Follow Us:
Sunday, February 16, 2020

Panga movie release: Highlights

Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about Panga, starring Kangana Ranaut, Neena Gupta, Jassie Gill and Richa Chadha.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi | Updated: January 25, 2020 8:10:28 am
Panga review The Kangana Ranaut film will clash with Street Dancer 3D at the box office. (Photo: IMDb)

Kangana Ranaut starrer Panga released today. The sports drama is directed by Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari, who is known for having helmed films such as Nil Battey Sannata and Bareilly Ki Barfi. She also directed the Tamil version of Nil Battey Sannata.

Apart from Kangana, Panga also stars Neena Gupta, Jassie Gill and Richa Chadha among others. Panga has been bankrolled by Fox Star Studios, with a screenplay penned by Nitesh Tiwari, who also happens to be Ashwiny’s husband.

Earlier, while speaking about her experience with female actors of Panga, filmmaker Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari told Scroll, “Kangana is extremely truthful and has her own point of view, which is also the case with Richa. Both are strong-headed but have good hearts. Neena is an inspiration in the way she made such a wild decision 30 years ago of raising a child single-handedly while continuing to work in film and television.”

Panga revolves around a former Kabaddi player, who decides to return to the game after a considerable gap. How she balances the personal and professional life forms the crux of the film.

Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari threw light on how she achieved a similar balance whilst directing Panga. She said, “I had to maintain a great balance between slice-of-life portion and sports. Every sports film has lots of grittiness and aggression. I couldn’t show two films in one. With sports film, it is like you need good camera work, but I had to bridge the gap between slice-of-life and Kabaddi.”

Live Blog

Read all the updates about Kangana Ranaut's Panga.

Highlights

    13:23 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    Panga | Our verdict

    The Indian Express' Shubhra Gupta writes, "Women trying to get back to work after becoming wives and mums is an issue Bollywood hasn’t bothered to explore in any detail. Panga’s protagonist is a former kabaddi player whose life has been subsumed by the tedium of everyday domesticity and jobbery. That Jaya Nigam, played with absolute conviction by Kangana Ranaut, dares to dream of a past life where she was in the spotlight, is a straight-off win, subject-wise."

    Read More | Panga movie review: A ‘panga’ worth taking

    13:07 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Unbiased humane love for Panga'

    Director Ashwini Iyer Tiwari took to Twitter to thank the media, "Thankyou media friends many I have not met or interacted to go out of their way & message me words of unbiased humane love for #Panga that go beyond the stars.Beyond the complexities of critics & movies. Gratitude.Please take ur loved ones to the theatres. #pangastories"

    12:56 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    Watch the title track of Panga here

    12:39 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    Kangana Ranaut at the screening of Panga

    (Photo: Varinder Chawla)

    12:21 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    Kangana Ranaut talks Panga on Cricket Live
    11:58 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Jassie Gill & Kangana Ranaut are exceptional in the film'

    Tony Kakkar shared on Twitter, "Watch #panga in cinemas today. It’s brilliant 💯🔥 my bro @jassiegill & #KanganaRanaut are exceptional in the film."

    11:43 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    Watch Panga song Dilne Kaha here

    11:26 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Panga gets it right'

    "@KanganaTeam Bollywood is on a roll,with not just the box office but with superlative content!What a start to 2020.Nobody takes panga with THE Kangana Ranaut,very daring with her talented self.Casting is a huge strength for a movie’s success & #Panga gets it right!Must watch👊🏽🙌🏽," shared @RiddhiNair shared on Twitter.

    11:11 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Kangana delivers a knockout performance'

    "#Panga Damn, what a movie! Inspiration ‘personified’. Kangana delivers a knockout performance; while the entire supporting cast is outstanding. Ashwini’s writing/direction are ‘human’ to the core (as always). Don’t mess with this, ‘champ’ of a film! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 1/2 (4.5 stars)," shared @bhavikksangghvi on Twitter.

    10:56 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Panga stands on Kangana Ranaut's conviction'

    "Trust @Ashwinyiyer to pick unnoticed nuances from life & weave into a story of desires. #Panga stands on #KanganaRanaut conviction, @jassiegill charm(husband goals😍), @RichaChadha "yeh dil mange more" scenes. Those who forgot to dream, time to live again A sweet innocent film💖" @mimansashekhar shared on Twitter.

    10:42 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    Our verdict | Panga

    The Indian Express' Shubhra Gupta writes, "Women trying to get back to work after becoming wives and mums is an issue Bollywood hasn’t bothered to explore in any detail. Panga’s protagonist is a former kabaddi player whose life has been subsumed by the tedium of everyday domesticity and jobbery. That Jaya Nigam, played with absolute conviction by Kangana Ranaut, dares to dream of a past life where she was in the spotlight, is a straight-off win, subject-wise."

    Read More | Panga movie review: A ‘panga’ worth taking

    10:35 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Genuinely a wonderful film'

    Vivek Agnihotri shared on Twitter, "Guys, watch #KanganaRanaut’s #Panga. It’s genuinely a wonderful film. Kangana is the new actor-superstar."

    10:22 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    Still on the fence about Panga? Watch the trailer again

    10:10 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Kangana Ranaut is truly the best actress'

    "#Panga - one of the best feel good film I've seen in recent time. #KanganaRanaut is truly the best actress we have currently in the Hindi Film Industry. @RichaChadha is brilliant as usual. Perfect casting. Congratulations @Ashwinyiyer on another good film after Bareilly Ki Barfi," shared @ShraddhaAdvani on Twitter.

    09:56 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Panga isn't a film but a love letter to our mothers'

    ".#Panga isn't a film but a love letter to our mothers who've always put everything and everyone else before themselves! ❤. Heartfelt and hilarious! Congratulations to the team! ❤🤗 4. 5 stars!" shared @tweetfromvj on Twitter.

    09:38 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'If words could convey how much I loved Panga'

    "@Ashwinyiyer shining stars like you brighten the darkest nights with a ray of hope, with their inner warmth and with glowing, positive thoughts. If words could convey just how much I loved #Panga #Pangastories Duniyaaa se tu le panga!" shared @RA2S on Twitter.

    09:27 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Panga is funny and brilliant'

    "#Panga is Subtle Funny and Brilliant. Bravo #Kangana I could only see Jaya Nigam in you! Take a bow. 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽🙌🏽 #TheFutureisFemale," @stylebyami shared on Twitter.

    09:13 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    Kriti Sanon wishes luck to Team Panga

    Kriti Sanon shared on Twitter, "Good luck to the whole team of #Panga .. speciallyy my favvv @Ashwinyiyer and @niteshtiwari22 sir! Can’t wait to see the magic you guys have created! 🤗❤️ #Kangana and the whole cast& crew.. Wish u guys a blockbuster weekend! Gonna watch the film soon!! 👍🏻❤️

    09:00 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    Maanvi Gagroo praises Panga

    Maanvi Gagroo shared on Twitter, "#KanganaRanaut as Jaya reminds us why we love her performances! @Neenagupta001 you're AMAZING as the critical, loving mom. @RichaChadha Kya kaam ki ho tum. Dil garden garden ho gaya ❤ Congrats @Ashwinyiyer Take a bow. #Panga is full #feels @roo_cha @niteshtiwari22"

    08:44 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Such an inspiring story'

    Warda Nadiadwala shared on Twitter, "Such an inspiring story so beautifully told love u @Ashwinyiyer u r a ⭐️.. @niteshtiwari22 how u write sir 💪🏻😍, #KanganaRanaut phenomenal as ever, your innocence (Sighhhh)🤗 @RichaChadha kudos bro 💪🏻#Panga .... U guys got me like AB MUJHE BHI PANGA LENA HAI 💪🏻"

    08:30 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Panga is such a soulful film'

    Varun Sharma shared on Twitter, "#Panga is such a Soulful Film!! Loved loved loved every bit of it!! Kudos to the Entire Team Gonna be taking my Mom to watch the Film again!!❤️❤️✨✨ @Ashwinyiyer @niteshtiwari22 #KanganaRanaut @jassiegill @foxstarhindi #Nikhil"

    08:23 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    Panga to earn Rs 5 crore on opening day?

    As per trade analyst Girish Johar, Panga could earn Rs 5 crore on its opening day. He told indianexpress.com, "Panga caters to the high-end multiplex audience and urban women folk. I believe films of this stature do depend a lot on reviews and word of mouth. With good word of mouth, Panga should gain pace. At the end of the day, the public should connect with the film."

    Also Read | Panga box office collection prediction: Kangana Ranaut film to have a moderate opening

    08:09 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    WATCH: In conversation with Jassie Gill

    07:53 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Kangana Ranaut is great as always'

    Casting director Mukesh Chhabra shared on Twitter, "Kangana Ranaut is great as always. @jassiegill's smile will just melt your heart and you can't help but fall in love with him. The kid will just charm you all through the film. @RichaChadha is just fab #Panga. @foxstarhindi @Ashwinyiyer @roo_cha."

    07:42 (IST)24 Jan 2020
    'Kangana was really earnest'

    Tahira Kashyap Khurrana posted on Twitter, "All the best @Ashwinyiyer for #panga #kangana was really earnest. @RichaChadha in her elements and the kid was really the cherry on the cake! Keep doing amazing work and inspiring us"

    Kangana Ranaut, who is often in the news for her controversial statements, recently launched her production house Manikarnika Films.

    Speaking about the same, Kangana had said that she plans to make landmark movies through her production house.

    "What’s going on in my mind? How am I as an individual? Nobody knows that. People hire me as an actor. I go to set, and I do what I am asked to do. I can have a depiction but nothing more than that. But as a creative mind, I am an original thinker. I am an independent thinker, and nobody knows my mind yet. So I would like to just put that out and have a lot more involvement than I already do,” Kangana Ranaut said.