scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Saturday, August 13, 2022
Live now

Dream Girl movie review and release LIVE UPDATES: Ayushmann’s movie opens to good reviews

Dream Girl movie review and release live updates: Here's what celebrities, critics and fans are saying about Dream Girl, starring Ayushmann Khurrana, Nushrat Bharucha, Annu Kapoor, Manjot Singh and Vijay Raaz among others.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: September 13, 2019 1:48:48 pm
Dream Girl Dream Girl movie review: The Ayushmann Khurrana film is a long-drawn comedy of errors.

Ayushmann Khurrana and Nushrat Bharucha starrer Dream Girl has hit the screens. Directed by Raaj Shaandilyaa, the film also stars Annu Kapoor, Manjot Singh and Vijay Raaz among others.

The film’s trailer suggests that this is a comedy where Lokesh (Khurrana), who dresses up as a woman for stage plays, gets a job because of his female voice which leads to a comedy of errors. The film’s music videos have garnered a lot of attention and with a star like Ayushmann in the lead role, it will certainly draw in viewers during the weekend.

Trade analyst Girish Johar earlier told indianexpress.com that the film could earn Rs 8-10 crore on its first day. He said, “I am expecting a fantastic start for the film despite it being a non-holiday release. It is expected to earn Rs 8-10 crore on day one which is a very good number.”

Johar added, “The trailer of Dream Girl has generated a lot of curiosity and the audience is excited about the film. Its songs also have a massy and desi feel to them and are definitely being appreciated. Ayushmann is at an all-time high in terms of his choice of films. Even this one has a lot of quirks.”

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about Ayushmann Khurrana starrer Dream Girl.

13:48 (IST)13 Sep 2019
Our verdict

You stay watching Dream Girl for Ayushmann Khurrana. He plays Karam/Pooja with grace and conviction, and makes this thing sing.

Also Read | Dream Girl movie review: Ayushmann Khurrana saves the day

13:02 (IST)13 Sep 2019
'You truly are on a dream run, Ayushamann'

Nila Madhab Panda wrote on Twitter, "You truly are on a dream run @ayushmannk, hearty congratulations to you @NushratBharucha and the entire team behind #DreamGirl keep dreaming , keep growing"

12:21 (IST)13 Sep 2019
'It’s a fun, breezy comedy'

"I watched #DreamGirl last night - it’s a fun, breezy comedy with an exceptionally good performance from @ayushmannk. He is easily one of the most versatile men in Bollywood right now. To do an #AndhaDhun, #BadhaaiHo, #Article15 and now this, in the space of a year is incredible," journalist Haroon Rashid said via Twitter.

11:58 (IST)13 Sep 2019
On the fence about watching Dream Girl? Watch the film's trailer

11:21 (IST)13 Sep 2019
Dream Girl: Quick take

Indianexpress.com's Mimansa says, "If there's something you've not seen @ayushmannk doing, watch #DreamGirl. So funny, crazy dialogues. Great casting. Who won't fall in love with Pooja? There's a message too! A family entertainer. My cheeks are still hurting! @NushratBharucha @ektaravikapoor @balajimotionpic"

11:03 (IST)13 Sep 2019
'Truly mesmerized by Ayushamann's movie selection'

A user @siddharthb11493 tweeted, "Truly mesmerized by @ayushmannk movie selection. We seldom find such rare movies where you walk out of the exit gate with a smile on your face. One word, incredible! #DreamGirl"

10:43 (IST)13 Sep 2019
'This hilarious film will keep you in splits throughout'

Mukesh Chhabra posted on Twitter, "#DreamGirl Puja Khurana you managed to win my heart and how. This hillarious film will keep you in splits throughout. What an amazing watch. Kudos to the entire team. I'd like to say this again, Puja Khurana you have my heart @ayushmannk you have my number call me please pujha"

10:20 (IST)13 Sep 2019
Annu Kapoor on working with Ayushmann Khurrana

In an interview with indianexpress.com, Annu Kapoor said, "He has changed from being a newcomer to now becoming a star. So that change is obvious, nothing new about it. But how has that change affected me, it hasn’t. What is important is if something has affected me or not. I am unaffected by anything. I don’t get affected by anyone changing."

More from Entertainment
Comedian Raju Srivastava is stable: Family
Naga Chaitanya reveals he was once caught making out in a car: ‘I f...
Sidharth Malhotra, Kiara Advani take fans down memory lane on Shershaah&#...
Vikram makes his Twitter debut: ‘I am late by almost 15 years, but ...
Akshay Kumar reveals Rupali Ganguly tied him rakhi for five years, Anupam...
09:47 (IST)13 Sep 2019
Riteish Deshmukh on Dream Girl

Riteish Deshmukh took to Twitter and wrote, "Wishing #DreamGirl & dream run at the Box Office - Ace producer @ektaravikapoor - my brother @ayushmannk - the talented @NushratBharucha & the captain @writerraj - Gheuun Taak!!!"

09:25 (IST)13 Sep 2019
'Full-on entertainer'

"#OneWordReview...#DreamGirl: WINNER. Rating: 4 stars Ayushmann Khurrana continues his dream run... Full-on entertainer with dollops of humour... Garnished with witty lines... Ayushmann, Annu Kapoor terrific... Raaj Shaandilyaa’s direction hits the right chord. #DreamGirlReview," film trade analyst Taran Adarsh tweeted after watching Dream Girl.

09:10 (IST)13 Sep 2019
Karanvir Bohra on Dream Girl

TV actor Karanvir Bohra shared on Twitter, "The number of praises I'm hearing for #DreamGirl is astounding. @ayushmannk tu kamaal Nah dhamaal hai yaar, @nowitsabhi @NushratBharucha #annukapoor @ActorVijayRaaz @OyeManjot each n everyone of u deserve al the success. Specially Kaptaan @writerraj ❤️❤️❤️ & @ektaravikapoor"

08:56 (IST)13 Sep 2019
'It’s total madness'

Gajraj Rao, who shared screen space with Ayushmann Khurrana in Badhaai Ho, watched Dream Girl. He posted on Twitter, "Saw Dreamgirl yesterday...it’s total madness ... Article 15’s Ayan Ranjan so effortlessly transforms into Puja in Dreamgirl. @ayushmannk is brilliant in the film, ably supported by #AnnuKapoor,#VijayRaz @NushratBharucha @OyeManjot @nowitsabhi #RajeshSharma & @EkThapaTiger."

08:46 (IST)13 Sep 2019
'You are on a roll Ayushmann Khurrana'

"Extraordinary reviews coming in for #Dreamgirl Sadly missed the screening yesterday! Looks like a big Super hit on the way! Congrats @ayushmannk You are on a roll with every role my friend! @NushratBharucha @writerraj @ektaravikapoor @RuchikaaKapoor @balajimotionpic," director Milap Zaveri said via Twitter.

08:34 (IST)13 Sep 2019
'Looks like a winner already'

Singer Palak Muchhal wished team Dream Girl good luck. She tweeted, "Wishing Team #DreamGirl all the best!!! Looks a winner already!!! @ayushmannk @ektaravikapoor @writerraj @NushratBharucha @meetbros @MeetBrosHarmeet @Mann_meetbros @balajimotionpic."

08:15 (IST)13 Sep 2019
'Loved Ayushmann Khurrana as Pooja'

Writer Juhi Chaturvedi wrote on Twitter, "Is there any character that @ayushmannk can’t play? Nope!In fact the quirkier the better. Absolutely loved him as Pooja. Laughed so much while watching #DreamGirl For all of you out there seeking the girl of your dreams, she is the one! :)))"

08:02 (IST)13 Sep 2019
Disha Parmar on Dream Girl

Actor Disha Parmar wrote on Twitter, "Got a chance to see #DreamGirl today and mann!! @ayushmannk you are just throwing it out of the park every damn time!! And I cannot even imagine anyone else doing this film! @ektaravikapoor 👌👌"

07:44 (IST)13 Sep 2019
'Have a dream run with Dream Girl'

Filmmaker Anubhav Sinha wished the team of Dream Girl on its release day. "Here’s shouting out loud for @writerraj @ayushmannk @ektaravikapoor @NushratBharucha Have a dream run with The ‘Dream Girl’ YO!!!" he tweeted. 

Ayushmann Khurrana said in a statement, "Dream Girl is my most commercial, masala film to date. I have always experimented with genres, roles and scripts. I wanted to do something a little bit out there this time and have a lot of fun with it. It’s a quintessential, hilarious Bollywood comedy that we have all seen and grown up on. It also has a solid script. That’s a prerequisite for any film that I decide to back. It has to be out of the ordinary. The freshness and innovativeness of the concept excited me to do this film."

He added, "I am all for great commercial cinema that allows me to reach out to a much wider audience base and engage with them. I realised that by doing such masala movies, I am actually widening the reach for my other films that I often do to spark a social conversation."

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
First published on: 13-09-2019 at 07:39:47 am