Gold movie review and release highlights: Celebs laud Akshay Kumar’s film

Gold movie review and release highlights: Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about Gold, starring Akshay Kumar, Mouni Roy and Amit Sadh among others.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: August 15, 2018 4:01:43 pm
Gold movie Gold movie review and release highlights: Gold will clash with Satyameva Jayate at the box office.

Starring Akshay Kumar in the lead role, Gold is the story of the Indian field hockey team winning India’s first Olympic gold medal as an independent nation. The film is inspired by the real story of India winning against Great Britain in London at the 1948 Olympics. Directed by Reema Kagti, the film brings together an ensemble cast of Mouni Roy, Kunal Kapoor, Amit Sadh and Sunny Kaushal. This film marks the Bollywood debut for television actor Mouni Roy.

In the film, Akshay Kumar plays Tapan Das, who brings together a match-winning team. Gold is releasing on Independence Day and the release date is just perfect for the film.

Also Read | Gold box office collection prediction: Akshay Kumar film to earn Rs 20 crore on Day 1

This is Akshay Kumar’s second release in 2018 followed by PadMan.

Live Blog

Gold movie release highlights: Follow all the latest update Gold, starring Akshay Kumar, Kunal Kapoor, Mouni Roy, Amit Sadh, Vineet Kumar Singh and Sunny Kaushal.

15:56 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Our verdict

What makes the film worth a watch, despite these problems, are the flashes of well-done humour, the skirmishes between the players, and the rousing finale. When the ‘tiranga’ went up, I had tears in my eyes, and I cheered, as did everyone else in the theatre.

Read More | Gold movie review: This Akshay Kumar starrer is a rousing, emotion-laden drama

15:33 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Gold actor Kunal Kapoor talks about his character

Kunal Kapoor said, "Reema (Kagti) called me, and when I heard the script, I instantly fell in love with it. I play Samrat, whose only purpose in life is to win a Gold for India as a free nation. He has already been the captain when the team played as a British colony. He is passionate and single-minded towards his dream. And he knows he can’t play anymore and so turns coach for the team."

Read More | Gold actor Kunal Kapoor: For me, patriotism means contributing to the betterment of society and nation

15:02 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Vicky Kaushal on Gold

14:28 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Ekta Kapoor on Gold

Ekta Kapoor tweeted her best wishes for Mouni Roy, 'Happy Independence Day n happy GOLD DAY! My loveliest today makes her foray into films! Today is also ironically NAAG PANCHAMI ! All I’ll say is go get d MANI n May make lots of MANI ( pun intentended)'

13:57 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Our verdict

Reema Kagti is skilled enough to give us a film with all its moving parts in fine working order, even if it is bereft of nuance. Akshay Kumar plays the wholly fictional Tapan Das, the man who has been closely involved with Indian hockey for years.

Read More | Gold movie review: The Akshay Kumar starrer is a rousing, emotion-laden drama

13:32 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Here's looking back at Akshay Kumar's patriotic films

Akshay Kumar has a finger on the pulse of the box office right now. Before anyone else, he understood the inclination of the audience towards patriotic cinema and in no time became the mascot of the genre. His association with patriotic films brought him the title of ‘new age Manoj Kumar’. What made Akshay stand apart from his contemporaries was the absence of jingoism in his new age patriotic movies like Holiday: A Soldier Is Never Off Duty, Baby and Airlift. His movies focused on dealing with the enemies present within the system and are a hindrance to the growth of the nation.

Read More | Before Gold, a look back at Akshay Kumar films which stoked patriotic fervour

13:17 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Mouni Roy at the screening of Gold

Picture credit: Varinder Chawla

12:55 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Dia Mirza on Gold

Dia Mirza tweeted, "All my love and good wishes to #TeamGold! I can’t wait to watch! have been hearing such good things👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼 #GoldInCinemas @ritesh_sid @FarOutAkhtar @kagtireema @akshaykumar @Roymouni @TheAmitSadh @kapoorkkunal @sunnykaushal89"

12:38 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Is Akshay Kumar's character in Gold based on this sports icon?

Independent India’s first gold medal came from a field hockey team where the Indian team defeated Great Britain in the finals. Tapan Das, played by Akshay Kumar, seems roughly inspired by the man who is still regarded as the man who started the Olympic movement in India, Moin-ul-Haq.

Read More | Is Akshay Kumar’s character in Gold based on this sports icon?

12:10 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Here's why you should watch Gold

With Akshay Kumar in the lead role, this sports drama based on real events is out in the theaters today. Here are all the reasons as to why you should catch it today.

1. Akshay Kumar

Akshay Kumar has built a reputation of being the modern day Manoj Kumar. His recent choice of films has been in sync with patriotism and promoting social causes. With films like Padman and Toilet Ek Prem Katha, he worked towards a hygiene conscious society. With Airlift, he took an unfamiliar story to the masses, and with Gold, he’s attempting to do something similar.

2. Based on true events

Films inspired by historical events sometimes give us a glimpse of the past and with Gold, we can expect the same. Gold is based on the events leading up to India’s first Olympic gold medal as a free country. The true events of the time must be different but the makers have tried to present the essence of the era with this film.

3. In spirit with Independence Day

Gold releases on August 15 and in many ways, this is the perfect time for its release. The film talks about India achieving a milestone as a free nation and what better occasion to celebrate it than India’s 71st Independence Day.

Read More | Gold: Here are five reasons to watch the Akshay Kumar film

11:49 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Gold actor Vineet Kumar Singh talks about his character

Vineet Kumar Singh said, "I play Imtiaz Shah, who has a very distinctive personality in the film. To be honest, the script is the real hero of Gold. It is such a strong and well-researched story. I would have happily let go of five projects for this. The film depicts the journey of Imtiaz and the team from 1936 to 1948. In the 12 years, a lot had changed – from the World War to India getting independent. These incidents become a strong reason behind each character’s personality. And it would be really interesting for the audience to experience it. Also, I have always wanted to work with Reema Kagti. So, it was an added bonus."

Read More | Gold actor Vineet Kumar Singh: My father showed me the door when I told him I wanted to be in Bollywood

11:34 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Here's what the audience is saying about Gold

Indianexpress.com's Anvita Singh said, "Akshay Kumar starrer Gold is a generic Bollywood sports drama that shines in a few moments, thanks to its able supporting cast and exquisite cinematography by Álvaro Gutiérrez, who is also responsible for Zoya Akhtar's Zindagi Milegi Na Dobara's lovely camera work. Amit Sadh and Sunny Kaushal charm as passionate and hot-headed hockey players, but apart from that, the movie doesn't have anything new to offer."

11:18 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Tusshar Kapoor on Gold

Tusshar Kapoor tweeted, "All the best @akshaykumar ji @excelmovies & the entire team of #GoldMovie⁠ ⁠for many record goals in the coming days! Great vibes already in! Cheers"

11:03 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Diana Penty on Gold

Diana Penty tweeted, "India has tons of golden stories waiting to be shared. Kudos to @akshaykumar @FarOutAkhtar @ritesh_sid @kagtireema @Roymouni @kapoorkkunal @TheAmitSadh @ItsVineetSingh @sunnykaushal89 for telling us such an amazing one!! #Gold 🙌"

10:47 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Television actor Arjun Bijlani on Gold

Arjun Bijlani tweeted, "All the best @Roymouni and @akshaykumar sir for #GoldMovie .wishing u all the success. This is jus the beginning and I’m sure there is no looking back now."

10:30 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Gold actor Amit Sadh talks about his character

10:20 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Actor Sunny Kaushal makes his big screen debut with Gold

Sunny Kaushal said, "Everyone keeps talking about pressure and competition. But I consider it a blessing to have him as a brother. I learn so much from him. His journey and hard work inspires me to break boundaries. And it goes without saying that there is no scope of sibling rivalry between us. "Read More | Gold actor Sunny Kaushal: Being Vicky Kaushal’s brother is not pressure but a blessing

10:05 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Director Alankrita Shrivastava on Gold

Lipstick Under My Burkha director Alankrita Shrivastava tweeted, "And #Gold is such an engaging film! I loved its layered insight into team dynamics, and what makes a player great. The film is thrilling, emotional and fun❤ And @sunnykaushal89 delivers a breakout performance! Congratulations @kagtireema @ritesh_sid @FarOutAkhtar #GoForGold"

09:56 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Mouni Roy makes her big screen debut with Gold

Mouni Roy said, "It’s an important, relevant film. You won’t be disappointed. You will understand and know and get to hear a story, a journey of a man uniting and forming an entire team at a time when our country was all over the place, bringing them together and actually going to Great Britain and winning the gold for our nation."

Read More | Mouni Roy: Gold is an important, relevant film

09:45 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Gold box office collection prediction

Trade analyst Girish Johar said, "The big holiday of Independence Day will help Gold rake in moolah on day one. Releasing in over 2700 screens, the movie is expected to earn Rs 20 crore on Wednesday. The Akshay Kumar factor and the patriotic feel that is promoted well through the songs and trailer of the film will attract movie buffs to theatres"

Read More | Gold box office collection prediction: Akshay Kumar film to earn Rs 20 crore on Day 1

09:29 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Action director Sham Kaushal on Gold

Sham Kaushal's son Sunny Kaushal is making his debut with Gold. He tweeted, "#Gold is simply outstanding film & getting rave reviews everywhere. It made me laugh, clap & cry. Congratulations to the whole team @kagtireema @ritesh_sid @akshaykumar @Roymouni @kapoorkkunal @TheAmitSadh @ItsVineetSingh @SunnyK0 @nikifyinglife May God bless the film. 🙏🏻🙏🏻"

09:18 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Akshay Kumar on playing Tapan Das in Gold

In an exclusive interview with indianexpress.com, Akshay Kumar said, “It was not much of a tough task or anything because of the kind of characterisation she (Reema Kagti) had already created it. Plus learning the Bengali dialect was also an easy thing because I’ve worked in Kolkata for 2-3 years, and then she had given me a coach too. So, things went very smoothly, not much of a problem.”

Also Read | Akshay Kumar on playing Tapan Das in Gold: It wasn’t a tough task

09:08 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Farhan Akhtar wishes Team Satyameva Jayate

Farhan Akhtar tweeted, "Best wishes to my friends @nikkhiladvani @monishaadvani @madhubhojwani @zmilap @TheJohnAbraham @BajpayeeManoj and team #SatyamevaJayate for the release of their film today."

08:45 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Gautam Gambhir on Gold

"@akshaykumar bags a ‘gold’ with #Gold the movie. What a show Mr Khiladi!!! You doing justice to history bro. Absolutely loved the movie #IndiaTurnsGold #GoldInDelhi," Gautam Gambhir said via Twitter.

08:26 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
On the fence about watching Gold? Check out the trailer of Akshay Kumar's film

08:09 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Virender Sehwag on Gold

Virender Sehwag shared on Twitter, "Thank you @akshaykumar for the special screening. I am totally #SoldForGold. Wonderful performances and a really inspiring movie. May it do well and inspire many."

07:58 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
My feeling of patriotism just got multiplied by infinity, says Sonal Chauhan

Sonal Chauhan wrote on Twitter, "My feeling of patriotism just got multiplied by infinity afr Watching #gold. Great Performances by @akshaykumar @TheAmitSadh @kapoorkkunal @Roymouni n the entire cast n some phenomenal moments tht would make u want 2stand n clap. Yet another great film by @kagtireema @ExcelFilms"

07:53 (IST) 15 Aug 2018
Stunning film in every department, says Vicky Kaushal

Vicky Kaushal posted on Twitter, 'I laughed, I hooted, I clapped, I cried. Stunning film in every department. Many congratulations to the entire team of #Gold for such an amazing film. @kagtireema @akshaykumar @ritesh_sid @FarOutAkhtar @TheAmitSadh @ItsVineetSingh @kapoorkkunal @sunnykaushal89 घर लाए आप Gold!'

Gold revolves around a man who dreams of winning free India's first gold medal and his struggles to form a team to make his dreams true. India won its first gold medal as an independent nation at the Olympics on August 12, 1948.