PriyankaBose20 become a part of Bulbul's dreams with #PareekshaOnZEE5. Kya yeh milkar Bulbul ke #SapneSachKarenge? Find out on 6th August.@_AdilHussain @PJP_Online @prakashjha27 #ShubhamJha pic.twitter.com/PvkYTJqooz

15:00 (IST)06 Aug 2020
'Adil Hussain is fantastic'

"Saw #pareeksha Aftr seeing this i was shaken up & sometimes even tears started dripping from my eyes @_AdilHussain sir u r fantastic as a poor father Who can do anything for his son's studies. @priyankabose20 u r awesome as a mother & wife. @sanjaysuri hats off," wrote @MrArunSiingh.

14:44 (IST)06 Aug 2020
'Got so many goosebumps while watching this wonderful and inspirational story'

@Aditya_Shukla03 posted, "Just watched #Pareeksha and I am speechless. Got so many goosebumps while watching this wonderful and inspirational story of struggle and hard work. Amazingly performed by @_AdilHussain and @priyankabose20. Many congratulations and thanks to @prakashjha27 for making #Pareeksha."

14:11 (IST)06 Aug 2020
Watch: Prakash Jha is a tough taskmaster, says Priyanka Bose

13:48 (IST)06 Aug 2020
Prakash Jha's photo from Pareeksha shoot

"It’s often said that storytelling offers the opportunity to talk with your audience, not at them! That’s #PrakashJha there in the middle of #Pareeksha shoot!" read the post caption.

13:28 (IST)06 Aug 2020
Sanjay Suri is in awe of Pareeksha co-stars

Pareeksha actor Sanjay Suri shared earlier on his Instagram account, "You can learn while watching @_adilhussain act and was a pleasure to be working with the entire team @priyankabose20 @shubham_j124 #SachinKrishn, cast n crew at @PrakashJhaProductions."

13:07 (IST)06 Aug 2020
Prakash Jha on Pareeksha's inspiration

In an interview with indianexpress.com, director Prakash Jha shared, "The core of the story has been with me since childhood. I also used to travel to a convent school via a rickshaw, and I would always wonder about the kid of that rickshaw puller and even the peon in the school. Then Abhayanand once told me the story of the time he was posted in Jahanabad, which is a Naxal-afflicted area. Sometimes, when they would raid, they wouldn’t find the Naxals but would come across their children. These kids, once they overcame the fear of speaking to a police officer, would turn out to be so expressive. There were many success stories that came from there, when they were provided with the right education. That’s how the story came into being. There have been so many real-life stories of people who have faced several hurdles to give their kids basic education."

Read more

12:51 (IST)06 Aug 2020
'Loved the film'

Sanjay Bhutiani shared via Twitter, "Loved the film ! And your performance Sir."

12:29 (IST)06 Aug 2020
Pareeksha: Our verdict

An underdog-as-winner is an always-in-demand subject; a little less exposition would have made this well-intentioned film better.

Read | Pareeksha review: A well-intentioned film

12:10 (IST)06 Aug 2020
'Pareeksha will break, warm, move your heart'

Pareeksha's lead actor Adil Hussain tweeted, "#Pareeksha will break, warm, move your heart. May shake it a little. 6th August on @ZEE5India and #Worldwide."

Adil Hussain called Pareeksha director Prakash Jha a "master storyteller", and was grateful to collaborate with him. "Prakash Jha, a master storyteller, always has found issues which are very important for social growth of the nation. This unique story based on true events will wrench your heart and move you deeply. I am grateful to Prakashji that I am part of this very important film," Hussain said.

Read | The core of Pareeksha has been with me since childhood: Prakash Jha

British filmmaker Peter Webber also appreciated the film and said, "Pareeksha is a marvellous film with a stunning and heart-breaking central performance from Adil Hussain. It draws water from the same well as the classic Italian movie Bicycle Thieves. Not to be missed!" Reacting to the praise, Jha said, "I would like to wholeheartedly thank Peter for his appreciation and kind words. Everyone in their life has to go through that one ultimate test, this movie is an homage to that human endurance through a social comment on the Indian Education System. It is made with a lot of love and we are glad audiences will get to watch it on ZEE5."