Laila Majnu movie review and release: Highlights

Laila Majnu movie review and release highlights: Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about Laila Majnu, starring Tripti Dimri and Avinash Tiwari.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: September 7, 2018 5:41:59 pm
Laila Majnu Laila Majnu movie release highlights: Laila Majnu is presented by Imtiaz Ali.

The classic love story of Laila Majnu has been adapted to the big screen one more time. Directed by Sajid Ali, Laila Majnu stars Tripti Dimri and Avinash Tiwari. This is the first lead role for these two newcomers. Director Imtiaz Ali, who has made many successful love stories, has written this film.

Imtiaz Ali earlier told IANS, “If you look in the past, you will see that intense love stories have been successful with new cast, be it in films like Ek Duje Ke Liye, Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak, Maine Pyaar Kiya and Ashiqui series, the characters of that film are young and actors who are playing that part is also young so, it’s a plus.”

Laila Majnu is produced by Ekta Kapoor, Shobha Kapoor and Preety Ali.

Live Blog

Read all the highlights about Laila Majnu release, starring Tripti Dimri and Avinash Tiwari.

13:54 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Our verdict

Indianexpress.com's film critic Shalini Langer gave the film a one-star review. She wrote, "There is only one true love in this film, and that is what Imtiaz Ali surely has for brother Sajid. For, no one goes from a dud called Jab Harry Met Sejal to a bigger dud like Laila Majnu but for some true brotherly love. Unless it is the lack of ideas. Jab Harry Met Sejal married the titles of one of Hollywood’s most effervescent romances, and that of Imtiaz Ali’s best work. Laila Majnu goes back more than 2,000 years."

Read More | Laila Majnu movie review: Much ado about nothing

13:45 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Actor Vishal Malhotra congratulated Avinash Tiwari for Laila Majnu
13:28 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Avinash Tiwari talked about his character in Laila Majnu

Avinash Tiwari, who plays the lead character of Qais said, 'Narrating the character of Majnu made me liberated from the social trap, vanity and all the judgment that we have as people for others. That is when one can experience the true sense of freedom from mind. So as an actor, I did not think about my vanity when I was internalising my character,'

13:08 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Check out some stills from Laila Majnu

12:47 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Writer Imtiaz Ali shared his views on working with newcomers

Avinsh Tiwary and Tripti Dimri are making their debut as lead actors in Bollywood with Laila Majnu. talking on the same, writer Imtiaz Ali said, "If you look in the past, you will see that intense love stories have been successful with new cast, be it in films like Ek Duje Ke Liye, Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak, Maine Pyaar Kiya and Ashiqui series, the characters of that film are young and actors who are playing that part is also young so, it’s a plus. I also think established actors have certain kind of reputation onscreen, therefore, we wanted to cast new actors because audience should feel that they are watching the characters rather than any star in the film without any preconceived notion."

12:21 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Lead actors Avinash Tiwari and Tripti Dimri revealed how they bagged the film

Tripti Dimri, in an exclusive chat with indianexpress.com said, "I feel the role was written for me as even after I was rejected in the first audition, I bagged the role. The second audition was not planned. I went with someone else and they asked me to audition too as they wanted a girl with a Kashmiri look."

Avinash Tiwari also shared, "I was selected for the role back in 2015, which was followed by a long wait. After the shoot started in 2017, there was no looking back."

12:01 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Filmmaker Satrajit Sen lauded Sunidhi Chauhan

Filmmaker Satrajit Sen was all praise for Laila Majnu's song titled "Sarphiri". Appreciating singer Sunidhi Chauhan for lending her voice, he tweeted, "Oh nightingale @shreyaghoshal what have u done to this song #sarphiri from #LailaMajnu and how on earth did @niladri_kumar compose this gem? What intricacies! Really amazing @SuPriyoBabul as well 😊"

11:40 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Actor Vineet Singh wished the team of Laila Majnu

Gold actor Vineet Singh tweeted, "True love demands madness of another level. “Laila Majnu” is full of madness. My best wishes to my friend @avinashtiw85 for his promising debut as Majnu and the director #SajidAli and team. Excellent music."

11:18 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Lyricist Irshad Kamil urged the viewers to watch Laila Majnu
10:59 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Our verdict

Indianexpress.com's film critic Shubhra Gupta gave Laila Majnu a one-star review. She said, 'there is fire, brimstone, sputtering passion between the limpid lead duo, with some unexpected sparks of perkiness, and since this is based on that classic tale, some “madness”. Helped along by some strange twists and turns, in a bid to make this classic tale “contemporary”.

Read More | Laila Majnu movie review: Much ado about nothing

10:15 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
On the fence about watching Laila Majnu? Check out trailer of the Sajid Ali directorial

09:44 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Vikramaditya Motwane on Laila Majnu

“I loved the film. It's got a lot of soul. The actors are amazing. The score is fantasti. The songs are beautiful. Well done team," Vikramaditya Motwane said in a statement.

09:23 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Sunidhi Chauhan asked fans to watch Laila Majnu

#LailaMajnu releases today! Do catch it in the theatres near youud83dude0a #ImtiazAli #SajidAli @ektaravikapoor @Irshad_Kamil @niladri_kumar @joibarua @avinashtiw85 @tripti_dimri23— Sunidhi Chauhan (@SunidhiChauhan5) September 7, 2018

08:59 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Rajkumar Hirani on Laila Majnu

Rajkumar Hirani said, “Both the newcomers were fantastic and it didn’t feel like it is their debut performances. Romance runs in Imtiaz Ali’s family and we can feel that in Sajid’s way of directing a love saga like this one. I wish them all the best”

08:48 (IST) 07 Sep 2018
Laila Majnu is such a heartfelt retelling of the love story, said Anurag Kashyap

Anurag Kashyap posted on Twitter, "Laila Majnu is such a heartfelt retelling of the love story, so deeply rooted in its mileu.. Avinash Tiwary’s Majnu is so good, another addition to a list of good actors. Great music. Well done Sajid Ali. Yeh Romance kya genetic hai Ali khandan mein?#imtiazali"

Imtiaz Ali presents the modern, twisted version of Laila and Majnu in Laila Majnu. Known for his different take on the concept of love, Imtiaz wrote the story of this Tripti Dimri and Avinash Tiwari starrer some 10 years ago, unsure if he will ever make a movie like this.