scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Wednesday, January 19, 2022

Dhadak movie review and release highlights

Dhadak movie review and release highlights: Here's what critics, celebrities and fans said about Dhadak, starring Janhvi Kapoor, Ishaan Khatter, Ashutosh Rana, Kharaj Mukherjee and Aditya Kumar.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: July 20, 2018 4:32:32 pm
dhadak movie Dhadak movie review and release updates: Dhadak marks the silver screen debut of Janhvi Kapoor.

Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter starrer Dhadak has hit the screens finally. Directed by Shashank Khaitan and produced by Karan Johar’s Dharma Productions, Dhadak is an adaptation of the Marathi blockbuster Sairat, which had featured newcomers Rinku Rajguru and Akash Thosar in the lead.

Also Read | Dhadak movie review: The Janhvi Kapoor starrer has neither requisite drama nor authenticity

The movie is expected to bring in the big bucks at the box office as it is the first time the audience will get to see late Sridevi’s daughter in action on the big screen. However, only time will tell if the Karan Johar movie will be able to repeat the success of Sairat.

Live Blog

Dhadak movie review and release: Read all the updates about Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter starrer Dhadak.

16:29 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Our verdict

Sairat was set in rural Maharashtra, and takes its young leads to a slummy outpost in Hyderabad. Parshu and Archi learn the hard way that you can run, but not hide, and lead us to one of the most wrenching climaxes in the movies. Dhadak gives us Udaipur and Kolkata and glossed-up grunge, and provides Madhukar and his ‘oonchi-jaat’ love Parthavi some tough times via her snarly father (Rana), which they ride over so easily that the end is not earned enough.

Also read | Dhadak review: There is no ‘dhak dhak’ in this Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter starrer

16:16 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Amar Singh congratulates team Dhadak

"Yesterday I saw #Dhadak. Based on honour killing. Both the actors #JanhviKapoor & #IshaanKhattar has acted in a matured manner as if they are not new comers but veterans in the field of acting. Congratulations to both of them #DhadakReview @karanjohar @SrideviBKapoor," tweeted politician Amar Singh.

15:57 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Diana Penty wishes team Dhadak

Bollywood actor Diana Penty tweeted, "Hearing so many good things about #IshaanKhatter & #JanhviKapoor for #Dhadak 💖💖 My bestest wishes to @karanjohar @ShashankKhaitan @ZeeStudios_ @KuttySujay @apoorvamehta18 @DharmaMovies and the entire team for this unconventional love story!" 

15:44 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Dhadak makes your heart skip a beat, says Saqib Saleem

Race 3 actor Saqib Saleem watched Dhadak and wrote, "Dhadak first makes your heart beat fast and later, makes it skip a beat! Such a beautiful, heartwrenching film. Ishaan n Jahnvi are naturals and as real as it gets... loved it @ShashankKhaitan & @karanjohar." 

15:29 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Armaan Malik on Dhadak

Singer Armaan Malik tweeted, "Wishing #Ishaan & #Janhvi all the very best with #Dhadak. I exactly know how it feels to make a debut at a young age & with such a dream project. Haven’t seen the movie yet but going by the trailer & songs I’m certain that the industry has got itself two new amazing actors ♥️." 

15:13 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Our verdict

Barring a few patches, Dhadak has neither requisite drama nor authenticity. It underlines all its scenes with blaring background music, to tell us how to feel. It doesn’t work, not as an official copy of Sairat, nor as a standalone Bollywood romance. There is, I’m afraid, no ‘dhak dhak’ in this Dhadak.

Also read | Dhadak review: There is no ‘dhak dhak’ in this Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter starrer

14:46 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Diljit Dosanjh on Dhadak
14:24 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Karan Johar is proud of Shashank Khaitan

Thanking the team of Dhadak for all the hard work, Karan Johar tweeted, "Am so proud of @ShashankKhaitan and the kids who have worked with all their heart to create the required #dhadak! This trio is special to all of us at @DharmaMovies ! Thank you for your energy! Your enthusiasm and your amazing spirit! #Janhvi #Ishaan."

14:11 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Shashank Khaitan on recreating Sairat

In an interaction with indianexpress.com, Dhadak director Shashank Khaitan said, "When I saw Sairat, I was inspired as a filmmaker. I wanted to share that story in my own language. But of course, I have kept to the essence of Sairat. It’s a story that resonated with so many people. Also, I felt, what Sairat communicated — it should be said reiterated and shared constantly.”

Also read | Dhadak director Shashank Khaitan: Societal issues have been the fabric of Indian cinema

14:00 (IST)20 Jul 2018
A look back at the box office performance of Karan Johar's last five productions

Karan Johar’s box office game has been fairly decent in the past, thanks to Badrinath Ki Dulhania, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil and Kapoor & Sons. Here’s how his last five production ventures have performed at the box office:

1. Badrinath Ki Dulhania

The Alia Bhatt and Varun Dhawan starrer made a lifetime collection of Rs 116.68 crore at the box office. The movie was written and directed by Shashank Khaitan. It received a warm reception from critics as well. Badrinath Ki Dulhania released on March 10, 2017.

2. Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

The film, which starred Ranbir Kapoor, Anushka Sharma, and Aishwarya Rai in pivotal roles, hit the big screen on October 28, 2016. Its total collection stands at Rs 112.48 crore. The film was hailed for its performances and music.

Also read | How Karan Johar’s last five production ventures have fared at the box office

13:49 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Here's what the audience has to say about Dhadak

13:40 (IST)20 Jul 2018
How did Ishaan Khatter bag the lead role in Dhadak

In an interview with indianexpress.com, Ishaan Khatter narrated, "I met Karan (Johar) first on the sets of Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa, where my brother (Shahid Kapoor) was his co-judge. Later, he asked me to meet him in his office. He wanted to know me and understand if I was capable of performing. We met again a couple of times before he made his decision. I asked if I could meet Shashank (Khaitan). I really liked his first film (Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania). I wanted to learn about his process because he also writes his films. One day, he told me that he intended to remake Sairat in Hindi with me as the lead. At that point, I hadn’t seen Sairat, but then when I saw it, I was consumed by its narrative. It’s been crafted so well and has beautiful performances. It’s a very powerful film and I remember after watching it I couldn’t speak for the longest time." 

Also read | ‘You are only as good as your opportunities’: Ishan Khatter

13:26 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Celebrities at the screening of Dhadak

B-town celebrities like Shahid Kapoor, Rekha, Madhuri Dixit, Malaika Arora and Karisma Kapoor among others watched the Shahshank Khaitan directorial on Wednesday evening. 

Also read | Dhadak screening: Shahid Kapoor, Sara Ali Khan and Rekha watch Janhvi and Ishaan’s movie

12:45 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Dhadak is straight from the heart, says Kartik Aaryan

Kartik Aaryan said, "#Dhadak is straight from the heart. Janhvi and Ishaan are so endearing and so good. @ShashankKhaitan you have done it again... loved it👌❤ @karanjohar @DharmaMovies"

12:15 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Farah Khan on Dhadak
11:57 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Ashutosh Rana on his character in Dhadak

In a conversation with indianexpress.com, Ashutosh Rana said, "You will enjoy the character a lot. I would say it’s very different from what I had done in Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania. I can say the character is someone you will take with you once you leave the theatre. Yes, the character is negative but the approach is very different. It’s very relatable to the times we are living in. It’s a Dabangg character."

Also Read | Dhadak actor Ashutosh Rana: Janhvi Kapoor is a volcano ready to burst, she will blow your mind

11:46 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Now my Bachchas belong to the world, says Shashank Khaitan

"#Dhadak out today ... #Janhvi #Ishaan ... now my Bachchas belong to the world ... love u both ... have had the best time making this film with the two of you... its a film I am really proud of and both of you have made your families proud... @karanjohar love you and thank you ...," Dhadak director Shashank Khaitan posted on Twitter.

11:37 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Dhadak quick take

Indianexpress.com's Komal says, "Dhadak is nothing close to the intensity of Sairat. However, Dhadak is not bad. Infact, I was quite surprised with the twists towards the end. Shashank Khaitan has surprised me totally, and that too pleasantly. If one compares this film with Sairat, it is quite underwhelming, but it has a North India appeal and the film is made for that. It is not made to show the actual problem. Dhadak is just a 'Bollywoodized' version of Sairat, with beautiful music. It lacks soul. Ishan and Janhvi seem decent. Janhvi reminded me of Sridevi with her beautiful almond eyes. It was nice to see her on-screen."

11:20 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Dhadak is heart, says Meghna Gulzar
11:03 (IST)20 Jul 2018
Angad Bedi on Dhadak

Commenting on Dhadak, Angad Bedi tweeted, "@karanjohar what an eye for emerging talent you have.👏👏✊ everyone @DharmaMovies will feel like a proud parent. @apoorvamehta18 @ShashankKhaitan the man of the heartland.. how well you capture performance and emotion.👌 this is sheer class... Proud moment for @SrideviBKapoor to see his daughter excel in every department in #DHADAK blessings are there from up above🙏. and for @rajeshkhattar @imIshaanKhatter his energy and smile are infectious. #dhadhak." 

The trailer of Janhvi Kapoor and Ishaan Khatter starrer Dhadak has 43 million views so far. This is indicative of how excited the viewers are to witness the magic of a fresh romance on the silver screen.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.