Manmarziyaan, Love Sonia and Mitron movie review and release: Highlights

Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about today's big releases - Manmarziyaan, Mitron and Love Sonia.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: September 14, 2018 7:50:56 pm
Manmarziyaan Manmarziyaan has received mixed reviews.

This Friday, Bollywood buffs have three movies to pick from – Taapsee Pannu, Vicky Kaushal and Abhishek Bachchan’s rom-com Manmarziyaan, debutante Mrunal Thakur’s Love Sonia and Jackky Bhagnani and Kritika Kamra’s masala entertainer Mitron.

Critics have already given a thumbs up to the Anurag Kashyap directorial Manmarziyaan. Love Sonia chronicles the story of two sisters and how they get stuck in the claws of human trafficking. Also starring Manoj Bajpayee, Anupam Kher, Rajkummar Rao, Freida Pinto, Demi Moore and Richa Chadha, the film has already won laurels globally at several film festivals.

Based in Ahmedabad, Mitron marks the debut of television actor Kritika Kamra and is helmed by National Award-winning filmmaker Nitin Kakkar. Jackky Bhagnani plays the lead in the movie which talks about friendship, relationship and millennials.

Live Blog

Read all the updates about Manmarziyaan, Mitron and Love Sonia.

19:48 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Our verdict of Love Sonia

More focus on what happens to the girls when they are yanked from that life would have made Love Sonia fresher, and given the characters more to play with. That is not something we see too often, and there is a tiny glimpse of it in the film. The rest of it is same-old.

Also Read: Love Sonia movie review: The Mrunal Thakur film is weighed down by cliches

17:06 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Our verdict of Manmarziyaan

The Indian Express'  film critic Shubhra Gupta wrote, "Pannu stands out, trying to work past the clichéd role. This is the first time the excellent Kaushal is not able to make the character his own: fresh off Sanju, this is a disappointment. And Bachchan’s Robbie reminds you so strongly of Ajay Devgn’s part in Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam that it’s hard to separate them. A couple of the songs are good too, perfectly matching the tone of the movie, but finally there are too many of them."

Also read | Manmarziyaan movie review: The Vicky-Taapsee film is an exhausting romantic drama

16:43 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Haven't booked tickets for Manmarziyaan yet? Check out the trailer here

16:17 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Filmmaker Anubhav Sinha wishes luck to the team of Love Sonia

Filmmaker Anubhav Sinha recently wished luck to the team of Love Sonia by tweeting, "Ms @RichaChadha @mrunal0801 @RajkummarRao @BajpayeeManoj All the very best in the theaters today. #LoveSonia Ladies and Gentlemen is about a world in your world that you must know about." 

15:47 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Suniel Shetty cannot wait to see Manmarziyaan
15:20 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Jaey Gajera on Mitron
14:33 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
The Box Office King kaun poll
13:53 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Angad Bedi on Manmarziyaan

"#Manmarziyaan my brother @juniorbachchan is a Bonafide star. He’s the strength and soul of the film. I love you junior. You gifted southpaw. @taapsee the dynamite who sinks her teeth into the role of rumi @vickykaushal09 sky is the limit for you. You are special. ❤️," Angad Bedi said via Twitter.

13:09 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
On the fence about watching Love Sonia? Check out the trailer of the hard-hitting film

12:31 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Mitron is an endearing film, says Deepshikha Deshmukh

Deepshikha Deshmukh wrote on Twitter, "Saw #mitron last night what a lovely sweeet endearing film and the performances are top notch @jackkybhagnani sooooo gooood as Jai it takes a lot of skills to be like that on screen - @Kritika_Kamra ur brilliant in the film , what a fantastic debut. And @nitinrkakkar sir to direct. Space like this - soooo real and raw and to bring out such real performances is something else #mitron is sooo heart warming"

12:02 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Manmarziyaan and Mitron off to a slow start
11:31 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Mrunal Thakur on Love Sonia

In an interview with PTI, Mrunal Thakur said, "This film is close to my heart. Tabrez has given 10 years of his life to this project. When I met him for the first time, he was so confident about what he was doing that it drove me to give my best. It was not easy of course, we visited the red light area in Kolkata to know about the women out there. My heart sank to know what these women go through. I feel immensely proud to be in Love Sonia. Not all Bollywood actors get to perform such a role and I am glad Tabrez cast me in it. It was a big risk for him too, he could have cast someone known but he believed in someone raw and I'm thankful for that."

11:04 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Manmarziyaan is beautiful, says Neha Dhupia

Neha Dhupia tweeted, "loved #Manmarziyaan ..give me romance, grt music,a beautiful world n spectacular performances n I’m sold! @taapsee got every beat right, @vickykaushal09 was the life of it n @juniorbachchan was the pillar who packed a rock solid performance.This is beautiful @anuragkashyap72 ❤️"

10:43 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Watch: Jackky Bhagnani and Kritika Kamra on why the film is titled Mitron

10:19 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
The performances are top-notch in Love Sonia, says Pulkit Samrat

Pulkit Samrat shared on Twitter, "#LoveSonia One of the strongest films I’ve watched in a long time! It stirs your èlan vitals while it holds your hand, walking you through the dingy corridors of global sex network!! Most aesthetic storytelling for a subject like this! DO NOT MISS IT! #TebrezNoorani 🙇‍♂️ #LoveSonia The performances are top-notch!! And u my dear @RichaChadha are amazin’ as Madhuri! Madhuri stays in my heart 💓 @mrunal0801 ufff!! You are such a gem as Sonia!! You inhabit the screen with your energy!! @riyasisodiya071 tu kitni pretty (Preety ;)) hai rey! #LoveSonia All the best team! Am proud to know people like you who create such amazing cinema!! 🙇‍♂️ 🙇‍♂️ @RajkummarRao @riyasisodiya071 @_AdilHussain @amarbutala @ZeeMusicCompany #freidapinto @SaieTamhankar #LoveSonia There’s a reason I’ve forgot to mention two of the finest performances in the movie!! @AnupamPKher sir and @BajpayeeManoj sir! I hated the hell out of your characters!! 🙇‍♂️ 🙇‍♂️ 🙇‍♂️ 🙇‍♂️So much to learn!! Love Sonia wakes your soul up!!"

09:26 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Mitron is a heartfelt film, says Raj Singh Arora

Raj Singh Arora posted on Twitter, "Premiere of #Mitron went with no Expectation but to support my friend came out after watching a film so refreshing so heartfelt a film that made the entire hall Laugh out Loud & Clap so many times in the theatre.That Lead Girl @Kritika_Kamra I have Fallen in madly in Love with 😘"

09:06 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Planning to watch Manmarziyaan? Here are five reasons to catch the Abhishek film

08:50 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Love Sonia hits you hard, says Tisca Chopra

Tisca Chopra took to Twitter and wrote, "#LoveSonia hits you hard but leaves you with such hope! Way to go #TabrezNoorani .. solid performances 👏 @mrunal0801 @RichaChadha @BecauseImFreida @SaieTamhankar @BajpayeeManoj @AnupamPKher @_AdilHussain @RajkummarR"

08:36 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Rajeev Khandelwal on Mitron

"And it’s the day for #Mitron...please welcome the very talented and lovely @Kritika_Kamra on screens today along with the affable and mitron ka mitr @jackkybhagnani ...Go with your Mitron and family to have super fun in the theatres," Rajeev Khandelwal said via Twitter.

08:24 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Manmarziyaan is a cauldron of emotions and intertwined relationships, says Meghna Gulzar

Meghna Gulzar tweeted, "#Manmarziyaan is a cauldron of emotions and intertwined relationships. @vickykaushal09, @taapsee & @juniorbachchan gloriously paint the many hues of love, etched superbly by @KanikaDhillon. @anuragkashyap72 brings it home, like only he can!"

08:11 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
LoveSonia is a searing and devastating story, says Swara Bhasker

Swara Bhasker wrote on Twitter, #LoveSonia is a searing, devastating & ultimately redemptive story about one of the most shameful realities of our world #ChildTrafficking #femaletrafficking A courageous & important story told masterfully by #TabrezNoorani who worked on rescues &researched this film for 14yrs!"

08:01 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Mitron is a heartwarming film, says Daisy Shah

Daisy Shah shared on Twitter, "The relationship you have with yourself defines your other relationships in life. Mitron encompasses this thought. A laugh riot and a heartwarming film @jackkybhagnani @Kritika_Kamra @nitinrkakkar #Mitron #ReleasesTomorrow"

07:52 (IST) 14 Sep 2018
Manmarziyaan is a truly unusual and magical emotional ride, says Karan Johar

Karan Johar posted on Twitter, "The man woman dynamics of #Manmarziyan are beautifully chaotic ! The atmospherics combined with the @anuragkashyap72 madness makes this film a truly unusual and magical emotional ride! I was on an @ItsAmitTrivedi roller coaster and enjoyed every bit of it! Their is so much of loveliness in @KanikaDhillon’s writing!! She captures the emotional beats with ease and expertise! The performances are extraordinary! A superbly solid, silent and sensitive portrayal by @juniorbachchan !! So so proud of his work!!! He is so amazing ! 👍👍👍 @vickykaushal09 is all gusto and glory portraying a manic lover with genius abandon!!! He has some moments of brilliance in the film!! @tapseepannu holds the strings of her layered character like an absolute veteran! Bravo!!!!👍👍👍 #Manmarziyaan. Congratulations to Anand Rai Anurag Kashyap and EROS on #Manmarziyaan !! Here’s to a stupendous weekend ahead!"

Trade analyst Sumit Kadel said Manmarziyaan and Mitron had a slow start on Friday.