Dhadak movie review and release highlights

Dhadak movie review and release highlights: Here's what critics, celebrities and fans said about Dhadak, starring Janhvi Kapoor, Ishaan Khatter, Ashutosh Rana, Kharaj Mukherjee and Aditya Kumar.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: July 20, 2018 4:32:32 pm
dhadak movie Dhadak movie review and release updates: Dhadak marks the silver screen debut of Janhvi Kapoor.

Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter starrer Dhadak has hit the screens finally. Directed by Shashank Khaitan and produced by Karan Johar’s Dharma Productions, Dhadak is an adaptation of the Marathi blockbuster Sairat, which had featured newcomers Rinku Rajguru and Akash Thosar in the lead.

Also Read | Dhadak movie review: The Janhvi Kapoor starrer has neither requisite drama nor authenticity

The movie is expected to bring in the big bucks at the box office as it is the first time the audience will get to see late Sridevi’s daughter in action on the big screen. However, only time will tell if the Karan Johar movie will be able to repeat the success of Sairat.

Live Blog

Dhadak movie review and release: Read all the updates about Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter starrer Dhadak.

16:29 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Our verdict

Sairat was set in rural Maharashtra, and takes its young leads to a slummy outpost in Hyderabad. Parshu and Archi learn the hard way that you can run, but not hide, and lead us to one of the most wrenching climaxes in the movies. Dhadak gives us Udaipur and Kolkata and glossed-up grunge, and provides Madhukar and his ‘oonchi-jaat’ love Parthavi some tough times via her snarly father (Rana), which they ride over so easily that the end is not earned enough.

Also read | Dhadak review: There is no ‘dhak dhak’ in this Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter starrer

16:16 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Amar Singh congratulates team Dhadak

"Yesterday I saw #Dhadak. Based on honour killing. Both the actors #JanhviKapoor & #IshaanKhattar has acted in a matured manner as if they are not new comers but veterans in the field of acting. Congratulations to both of them #DhadakReview @karanjohar @SrideviBKapoor," tweeted politician Amar Singh.

15:57 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Diana Penty wishes team Dhadak

Bollywood actor Diana Penty tweeted, "Hearing so many good things about #IshaanKhatter & #JanhviKapoor for #Dhadak 💖💖 My bestest wishes to @karanjohar @ShashankKhaitan @ZeeStudios_ @KuttySujay @apoorvamehta18 @DharmaMovies and the entire team for this unconventional love story!" 

15:44 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Dhadak makes your heart skip a beat, says Saqib Saleem

Race 3 actor Saqib Saleem watched Dhadak and wrote, "Dhadak first makes your heart beat fast and later, makes it skip a beat! Such a beautiful, heartwrenching film. Ishaan n Jahnvi are naturals and as real as it gets... loved it @ShashankKhaitan & @karanjohar." 

15:29 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Armaan Malik on Dhadak

Singer Armaan Malik tweeted, "Wishing #Ishaan & #Janhvi all the very best with #Dhadak. I exactly know how it feels to make a debut at a young age & with such a dream project. Haven’t seen the movie yet but going by the trailer & songs I’m certain that the industry has got itself two new amazing actors ♥️." 

15:13 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Our verdict

Barring a few patches, Dhadak has neither requisite drama nor authenticity. It underlines all its scenes with blaring background music, to tell us how to feel. It doesn’t work, not as an official copy of Sairat, nor as a standalone Bollywood romance. There is, I’m afraid, no ‘dhak dhak’ in this Dhadak.

Also read | Dhadak review: There is no ‘dhak dhak’ in this Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter starrer

14:46 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Diljit Dosanjh on Dhadak
14:24 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Karan Johar is proud of Shashank Khaitan

Thanking the team of Dhadak for all the hard work, Karan Johar tweeted, "Am so proud of @ShashankKhaitan and the kids who have worked with all their heart to create the required #dhadak! This trio is special to all of us at @DharmaMovies ! Thank you for your energy! Your enthusiasm and your amazing spirit! #Janhvi #Ishaan."

14:11 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Shashank Khaitan on recreating Sairat

In an interaction with indianexpress.com, Dhadak director Shashank Khaitan said, "When I saw Sairat, I was inspired as a filmmaker. I wanted to share that story in my own language. But of course, I have kept to the essence of Sairat. It’s a story that resonated with so many people. Also, I felt, what Sairat communicated — it should be said reiterated and shared constantly.”

Also read | Dhadak director Shashank Khaitan: Societal issues have been the fabric of Indian cinema

14:00 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
A look back at the box office performance of Karan Johar's last five productions

Karan Johar’s box office game has been fairly decent in the past, thanks to Badrinath Ki Dulhania, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil and Kapoor & Sons. Here’s how his last five production ventures have performed at the box office:

1. Badrinath Ki Dulhania

The Alia Bhatt and Varun Dhawan starrer made a lifetime collection of Rs 116.68 crore at the box office. The movie was written and directed by Shashank Khaitan. It received a warm reception from critics as well. Badrinath Ki Dulhania released on March 10, 2017.

2. Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

The film, which starred Ranbir Kapoor, Anushka Sharma, and Aishwarya Rai in pivotal roles, hit the big screen on October 28, 2016. Its total collection stands at Rs 112.48 crore. The film was hailed for its performances and music.

Also read | How Karan Johar’s last five production ventures have fared at the box office

13:49 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Here's what the audience has to say about Dhadak

13:40 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
How did Ishaan Khatter bag the lead role in Dhadak

In an interview with indianexpress.com, Ishaan Khatter narrated, "I met Karan (Johar) first on the sets of Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa, where my brother (Shahid Kapoor) was his co-judge. Later, he asked me to meet him in his office. He wanted to know me and understand if I was capable of performing. We met again a couple of times before he made his decision. I asked if I could meet Shashank (Khaitan). I really liked his first film (Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania). I wanted to learn about his process because he also writes his films. One day, he told me that he intended to remake Sairat in Hindi with me as the lead. At that point, I hadn’t seen Sairat, but then when I saw it, I was consumed by its narrative. It’s been crafted so well and has beautiful performances. It’s a very powerful film and I remember after watching it I couldn’t speak for the longest time." 

Also read | ‘You are only as good as your opportunities’: Ishan Khatter

13:26 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Celebrities at the screening of Dhadak

B-town celebrities like Shahid Kapoor, Rekha, Madhuri Dixit, Malaika Arora and Karisma Kapoor among others watched the Shahshank Khaitan directorial on Wednesday evening. 

Also read | Dhadak screening: Shahid Kapoor, Sara Ali Khan and Rekha watch Janhvi and Ishaan’s movie

12:45 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Dhadak is straight from the heart, says Kartik Aaryan

Kartik Aaryan said, "#Dhadak is straight from the heart. Janhvi and Ishaan are so endearing and so good. @ShashankKhaitan you have done it again... loved it👌❤ @karanjohar @DharmaMovies"

12:15 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Farah Khan on Dhadak
11:57 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Ashutosh Rana on his character in Dhadak

In a conversation with indianexpress.com, Ashutosh Rana said, "You will enjoy the character a lot. I would say it’s very different from what I had done in Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania. I can say the character is someone you will take with you once you leave the theatre. Yes, the character is negative but the approach is very different. It’s very relatable to the times we are living in. It’s a Dabangg character."

Also Read | Dhadak actor Ashutosh Rana: Janhvi Kapoor is a volcano ready to burst, she will blow your mind

11:46 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Now my Bachchas belong to the world, says Shashank Khaitan

"#Dhadak out today ... #Janhvi #Ishaan ... now my Bachchas belong to the world ... love u both ... have had the best time making this film with the two of you... its a film I am really proud of and both of you have made your families proud... @karanjohar love you and thank you ...," Dhadak director Shashank Khaitan posted on Twitter.

11:37 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Dhadak quick take

Indianexpress.com's Komal says, "Dhadak is nothing close to the intensity of Sairat. However, Dhadak is not bad. Infact, I was quite surprised with the twists towards the end. Shashank Khaitan has surprised me totally, and that too pleasantly. If one compares this film with Sairat, it is quite underwhelming, but it has a North India appeal and the film is made for that. It is not made to show the actual problem. Dhadak is just a 'Bollywoodized' version of Sairat, with beautiful music. It lacks soul. Ishan and Janhvi seem decent. Janhvi reminded me of Sridevi with her beautiful almond eyes. It was nice to see her on-screen."

11:20 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Dhadak is heart, says Meghna Gulzar
11:03 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Angad Bedi on Dhadak

Commenting on Dhadak, Angad Bedi tweeted, "@karanjohar what an eye for emerging talent you have.👏👏✊ everyone @DharmaMovies will feel like a proud parent. @apoorvamehta18 @ShashankKhaitan the man of the heartland.. how well you capture performance and emotion.👌 this is sheer class... Proud moment for @SrideviBKapoor to see his daughter excel in every department in #DHADAK blessings are there from up above🙏. and for @rajeshkhattar @imIshaanKhatter his energy and smile are infectious. #dhadhak." 

10:53 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter at the screening of Dhadak

Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter attended the screening of Dhadak on Thursday evening. 

10:39 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Ayesha Shroff wishes team Dhadak

Jackie Shroff's wife Ayesha Shroff tweeted, "Alllllllll the best to Jahnvi, Ishaan and the team of Dhadak!!!❤️❤️❤️ @karanjohar @DharmaMovies @ShashankKhaitan." 

10:31 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Our verdict

Ishaan Khatter has a mobile, expressive face. He is a natural. Janhvi Kapoor, though, has a hard time emoting. On their own, they each have a couple of scenes which they work: together, there is no zing, no 'zingaaat’. There will be a modern contemporary Bollywood romance posting new frontiers on the caste-and-class front. Dhadak is not it.

Also Read: Dhadak movie review: The Janhvi Kapoor starrer has neither requisite drama nor authenticity

10:03 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
A beautiful film is out in theatres, says Punit Malhotra

"A beautiful film is out in the the theatres today. Pls do make sure you catch it!!! Here’s wishing #ishaan #jhaanvi and my friend @ShashankKhaitan the best for Dhadak! 😃 @apoorvamehta18 @karanjohar," director Punit Malhotra said via Twitter.

09:51 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Aalim Hakim on Dhadak

Celebrity hair stylist Aalim Hakim shared on Facebook: "Saw #DHADAK last night and it’s a 💎GEM....Director @shashankkhaitan has made such a brilliant love story and has treated each n every scene with a great screenplay... @janhvikapoot & @Ishaan95 are excellent and fantastic talents.... They have lived each n every emotion so beautifully of their character..What I liked about both of them that they were so original and did not remind me that one is Shahid’s brother or Sridevi’s daughter .... Both are intense performers and understands the commercial graph brilliantly...Industry needs such talent....Director has kept the soul Intact of the original movie and has created more fun n edgy screenplay that adds the repeat value to the film... Music is superb ... Performances by all the characters are top notch .... Audience is gonna love DHADAK to the core...It’s a must watch and gonna be a huge success 👏👏👏👏👌❤️...Welcome Janhvi & Ishaan 🔥"

09:40 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Dhadak box office collection prediction

In a conversation with indianexpress.com, film trade analyst Girish Johar said, “The movie will earn around Rs 6.5 crores on its opening day. It might be a little too much for a movie with a newcomer in the lead but Dhadak has three-four factors working in its favour. One, it is the Sridevi sympathy factor, second, Janhvi is making a debut with the movie, third, the film is a remake of Sairat which is already a blockbuster and lastly, it is a Dharma Production project.”

09:23 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Dia Mirza cannot wait to watch Dhadak

Sanju actor Dia Mirza is quite excited about watching Karan Johar's Dhadak as she recently shared a post on Twitter that read, "All my love and good wishes to @ShashankKhaitan #Jahnvi and #Ishaan for #Dhadak! Win hearts! Welcome to the movies, your energy is electric. So sorry I missed tonight’s screening. Can’t wait to watch when I return! @apoorvamehta18 @karanjohar." 

09:11 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Aayush Sharma on Dhadak

Salman Khan's brother-in-law Aayush Sharma, who is all set to make his debut with romantic drama Loveratri, recently took to Twitter to wish luck to Dhadak stars Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter and wrote,  "All the best for #Dhadak @karanjohar @ShashankKhaitan. The film looks so promising! I'm sure people are going to fall in love with this beautiful love story. Good luck #Ishaan & #Janhvi. Can't wait to watch the film!" 

08:55 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Dhadak has the soul of Sairat but a heart of its own, says Milap Zaveri

Satyameva Jayate director Milap Zaveri wrote on Twitter: "Even if u have seen #Sairaat do yourself a favor and go see #Dhadak tom. It has the soul of the original but a heart of its own! Still can’t get over the climax. @ShashankKhaitan Jhanvi, Ishaan, @karanjohar @apoorvamehta18 you guys deserve all the praise and success! 👏👏👏"

08:47 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Janhvi Kapoor is outstanding, says Arjun Bijlani

Arjun Bijlani posted on Twitter: "Last night was at the #dhadak screening @ShashankKhaitan ur story telling has so much theraaav. Superbly executed. #JhanviKapoor is outstanding in the film . Ishaan has done a good job as well.u dont wana miss this one guys have to watch it. DONT MISS IT."

08:34 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Janhvi Kapoor on Sairat

Dhadak is the Hindi adaptation of Marathi hit Sairat. Talking about Sairat, Janhvi Kapoor told indianexpress.com, "It’s a very important, beautiful and an iconic film. While watching the film, I felt very attached to the characters and their love for each other. Especially the movie’s climax, it left such a deep impact on me that I was left speechless."

Also Read | Dhadak actor Janhvi Kapoor: My work gave me the strength to keep going

08:09 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Anil Kapoor on Dhadak

"Saw #Dhadak last night and all I have to say is #JanhviKapoor & @imIshaanKhatter both are already stars! Their innocence & love will steal your hearts for sure! Loved it! @DharmaMovies @karanjohar @ShashankKhaitan @ZeeStudios_," Anil Kapoor wrote on Twitter.

08:01 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Ishaan and Jaanvi are incredible, says Varun Dhawan

"#DHADAK is @ShashankKhaitan finest work. Ishaan and Jaanvi are incredible in the film. It’s a film which will touch everyone’s heart and give an important message. Go catch it in the theatre. Shashank I’m so happy to see your growth but happier cause your the same person," Varun Dhawan posted on Twitter.

07:58 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Janhvi, you left me speechless, says Arjun Kapoor
07:52 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Planning to watch Dhadak? Here are five reasons to catch the Janhvi-Ishaan starrer

07:34 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Janhvi Kapoor is so immensely watchable, says Ashutosh Gowariker

"ENJOYED #Dhadak !! #JanhviKapoor is so immensely watchable! She surprised me with her ENDEARING performance! @imIshaanKhatter is a completely ENERGETIC actor! @AjayAtulOnline ‘s title track is on LOOP! CONGRATS @karanjohar @ShashankKhaitan for yet another BO success!," Ashutosh Gowariker said via Twitter.

07:29 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Janhvi and Ishaan are absolutely brilliant, says Neha Dhupia

Neha Dhupia tweeted: "Watched #dhadak last night I walked out with so many emotions,to begin with #jhanavi n #Ishaan are absolutely brilliant..they did nt get a single beat wrong,they performed like pros,danced like lightening and looked youthful and gorgeous. I’m blown away.. @karanjohar only u can."

07:23 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Dhadak is so beautiful, says Madhuri Dixit

Madhuri Dixit wrote on Twitter: "#Dhadak is so beautiful yet an intense film! I totally loved it @karanjohar @ShashankKhaitan 💕 #Ishaan & #Janhvi I'm sure you will win over everyone with your wonderful performances. Sending out my best wishes to the entire team for the big release tomorrow!👍"

07:16 (IST) 20 Jul 2018
Sonam Kapoor is moved beyond words

Sonam Kapoor posted on Twitter: "What a stunning debut @janhvikapoor so so proud! Moved beyond words. @ishaankhattar you are magnificent. And this is all thanks to @ShashankKhaitan who has brilliantly captured their innocence, vulnerability and strength! Stunned!!!!!!"

The trailer of Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter starrer Dhadak has 43 million views so far. This is indicative of how excited the viewers are to witness the magic of a fresh romance on the silver screen.