scorecardresearch
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2022

Karwaan movie review and release Highlights

Karwaan movie review and release highlights: Here's what Bollywood stars said about Karwaan, starring Irrfan Khan, Dulquer Salmaan and Mithila Palkar.

By: Express Web Desk
New Delhi | Updated: August 3, 2018 5:08:20 pm
Karwaan review Karwaan movie review: Karwaan stars Irrfan Khan, Dulquer Salmaan and Mithila Palkar.

This week’s big Bollywood release is Irrfan Khan, Dulquer Salmaan and Mithila Palkar starrer Karwaan. Directed by Akarsh Khurana, the film revolves around the lives of three “oddballs” who take an unconventional road trip together.. Karwaan also stars Kriti Kharbanda and Amala Akkineni.

Also Read | Karwaan movie review: Too many bumps

Talking to indianexpress.com about Karwaan, Dulquer said, “Irrfan and Mithila were already on board when I was approached for the film. I quite instinctively liked the idea. I knew quite soon that I want to do it. I liked the fact that Irrfan sir was already a part of the film and I will be in a film that a lot of people will watch.”

Live Blog

Karwaan movie review and release highlights: Follow all the latest updates about Irrfan Khan, Dulquer Salmaan and Mithila Palkar starrer Karwaan.

17:06 (IST)03 Aug 2018
Our verdict

Karwaan is aiming for an easy, offhand charm, and we get that only in bits and pieces, especially when Irrfan hits his stride on occasion, or when Dulquer proves just how good he can be by not doing much at all.

Read More | Karwaan movie review: Watch it for Irrfan Khan and Dulquer Salmaan

16:46 (IST)03 Aug 2018
Mithila Palkar on working with Irrfan Khan and Dulquer Salmaan in Karwaan

Mithila Palkar on working with Irrfan Khan and Dulquer Salmaan, “It took me a while for me to understand that I was acting with them. I had to pinch and remind myself that I am their co-actor. Initially, it was intimidating. There was a little bit of a pressure but they did not make me feel like that. The minute we were on the sets it all went away. I was in awe of them."

Read More | Karwaan actor Mithila Palkar on co-star Irrfan Khan: He is a fighter

16:21 (IST)03 Aug 2018
Director Akarsh Khurana on Irrfan Khan

Karwaan director Akarsh Khurana on working with Irrfan Khan, "With Irrfan, the team was really intimidated when he came on the sets, including me. Its almost like you got to pinch yourself to believe that now the lines that you wrote have been taken up by this man and that too so well. Soon, we realised that Irrfan is a very accessible man and all of it was just built up in our head. It is so easy to communicate with him and he has brought so much to the table."

Read More | Dulquer Salmaan: With Irrfan Khan in Karwaan, I will get a chance to be seen by more people

15:56 (IST)03 Aug 2018
Karwaan actor Dulquer Salmaan on his Hindi film debut

Dulquer Salmaan shared, "I’m not trying to ‘cross over’ into Hindi films. I felt that I fit the role and that it is my kind of film. If you’re getting interesting offers, then why should you restrict yourself."

Read More | Karwaan actor Dulquer Salmaan: I don’t think anything should limit me

15:13 (IST)03 Aug 2018
Watch: Dulquer Salmaan and Mithila Palkar reminisce about Karwaan journey

13:13 (IST)03 Aug 2018
Only Irrfan could’ve pulled off Shauqat, says Dulquer Salmaan

“Irrfan’s character is a simple man who we would come across in our lives at some point, but as the plot unravels, he will reveal layers of Shauqat that will touch our hearts! Only Irrfan Sir could’ve pulled off this character. Mithila and I missed Irrfan Sir a lot during the promotions of the film. Unlike Shauqat, Avinash is quite uptight and serious in life. It was hard to keep a straight face whenever Irrfan Sir would break into an impromptu joke during the shoot. His spontaneous wit and script improvisations has really brought life into the film,” Karwaan actor Dulquer Salmaan said in a statement.

12:34 (IST)03 Aug 2018
Sonnalli Seygall on Karwaan

Sonnalli Seygall tweeted, "If one thing u need to do this weekend to feel happy then plss watch #Karwaan !! Such a funny, beautiful film. Director jee @MrAkvarious I loved it!! Gonna watch it again this wkend. N if that's not reason enough ofcourse watch it for @irrfank. And @dulQuer n @mipalkar such easy performances.. loved watching u guys ! It's a good one! #Karwaan."

11:54 (IST)03 Aug 2018
Our verdict

Karwaan takes much too long to get to the point where the characters feel like they are together. Randomness of event is part and parcel of this kind of film, but the progression needs to feel inevitable. The execution is choppy and takes time to settle, and some of the road bumps the film comes up with, feel contrived.

Also Read | Karwaan movie review: Too many bumps

More from Entertainment
IFFI jury chief slams ‘The Kashmir Files’: ‘Propaganda, vulgar… sho...
Warner Bros didn’t want Henry Cavill to return as Superman: Dwayne Johnson
Ajay Devgn, Varun Dhawan congratulate each other as Drishyam 2, Bhediya p...
Ira Khan shares a happy moment with step brother Azad Rao Khan at engagem...
IFFI 2022 winners list: I Have Electric Dreams wins big
10:59 (IST)03 Aug 2018
Karwaan is the most honest film of the year, says Sumeet Vyas

Sumeet Vyas posted on Twitter: "#Karwaan is the most honest film of the year. The music is spectacular and finally a film where the visual are happily married to the soundscape. @MrAkvarious has taken us all on his kinda RoadTrip and touched me inappropriately. @dulQuer is super endearing @irrfank is legendary"

15:40 (IST)02 Aug 2018
Planning to watch Karwaan? Here are five reasons to catch the Irrfan Khan movie

14:42 (IST)02 Aug 2018
Karwaan is a film that is all heart, says Shikha Talsania

Veere Di Wedding actor Shikha Talsania posted on Twitter: "#karwaan a film that is all heart! Thank you and congratulations dilbars @MrAkvarious & @hussainthelal and @BhatindaHouse. How wonderful are you @dulQuer ! Thank you for such an endearing performance. @mipalkar, it’s so lovely to see you grow and shine Mithoo"

14:00 (IST)02 Aug 2018
Akarsh Khurana on Karwaan

In an exclusive conversation with indianexpress.com, Karwaan director Akarsh Khurana said, "I think road trip films are a sub-genre in itself. But the difference really comes on the kind of skin you put on it. In Karwaan, the reason that these guys are on the trip is because a wrong dead body gets delivered to somebody. It becomes a weird reason to get people thrown into a van together so that kind of colours what happens on the road trip. So this spin on an existing world makes it interesting."

13:00 (IST)02 Aug 2018
Karwaan is a true journey film, says Maanvi Gagroo

Maanvi Gagroo wrote on Twitter, "#Karwaan is a true journey film. About finding yourself through unexpected interactions. @irrfank is AWESOME! Envy that comic timing ❤ @dulQuer is just 😍😍 and @mipalkar is 👌 as usual. @MrAkvarious @RSVPMovies what a lovely film you've made"

12:19 (IST)02 Aug 2018
Dulquer Salmaan on Karwaan release

Dulquer Salmaan tweeted, "#karwaan releases in the GCC & Middle East today !!! Do catch the film and let me know your feedback ! Love always !!"

11:38 (IST)02 Aug 2018
Inside Karwaan screening

11:19 (IST)02 Aug 2018
Have you listened to Karwaan song Heartquake yet?

10:54 (IST)02 Aug 2018
Mantra on Karwaan

"Yaar kaun hai yeh aadmi @hussainthelal kya qatal machaya isne #Karwaan mein. dialouges of this film takes it to heights of rib tickle. Maza aaya you lovely man @MrAkvarious This film will make its mark and deservingly so," Mantra said via Twitter.

10:37 (IST)02 Aug 2018
Karwaan is funny, poignant & refreshing, says Shriya Pilgaonkar

Shriya Pilgaonkar shared on Twitter, "#Karwaan is the kind of film I love to watch. Funny, Poignant & refreshing. I feel part of this karwaan in my own little way.@MrAkvarious Such a special film you’ve made ! Your film is a winner . So happy for you. Congrats to the cast and crew! @RonnieScrewvala @RSVPMovies. All the performances in #Karwaan are so effortless. @irrfank Sir is class apart & the soul of the film. So much to learn from him every single time @dulQuer DQ! So nuanced, and so charming ! Acing Hindi &how. Welcome to B town @mipalkar lovely as always Mithu."

10:10 (IST)02 Aug 2018
Dulquer Salmaan is so good, says The Lunchbox director Ritesh Batra
09:51 (IST)02 Aug 2018
Kubbra Sait heaps praise on Karwaan

Sacred Games actor Kubbra Sait wrote on Twitter: "Just walked out feeling like a humongous ball of erupting emotions after watching #Karwan How refreshing you are @dulQuer and how bright you are my darling @mipalkar and words fall short for every moment that @irrfank doesn’t even utter a word. He doesn’t need to. Go watch! ❤️"

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
First published on: 02-08-2018 at 08:55:44 am
Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments
close