Thursday, Dec 01, 2022

IIFA Awards 2019: Highlights

Hosted by Ayushmann Khurrana, IIFA Awards 2019 featured sensational performances by Salman Kham, Ranveer Singh, Sara Ali Khan, Katrina Kaif and Vicky Kaushal among others.

Written by Priyanka Sharma
Mumbai | Updated: September 19, 2019 3:15:45 pm
iifa IIFA Awards 2019 was held in Mumbai.

The 20th edition of International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards was held in Mumbai’s Dome, NSCI, SVP Stadium on Wednesday.

The big winners of the night were Raazi (Best Film), Ranveer Singh (Best Actor), Alia Bhatt (Best Actress), Sriram Raghavan (Best Director), Aditi Rao Hydari (Best Supporting Actress), Vicky Kaushal (Best Supporting Actor), Sara Ali Khan (Best Debutant – Female) and Ishaan Khatter (Best Debutant – Male) among others.

Deepika Padukone, Ranbir Kapoor, Rajkumar Hirani and Saroj Khan were honoured with special awards. The evening also saw the Outstanding Achievement in Cinema award being bestowed upon veteran actor Jagdeep.

PHOTOS: Sara Ali Khan, Vicky Kaushal and others attend IIFA Awards 2019

Hosted by Ayushmann Khurrana, IIFA Awards 2019 featured sensational performances by Salman Kham, Ranveer Singh, Sara Ali Khan, Katrina Kaif and Vicky Kaushal among others.

Live Blog

Read all the updates about IIFA Awards 2019.

15:15 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Here's a sneak peek into what all took place inside IIFA Awards 2019

13:47 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Check out who won what at IIFA Awards 2019

02:47 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Salman brings down the curtain

Salman Khan is on stage. The moment "Swag Se Karenge Sabka Swagat" played, the audience went berserk. Salman also danced to "Oh Oh Jane Jaana" and "Garam Chai Ki Pyaali Ho".

02:32 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Best Film award

The Best Film award goes to Meghna Gulzar directorial Raazi. Actor Katrina Kaif and choreographer presented the award.

02:24 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Best Actress award

The Best Actor (Female) award goes to Alia Bhatt for Raazi. Vicky Kaushal presents her the award.

02:12 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Best Actor (Male) award

The Best Actor (Male) award goes to Ranveer Singh for Padmaavat. 83 director Kabir Khan presents him the award.

02:09 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Best Director award

The Best Director award goes to Sriram Raghavan for Andhadhun. Deepika Padukone presents him the award.

01:43 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Best Supporting Actor (female) award

The Best Supporting Actor (female) award goes to Aditi Rao Hydari for Padmaavat. This is a surprise actually, considering the contenders included Neena Gupta and Surekha Sikhri for Badhaai Ho.

More from Entertainment
Allu Arjun promotes Pushpa in Russia, talks about protecting the environm...
Vijay Deverakonda on being questioned by ED over Liger funding: ‘Po...
Shankar Mahadevan says ‘it’s a strange time’ in the mus...
Navya Nanda enjoys street food in Bhopal, mom Shweta Nanda reacts
Emily in Paris Season 3 trailer: Lily Collins tries to balance work and r...
01:34 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Best Supporting actor (male) award

The Best Supporting actor (male) award goes to Vicky Kaushal for Sanju. His Raazi co-star Alia Bhatt presented him the award.

01:33 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Award for Deepika Padukone

The award for Best Actor (female) in the last 20 years goes to Deepika Padukone.

01:26 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Award for Ranbir Kapoor

The award for Best Actor in the last 20 years goes to Ranbir Kapoor for his work in Barfi. The award presented by Rekha is accepted by Barfi director Anurag Basu on Ranbir's behalf.

01:22 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Best debutant (female) award

The Best debutant (female) award goes to Sara Ali Khan for Kedarnath.

01:17 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Best debutant (male) award

The Best debutant (male) award goes to Ishaan Khatter for Dhadak and Beyond the Clouds. He received the award from brother Shahid Kapoor. Ayushmann, Aparshakti, Shahid and Ishaan also dance to Zingaat.

01:14 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Madhuri Dixit honours Saroj Khan

Madhuri Dixit pays tribute to veteran choreographer Saroj Khan by performing on tracks like "Ek Do Teen", "Chane Ke Khet Mein", "Mera Pita Ghar Aaya" and "Choli Ke Peeche Kya Hai". After Madhuri's act, Ayushmann and Aparshakti invited Saroj ji on stage and the Kalank actor surprised her with an award for her contribution to Hindi cinema.

01:11 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Deepika is finally here!

Deepika Padukone arrives fashionably late at IIFA Awards 2019.

01:05 (IST)19 Sep 2019
PHOTOS: IIFA Awards 2019 performances
00:55 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Arijit Singh and Jonita Gandhi perform at IIFA Awards 2019

When Pritam received the Best Music Direction award for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil, he called Arijit Singh and Jonita Gandhi on the stage. While Arijit captivated the audience with a rendition of Ae Dil Hai Mushkil title track, Jonita sang "Break Up Song".

00:33 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Award for Kaho Na Pyaar Hai

The Best Film in the last 20 years has gone to Kaho Na Pyaar Hai.

00:32 (IST)19 Sep 2019
Award for #MeToo accused Rajkumar Hirani

The next award is for Best Direction in the last 20 years. It has gone to Rajkumar Hirani. The award was presented by Salman Khan.

00:31 (IST)19 Sep 2019
IIFA introduces five special awards

On the completion of 20 years, IIFA introduces five special awards. The first award is for music direction, which went to Pritam for his outstanding performance in the last 20 years.

Both Katrina Kaif and Madhuri Dixit, who will be performing this year, had earlier shared their sentiments about IIFA.

Katrina Kaif said, "IIFA is a great opportunity for the entire film fraternity to connect with their fans on both national and international platforms. I am personally very thrilled to perform at NEXA IIFA Awards 2019 and I look forward to having a great time at the 20th homecoming celebration of Indian Cinema, in Mumbai.”

Madhuri Dixit shared, "IIFA truly is an inspiring platform, a global phenomenon with a massive fan following year after year that celebrates the brilliance of Indian cinema worldwide. I am honored to be a part of 20th homecoming celebrations and I wish IIFA all the success as we mark the homecoming edition of the grandiose global event here in Mumbai.”

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
First published on: 18-09-2019 at 08:17:47 pm
Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments