Paltan movie review and release highlights

Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about JP Dutta's Paltan. The film stars Jackie Shroff, Arjun Rampal, Sonu Sood, Gurmeet Chaudhary, Harshvardhan Rane, Siddhanth Kapoor and Luv Sinha.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: September 7, 2018 5:34:27 pm
Paltan Paltan is JP Dutta’s third war film after Border and LOC Kargil.

Directed by JP Dutta, Paltan is based on the 1967 Nathula pass clashes along the Sikkim border. These events occurred after the Indo-China war of 1962. The film stars Jackie Shroff, Arjun Rampal, Sonu Sood, Gurmeet Chaudhary and Harshvardhan Rane among others. Paltan is JP Dutta’s third war film after Border and LOC Kargil. Apart from war films, Dutta has also directed Umrao Jaan and Refugee among others.

Also Read | Paltan box office collection prediction

JP Dutta spoke about Paltan and told indianexpress.com, “It was something which was never told and never did we ever read about the skirmish that took place in Nathula. Somebody told me about this incident and I got interested in it and then started working on it.”

Live Blog

Read all the updates about Paltan, starring Jackie Shroff, Arjun Rampal, Sonu Sood, Gurmeet Chaudhary and Harshvardhan Rane among others.

13:05 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Watch Paltan song Raat Kitni

12:51 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Paltan gets a standing ovation

JP Dutta's war film Paltan got a standing ovation from the Defence Ministry.

12:33 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Athiya Shetty on Paltan

Athiya Shetty tweeted, "All the best to team #Paltan 🙏🏼🙌🏼✨ lots of love to @RealNidhiDutta and JP uncle 🤗"

12:25 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
TV actor Karan Patel on Paltan

Karan Patel wrote on Instagram, "Thanking my brothers @sonu_sood @guruchoudhary @siddhanthkapoor and the entire team of #PALTAN for honouring the heroes we never got to know ... OUR SOLDIERS ... wishing the entire Paltan all the best for this mega blockbuster .... BHARAT MATA KI JAI .... 🇮🇳"

12:10 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Sonu Sood on Paltan
11:58 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Paltan actor Luv Sinha thanks director JP Dutta
11:45 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Abhishek Bachchan on Paltan exit

Abhishek Bachchan told indianexpress.com, “I was obviously doing Paltan and for personal reasons, I had to bow out of the film. It was devastating for me because it’s JP saab. He didn’t only launch me but he has been like a mentor, a family to me."

Also Read | Abhishek Bachchan on Paltan exit: It was heartbreaking to not stand by JP Dutta’s side

11:37 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Watch the making of Paltan song Main Zinda Hoon

11:28 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Luv Sinha on Paltan

"I feel as an actor it is important to commit to the role fully and push yourself as much as you can, without relying on other methods to enhance your performance. The audience today can pick up on things very quickly so it's always better to train and then do your own stunts in a safe manner," Luv Sinha said in a statement to IANS.

11:17 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Harshvardhan Rane on Paltan

Harshvardhan Rane told IANS, "I think there's a lot that I have taken back from the movie. Shooting Paltan will always be a great learning and memorable experience. I had never thought of being part of such a massive project that talks about a glorious chapter of Indian history."

11:04 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Watch the title track of Paltan

10:54 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Director Ashwini Chaudhary on Paltan

Ashwini Chaudhary tweeted, "Wishing all the very best to team #PALTAN @SonuSood @gurruchoudhary @LuvSinha @harsha_actor."

10:47 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Watch the trailer of Paltan

10:34 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Paltan actor Monica Gill on working with JP Dutta

Paltan actor Monica Gill told indianexpress.com, "When I got a call from JP Dutta sir’s office, I just couldn’t believe myself. I was so glad when I was told that I have the role, and so was my family."

Also Read | Paltan actor Monica Gill: When I got a call from JP Dutta’s office, I just couldn’t believe myself

10:24 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Watch this video to find out how well do the Paltan cast know JP Dutta

10:16 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Director JP Dutta on Paltan

JP Dutta told indianexpress.com, "For so many years, Border has been appreciated. People still react to it in a similar way as they reacted when they first saw it. A lot of Jawans are joining the army because of Border, so that is the kind of connection with the film. Now that I am doing Paltan, I don’t think anything has changed in the psyche of people, especially the youth. The youth today are more aware of their country and are more clear and very charged about India as such."

Also Read | JP Dutta: If you are an Indian, you should watch Paltan

10:05 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Paltan might earn Rs 1.5 crore at the box office on Day 1

Trade analyst Girish Johar said, "There is low traction around Paltan and the right kind of hype has not been created around it. So, it can work down the line after a positive word of mouth but for now, the film is expected to earn around Rs 1.5 crore on its opening day."

Also Read | Paltan box office collection prediction: JP Dutta film expected to earn Rs 1.5 crore on Day 1

09:54 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Here's why you should watch Paltan

The director and cast of Paltan elaborate on the reasons to watch Paltan.

09:45 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Director Sajid Khan on Paltan

Sajid Khan posted on Twitter, "wishing my bro @harsha_actor n the entire team of #paltan all the best😊"

09:33 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Suniel Shetty on Paltan

Suniel Shetty tweeted, "The FORCE behind #PALTAN !!! U have grown and how my baby @RealNidhiDutta !! You r special... wishing u the very best ... stay blessed always ."

09:24 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Shoaib Ibrahim on Paltan

Shoaib Ibrahim posted on Twitter, "He has done it once again!!! #Paltan introduces us to a victory we didnt even know about!! Watch it guys and shower your love to this film and JP sir 🙌🏻 who never fails to serve his nation his way. Congratulations @RealNidhiDutta @ZeeStudios"

According to the makers, Paltan is based on the Nathu La military clashes of 1967 which took place along the Sikkim border. It showcases an untold story of the Indian forces facing off in an intense battle to ward off a Chinese infiltration.