Just Rs 999: 1-year pack + offers

Journalism of Courage

Laal Singh Chaddha movie release HIGHLIGHTS: Bollywood celebrities, fans give this Aamir Khan film a thumbs up

Aamir Khan starrer Laal Singh Chaddha Movie release, highlights: Directed by Advait Chandan and written by Atul Kulkarni, Laal Singh Chaddha stars Aamir Khan, Kareena Kapoor, Naga Chaitanya and Mona Singh.

Laal Singh Chaddha, Aamir Khan, Kareena Kapoor, 11 AugustAamir Khan starrer Laal Singh Chaddha released in theatres on August 11.

Aamir Khan’s Laal Singh Chaddha released in theatres on August 11. Directed by Advait Chandan, the film, which is an adaptation of the Hollywood classic Forrest Gump, also stars Kareena Kapoor and Naga Chaitanya. The trailer of the movie received mixed reactions, with people criticising Aamir’s Punjabi accent as well as the similarity to his expressions in PK, where he played an alien. Not just this, but the film also saw calls for a boycott on Twitter. During the promotions of the film, Aamir defended his character and requested the audience to watch the film first before arriving at any conclusion.

The actor said, “Woh trailer mein aadha dikhta hai na? The trailer is of 2 minutes, and our film is 2.30 hours long. So it would be better if you can judge these aspects after watching the film.” He added, “Agar mein theth Punjabi bolunga toh baki logon ko nahi samaj aayega…aapko samaj aa jayega. Aap film dekh lijiye… mujhe umeed hai ki aap disappointed nahi honge (If I spoke perfect Punjabi, others might not understand, even if you do. You watch the film. I’m sure you would not be disappointed).”

As Bollywood has had a rough patch for the past few months barring a few films, Aamir Khan had expressed his worry on Koffee With Karan, “We are excited that we have made a good film, lekin agar film logon ko pasand nahin aayi, bahut dil toot jaayega (If people don’t like it, we will be heartbroken).”

Live Blog

Follow all the updates about Laal Singh Chaddha.

20:00 (IST)11 Aug 2022
When Aamir spoke about being stressed for Laal Singh Chaddha

At his recent appearance on Koffee with Karan 7, Aamir Khan revealed that he is concerned about Laal Singh Chaddha’s performance at the box office. When Karan Johar asked him, “Are you stressed?” Aamir didn’t mince words, and said, “Of course I am stressed, kaise sawaal pooch raha hai yaar (What kind of questions are you asking?).”

He added that while director Advait Chandan has done a commendable job on Laal Singh Chaddha, this has exacerbates his nervousness further. He said, “We are excited that we have made a good film, lekin agar film logon ko pasand nahin aayi, bahut dil toot jaayega (If people don’t like it, we will be heartbroken).”

19:30 (IST)11 Aug 2022
Aamir Khan on similarities with Laal Singh Chaddha

Aamir Khan in an interview with Prajakta Koli spoke about similarities between him and the character. “Laal’s character is very innocent and honest. I am fairly honest also, not always but I am honest. By and large, I am honest and I feel like there is a lot of innocence in me because I believe I am an idealist," he said. The Bollywood star further said, “Ya actually there are similarities. I am very close to my mom. Laal is very close to his mother and the biggest influence on Laal is his mother and the biggest influence on me is Ammi. I grew up very close to her.”

19:01 (IST)11 Aug 2022
Ranveer Singh shares a sweet photo with Aamir Khan

After attending Laal Singh Chaddha's screening, Ranveer Singh posted a sweet photo with Aamir Khan.

18:31 (IST)11 Aug 2022
Akshay Kumar on Raksha Bandhan clashing with Laal Singh Chaddha

At a recent press conference, Akshay Kumar was asked about his film Raksha Bandhan clashing with Laal Singh Chaddha. He said, “I think it is good because it is good for our industry that both films work and work very well. Holidays are coming. There are 4 consecutive holidays in the week and I suppose no significant film is releasing next week. I wish both films do well because that is what our industry wants and wants forever”.

18:01 (IST)11 Aug 2022
"Thank you for the memories"

Kareena Kapoor Khan shot for Laal Singh Chaddha while being pregnant. She posted a picture on Instagram where her baby bump is quite visibile, as she chatted with Aamir Khan and director Advait Chandan on the set. Kareena wrote, "Aamir, Advait, Me and Jeh Baba…♥️ Thank you for the memories…Rupa and Lal Forever ♥️ Laal Singh Chaddha today…"

17:30 (IST)11 Aug 2022
Fans say Laal Singh Chaddha is 'better than original'

A fan reviewed Aamir Khan's Laal Singh Chaddha and said it's 'better than the original' film. Here's his tweet:

17:00 (IST)11 Aug 2022
Zoya Akhtar shares her take on Laal Singh Chaddha

Here's Zoya Akhtar's review of Laal Singh Chaddha.

16:20 (IST)11 Aug 2022
Alia Bhatt is all praises for Laal Singh Chaddha

Sharing a poster of the film, Alia Bhatt wrote on her Instagram story: "Such a beautiful film - Go watch Lal Singh Chaddha only in cinemas!!!!!  You don't want to miss it ❤️"

More from Entertainment
15:57 (IST)11 Aug 2022
"The film will make you call in love with his goodness": Irfan Pathan

Indian cricketer Irfan Pathan seems quite impressed with Laal Singh Chaddha. He tweeted about the film:

14:11 (IST)11 Aug 2022
'A masterpiece'

Producer Atul Kasbekar wrote, "#ForrestGump is in my list of 10 fav movies of all time U have to be very brave, a dreamer n a little crazy to attempt an adaptation We are very fortunate that #AamirKhan is an intoxicating combination of all 3 and that #LaalSinghChaddha has hit the screens It’s a masterpiece..."

13:37 (IST)11 Aug 2022
'Treat of beautiful performances'

Sushmita Sen wrote, "What a treat of beautiful performances!!  Congratulations to the entire team #LaalSinghChaddha loved watching the film!!" 

13:15 (IST)11 Aug 2022
Laal Singh Chaddha Movie Review

Read the Indian Express review of Laal Singh Chaddha here

11:04 (IST)11 Aug 2022
Suniel Shetty slams boycott trends around Aamir Khan's Raksha Bandhan

Suniel Shetty called the boycott trends ‘unfair’ and said that the actors have worked hard on the films, and that their ‘intentions are good’. Read full story here

10:51 (IST)11 Aug 2022
'You get taken on a wonderful journey'

Jaaved Jaaferi wrote, "#LaalSinghChadda.What a Beautiful film. You get sucked in and taken on a wonderful journey.This HAS to be watched in a theatre to experience it. #AamirKhan best performance to date. #KareenaKapoor #MonaSingh top notch.Beautifully directed by #AdvaitChandan.Must watch!"

09:25 (IST)11 Aug 2022
'A breath of fresh air'

Producer Naved Jafri wrote, "#LaalSinghChaddha is a positive message of humanity & a breath of fresh air.what a fantastic film.I laughed & cried. #AmirKhan s best performance till date he killed it as laal.superbly adapted to India from #ForrestGump , Congratulations & all the best to the whole team."

09:19 (IST)11 Aug 2022
'Laal Singh Chaddha is all kinds of wonderful'

Screenwriter Aniruddha Guha wrote, "#LaalSinghChaddha is all sorts of wonderful! Watched a proper Hindi motion picchar after a long time. Advait Chandan’s craft is commendable, and Atul Kulkarni’s adaptation of #ForrestGump hits all the right notes. Lump in throat, many smiles guaranteed. It’s all heart."

23:47 (IST)10 Aug 2022
Photos: Inside Laal Singh Chaddha screening

Deepika Padukone, Saif Ali Khan, Ranveer Singh, Vijay Verma, Ishaan Khatter and Ira Khan among others graced the special screening of Aamir Khan and Kareena Kapoor's Laal Singh Chaddha in Mumbai.

22:02 (IST)10 Aug 2022
Aamir Khan visits Golden Temple

Aamir Khan visited the Golden Temple in Amritsar on Wednesday morning and paid obeisance ahead of the worldwide release of his upcoming film Lal Singh Chadda on August 11.

21:26 (IST)10 Aug 2022
A millennial watches Forrest Gump

Before I watched Forrest Gump, a friend told me, “It’s the best film. It will leave you in tears. It is so emotional. How come you have missed such a gem?” So, I went into it assuming I’m in for a joyful experience. But the film didn’t leave the impact I thought it would. READ MORE HERE.

20:51 (IST)10 Aug 2022
Poll: Movies this weekend

Laal Singh Chaddha clashed with Akshay Kumar's Raksha Bandhan on August 11. However, Aamir's film seems to have made a better start, going by the advance bookings. Big cinema chains such as PVR, INOX and Cinepolis have together sold over 95k tickets which shows that the film has done a business of over Rs 11.5 crore. On the other hand, Raksha Bandhan is trailing behind and has sold approximately 50k tickets until now collecting around Rs 4.5 cr before its release on Thursday.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
First published on: 10-08-2022 at 17:11 IST
Tags:
Home
ePaper
Next Story
close
X