scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Monday, August 10, 2020

Dil Bechara movie release: Highlights

Dil Bechara movie review and release LIVE UPDATES: Sushant Singh Rajput and Sanjana Sanghi starrer is streaming on Disney+ Hotstar. Here's what celebrities, critics and fans are saying about the Mukesh Chhabra directorial.

Written by Arushi Jain , A. Kameshwari | New Delhi | Updated: July 26, 2020 7:44:12 am
sushant singh rajput dil bechara live updates Dil Bechara, starring Sushant Singh Rajput and Sanjana Sanghi premiered on Disney Plus Hotstar.

Sushant Singh Rajput and Sanjana Sanghi starrer Dil Bechara is streaming on Disney Plus Hotstar. The film marks the directorial debut of casting director Mukesh Chhabra. It is based on novelist John Green’s bestseller The Fault in Our Stars. The book was adapted into a 2014 Hollywood movie of the same name and featured Ansel Elgort and Shailene Woodley in the lead roles. The main plot of Dil Bechara revolves around two characters, Kizie and Manny. While Kizie has thyroid cancer, Manny had osteosarcoma. The journey that they take together as they help each evolve and embrace life’s imperfections is the driving force of the narrative.

Also read | Dil Bechara review

Recently, the female lead of the film, Sanjana Sanghi spoke about her experience of making the movie with Sushant Singh Rajput and Mukesh Chhabra to indianexpress.com. The actor said, “We are in the process of releasing songs or BTS every day, and it’s like revisiting all those moments once again. Sushant and I shared a very special bond. We connected on so many things – academia, dance and food. There was just no end to our conversations. Since Dil Bechara is from Kizie’s perspective, I was shooting every day, while he had a breather here and there. I remember as soon as I would finish, I would call him and we would either be just listening to Taare Ginn or discussing Yuval’s (Yuval Noah Harari) books.”

Sanjana also talked about her character in Dil Bechara and how much she relates to Kizie. She said, “Every best friend or people close to me have been messaging me how I react just like her. Not just me but even Sushant, there is going to be a lot of us in these characters. And I think that is why we were chosen because the director wanted me to bring something to the table. However, I wish I was Kizie. She is far more lovable and spunky than I am.”

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about Sushant Singh Rajput starrer Dil Bechara. Read updates in Malayalam.

20:29 (IST)25 Jul 2020
Fans wish for superstar Rajinikanth's reaction on Dil Bechara
20:15 (IST)25 Jul 2020
Fans like Saif Ali Khan's cameo in Dil Bechara

"Can not miss to appreciate the best cameo by anyone so far! Just a 2 minute role and what screen presence and dialogues 🔥 #SaifAliKhan #DilBechara," Twitter user @gauri_budhiraja wrote. 

Another user, @amishsatra004 wrote, "Just need to appreciate his best cameo role ever ❣️ #SaifAliKhan" 

20:01 (IST)25 Jul 2020
Watch | A musical tribute Sushant Singh Rajput

19:26 (IST)25 Jul 2020
Anubhav Sinha is all praise for Dil Bechara

Anubhav Sinha praised director Mukesh Chhabra for Dil Bechara. Taking to Twitter, Sinha wrote in Hindi, "You have made a great movie. You have made it with all your heart. The film shows your love for the story, for its characters and for your friend (Sushant). Be ready, you have to tell a lot many stories."

19:04 (IST)25 Jul 2020
Sahil Vaid shares his memories of Dil Bechara

Sahil Vaid shared this collage of photos with the team of Dil Bechara as the movie released yesterday on Disney Plus Hotstar. 

18:37 (IST)25 Jul 2020
'Sushant Singh Rajput was a versatile actor'

"Honestly #SushantSinghRajput is (was) a versatile actor. From the very beginning, opening scene to the end point of #DilBechara movie, there isn't any moment that you can't praise his performance. #DilBecharaCreatesHistory #SushantInOurHeartsForever 💐 #DilBecharaReview" Twitter user @RupashreeGangu1shared. 

18:04 (IST)25 Jul 2020
'Loving the film and crying at the same time'

Former Bigg Boss contestant Paras Chhabra shared on Twitter, "Somber...watching #DilBechara, loving the film and crying at the same time. My heart goes out for Sushant, Join me in remembering his talent & good work folks"

17:38 (IST)25 Jul 2020
Manish Mundra on Dil Bechara

"Film critics can we just not do critical analysis of one film ! Just one!! What if u don’t get paid for one film? What if you let go one film? Don’t accept money for that one film? Let this film be not judged ? Can we do that ? Try ? #DilBechara #SSR," film producer Manish Mundra wrote on Twitter. 

16:56 (IST)25 Jul 2020
'Congratulations Mukesh Chhabra'

"@CastingChhabra this has been the toughest time for you...Look at the outpouring of love for you and #DilBechara in the wake of this horrendous tragedy let us remember that your film is about love and hope...And that's what I will remember always..Congratulations!" Vani Tripathi Tikoo shared on Twitter. 

16:36 (IST)25 Jul 2020
'Can’t stop tearing up'

Bhumi Pednekar watched her Sonchiriya co-star Sushant Singh Rajput's Dil Bechara and felt weirdly painful. She shared on Instagram, “Full of emotions, overwhelmed and can’t stop tearing up. What a class act. So endearing and seamlessly done Sushant. Never experienced something so weirdly painful and beautiful. What a last dance.What a treat for all your fans and loved ones A Forever @sushantsinghraiput @castinochhabra so well done @sanianasanohi96 welcome to the movies., Kizzy,Manny and their world is so lovely, such a sweet and moving film,full of love @foxstarhindi @disnevplushotstar dilbechara."

16:13 (IST)25 Jul 2020
'Last 20 minutes of Dil Bechara are rough'

"Whether you’re a #SushantSinghRajput fan or not, the last 20 minutes of #DilBechara are rough. If you’re still coming to terms with his demise and find it triggering, postpone the viewing. The film’s always going to be on the platform. Don’t feel any pressure. Take your time," Aniruddha Guha
wrote on Twitter. 

15:53 (IST)25 Jul 2020
‘Dil Bechara - A perfect tribute’

Celebrity photographer Dabboo Ratnani tweeted, “Never felt so Emotional watching a film! Heart Warming & Beautiful Performance by #SushantSinghRajput. Manny Convinces Us To #LiveLoveLaugh #DilBechara - A Perfect Tribute! Keep Shining from Up Above , The World Needs Your Light! Seri?”

15:35 (IST)25 Jul 2020
Sanjana Sanghi on her bond with Sushant Singh Rajput

"Sushant and I shared a very special bond. We connected on so many things – academia, dance and food. There was just no end to our conversations. Since Dil Bechara is from Kizie’s perspective, I was shooting every day, while he had a breather here and there. I remember as soon as I would finish, I would call him and we would either be just listening to Taare Ginn or discussing Yuval’s (Yuval Noah Harari) books," Sanjana Sanghi told indianexpress.com in an interview.

15:20 (IST)25 Jul 2020
'Dil Bechara is already an unprecedented success'

"DilBechara . #SushantSinghRajput 's last sigh. It is already an unprecedented success. Just terrible that he isn't around to savor it. The fault, certainly, in our stars," Kasturi Shankar tweeted.

15:01 (IST)25 Jul 2020
'Couldn't control my tears'

Actor Athulyaa Ravi wrote, "Watched #DilBechaara last night ,couldn’t control my tears soo long ! Heart touching movie with pathetic end ! It’s not easy to get pure and genuine love. May #SushantSinghRajput gone from our sight but never from our hearts ! We will really miss u"

14:45 (IST)25 Jul 2020
Planning to watch Dil Bechara? Read the review

"Dil Bechara is not just a film. It is equal parts dirge, and catharsis. You see Sushant, and the film recedes, and you want to reach out and freeze the frame. He was there, and he isn’t here. I brush back a tear," writes The Indian Express' film critic Shubhra Gupta. Read more

14:30 (IST)25 Jul 2020
'Cried while watching Dil Bechara'

"Watched #DilBechara yesterday. I believe it was an instant connection with the movie. Outstanding display of acting skills by d actors, beautiful movie and a msg for everyone. Cried while watching d movie for various reasons. Blockbuster it is," Manoj Tiwary shared via tweet.

13:46 (IST)25 Jul 2020
Sangram Singh on Dil Bechara

Indian wrestler Sangram Singh tweeted, "Please watch #Dilbechara for #SushantSinghRajput. Hope His Soul gets justice soon"

While Dil Bechara is Sanjana Sanghi's first project as the solo female lead, she is no stranger to cinema. The actor has starred in Imtiaz Ali's Rockstar, and also featured in films like Fukrey Returns and Hindi Medium. On Wednesday, director Imtiaz Ali took to Instagram to wish good luck to Sanjana. Sharing a photo of himself with the actor, the filmmaker wrote, "Little Mandy from Rockstar is a big girl now!!! looking fwd..."

Earlier, in an emotional note, Dil Bechara director Mukesh Chhabra had urged fans to watch the movie upon its release, as the film was a passion project of late actor Sushant Singh Rajput. "Presenting to you our dream and the dream of my brother Sushant, who will live on in me till my last breath. So much has changed in my life these past years and I will always cherish every single moment...I’m glad Dil Bechara is free for everyone, without any subscription, so every single person in India can watch it. So many mixed emotions. I urge you to watch it with your family, friends, girlfriend, boyfriend, loved ones. For you to celebrate a life that lived and will forever be in our hearts,” Mukesh wrote.

Also Read | Sanjana Sanghi: Dil Bechara is a big gift for all Sushant Singh Rajput fans

Apart from Sushant Singh Rajput and Sanjana Sanghi, Dil Bechara stars Swastika Mukherjee and Saif Ali Khan as well. The screenplay of the movie has been penned by Shashank Khaitan and Suprotim Sengupta, while the music has been scored by AR Rahman. Fox Star Studios is bankrolling the project.