Follow Us:
Tuesday, February 25, 2020

Malang movie release: Highlights

Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about Malang, starring Aditya Roy Kapur, Disha Patani, Anil Kapoor and Kunal Kemmu among others.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi | Updated: February 8, 2020 8:37:59 am
Malang Malang released alongside Hacked and Shikara.

Aditya Roy Kapur and Disha Patani starrer Malang hit screens on Friday. The romantic action-thriller also features Anil Kapoor and Kunal Kemmu in significant parts. This is Mohit Suri’s 12th directorial. The last movie that he had helmed was 2017’s Half Girlfriend which starred Arjun Kapoor and Shraddha Kapoor.

Most of Malang’s shoot took place in the scenic locales of Goa. The film has been co-produced by Luv Ranjan, Ankur Garg, Bhushan Kumar and Krishan Kumar. The screenplay of the film has been penned by Aniruddha Guha while the music has been composed by Mithoon and Ankit Tiwari among others.

Earlier, while talking to indianexpress.com, Mohit Suri had explained the basic premise of the plot.

“Malang is a story which happens over one night in Goa during Christmas eve. It’s the festive weekend where you have a lot of youngsters celebrating. This is intercut with a past story for each character and how they all met five years ago. The issue was that I couldn’t put more of the plot in the trailer as the film has a twist every 15-20 minutes. All the characters are ‘malang’ in their own way, and they have a different perception of why they kill people and why they are killers,” the director said.

Live Blog

Read all the updates about Malang.

Highlights

    12:20 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    Our verdict

    Mohit Suri’s cinematic universe is routinely dark and twisted, and in his best work, his characters have been edgy and interesting. But Malang’s twists don’t really take you aback, and the identity of one of the perpetrators is more of an eye-roll than anything else.

    Also Read | Malang movie review: A tepid affair

    11:39 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    'Do watch this really cool and edgy film'

    Rajkummar Rao wrote on Twitter, "Loved the trailer and music of #Malang and now hearing some fab things about the film. Do watch this really cool and edgy film. @LuvFilms @TSeries @luv_ranjan @itsBhushanKumar @gargankur @AnilKapoor #AdityaRK @mohit11481 @DishPatani"

    11:04 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    Bhushan Kumar on Malang

    Malang co-producer Bhushan Kumar tweeted, "As #Malang is all set to hit cinemas today, I want to take this moment to thank our talented team for making this film so special. Hope you guys have a great theatrical experience while watching the film!"

    10:38 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    'Maza aa gaya'

    Casting director Mukesh Chhabra posted on Twitter, "@AnilKapoor #AdityaRoyKapoor @kunalkemmu and @DishPatani absolutely rock it in their own #Malang avatars. maza aa Gaya"

    10:17 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    Mohit Suri explains Malang

    Director Mohit Suri told indianexpress.com, "Malang is a story which happens over one night in Goa during Christmas eve. It’s the festive weekend where you have a lot of youngsters celebrating. This is intercut with a past story for each character and how they all met five years ago. The issue was that I couldn’t put more of the plot in the trailer as the film has a twist every 15-20 minutes. All the characters are ‘malang’ in their own way, and they have a different perception of why they kill people and why they are killers."

    10:03 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    Katrina Kaif at Malang screening

    (Photo: Varinder Chawla)

    09:48 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    Watch Malang song Chal Ghar Chalen

    09:32 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    'Everything about Malang is just impressive'

    Composer duo Sachet-Parampara shared on Twitter, "Watched @MalangFilm last night. Everything about #Malang is just impressive. Grap your tickets guys.. you can’t miss this one by @mohit11481"

    09:17 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    'Love the insane twists'

    Sophie Choudhury shared on Twitter, "Saw #Malang yest! Adi #adityaroykapoor u are so frikkin good in every scene & u look ur best! @DishPatani gorgeous and sooo lovely! Kunal, one of our finest actors @kunalkemmu & @AnilKapoor who has rocked it! Love the insane twists! Congrats @mohit11481 & Loads of luck team!!"

    09:03 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    Anil Kapoor, Kunal Kemmu, Aditya Roy Kapur and Disha Patani at Malang screening

    (Photo: Varinder Chawla)

    08:49 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    Mithoon explains the origin of Malang song "Chal Ghar Chalein"

    Music composer Mithoon spoke about Malang's song "Chal Ghar Chalein" and told indianexpress.com, "Mohit Suri believes in the sacrament of family and the institution of home. He feels no matter how much struggle life brings to us, what keeps us going is the love that we get from our family. That expectation and that hope of going back home and resting your head in the lap of your beloved is something that motivates you to work harder throughout the day. So, he wanted me to create a song which is an ode to this thought. That’s where we started this song."

    08:32 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    'After Malang, Aditya and Disha are going to be big stars'

    Malang actor Anil Kapoor told PTI, "After this film, Aditya and Disha are going to be major, special and big stars. I genuinely mean it. Whatever I’ve seen, every frame, I enjoyed it."

    08:19 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    Malang to earn Rs 6 crore on opening day?

    Trade analyst Girish Johar predicted Malang's opening figures as Rs 6 crore. He told indianexpress.com, "Malang’s trailer has received a good response, and it looks like a hippie Bollywood film which will attract the youth. Mohit Suri, who has been a successful filmmaker, is coming after a long time, and the film’s music is also getting a lot of attention. The buzz around the film is quite strong."

    07:59 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    On the fence about watching Malang? Check out the trailer of Aditya's film

    07:43 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    'Kunal Kemmu is a surprise package'

    Milap Zaveri also tweeted, "The supporting cast of #Malang is superb! @kunalkemmu is a surprise package and rocks his meaty role with aplomb! In just one scene @Shaadrandhawa warms the heart! He is superb! Along with his #Aashiqui2 buddy Adi he rocks! @AmrutaOfficial is terrific! @ElliAvrRam is fab!"

    07:22 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    'Aditya is a revelation'

    Milap Zaveri shared on Twitter, "#Malang is @mohit11481 at his classic best!!! In a way it completes his trilogy of #Murder2 #Ekvillain Intense, dark, thrilling, musical and twist pe twist! Aditya is a revelation! Fully reborn! @DishPatani is magical n vulnerable on screen! @AnilKapoor is the HIGHLIGHT."

    07:08 (IST)07 Feb 2020
    'Malang is a fab fab movie'

    Pulkit Samrat posted on Twitter, "#Malang is a fab fab movie! An entertainer with a soul.. Shot fabulously.. performed amazing and direction is wow!! Congratulations team! @mohit11481 @luv_ranjan @itsBhushanKumar @gargankur @DishPatani @AmrutaOfficial @AnilKapoor #AdityaRoyKapur @kunalkemmu @aseem_arora @vikzss"

    However, all eyes are set on Disha Patani, who will be seen in a grey role for the first time on the big screen.

    Stating that she took inspiration from Angelina Jolie to portray her character in Malang, the actor told PTI, "It was a very exciting role, and within five minutes into narration I said yes to it. Very rarely girls get the opportunity to play grey characters, and when I got it, I grabbed it. I love villains. I loved being a baddie. Angelina Jolie is my most favourite in this space. I look up to her. She is the best baddie in the world. She is the sexiest baddie in the world. I picked up a few things (from her films)."