Follow Us:
Monday, March 30, 2020

Chhapaak movie review and release: Highlights

Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about Meghna Gulzar's Chhapaak starring Deepika Padukone and Vikrant Massey.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi | Updated: January 11, 2020 8:26:37 am
chhapaak deepika Deepika Padukone has turned producer with Chhapaak.

Meghna Gulzar’s latest directorial Chhapaak has hit screens. Starring Deepika Padukone as Malti and Vikrant Massey as Amol, the film is based on the life of acid attack survivor and social activist Laxmi Agarwal.

Talking about getting into the shoes of her intense character, Deepika told indianexpress.com, “To be honest, you can’t be prepared for something like this. The preparation is all theoretical. I have met Laxmi (Agarwal), done workshops with Meghna and done readings with the actors. But those final moments of what it might have been like (for a victim) only played out when Meghna called out ‘action’. Before that, you are working on assumptions and wondering maybe it’s going to be like this. You prepare yourself based on those assumptions. Between ‘action’ and ‘cut’ is when I emotionally had to go through what Laxmi or someone like her has probably been through. Maybe, that’s why this role has taken an emotional toll on me.”

Deepika Padukone starrer Chhapaak will clash with Ajay Devgn and Saif Ali Khan’s period film Tanhaji.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest Entertainment news

Live Blog

Read all the updates about Deepika Padukone starrer Chhapaak.

Highlights

    15:30 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    Screen count

    Chhapaak has released in 2160 worldwide.

    14:39 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    Samajwadi Party organises screening of Chhapaak
    13:52 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    IMDb rating of Chhapaak

    The IMDb rating of Chhapaak, starring Deepika Padukone and Vikrant Massey, is 3.8.

    13:28 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    Free tickets distributed
    13:04 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    Deepika Padukone talks about the common thread between her and Laxmi

    Deepika Padukone told indianexpress.com, "Lakshmi and I have been through something that has impacted our lives in a big way. Of course, you cannot compare depression and acid violence. But both can be equally traumatic but in very different ways. How we have come out of it stronger, how we have chosen to not let it affect us, how we have chosen to make it something positive and impact people’s lives, I feel that is the common thread between the two of us."

    Read More | I do not know any other way than just being authentic and honest: Chhapaak actor Deepika Padukone

    12:49 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    Ranveer Singh and Deepika Padukone at the screening of Chhapaak

    (Photo: Varinder Chawla)

    12:37 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    'Chhapaak delivers what it promises'

    "#Chhapaak delivers what it promises,Heart wrenching film. Speechless&stunned by performance. @deepikapadukone connects u wit d life f Laxmi Agarwal. Truly an Outstanding movie @meghnagulzar will go down in history as one f d iconic roles played by bollywood actresses ever," writes Twitter user @imNRK17.

    12:27 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    'One of the most hard hitting films'

    Neil Nitin Mukesh shared on Twitter, "Just walked out of the premier of #Chappak it is by far one of the most hard hitting films I have ever seen. @meghnagulzar Ji . This is a gem. FANTASTIC writing and direction. Brilliant performances by all. @masseysahibyour simplicity is indeed magnetic Amol Ji." He continued, "@deepikapadukoneplease take a bow. As a producer to have the strength to back such a strong story and as a performer to go out there and give your best performance till date. You made me cry but you also taught me to fight and finally smile. God bless you. #Chappak"

    12:11 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    Vikrant Massey on his role in Chhapaak

    11:59 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    Our verdict | Chhapaak movie review

    The Indian Express' Shubhra Gupta writes, "You look at Padukone, so far away from the dressed-up, made-up parts she’s done till now, and acknowledge an actor who wants to break out of her safe zone, to actually inhabit someone else’s skin even if it’s burnt. Yes, it’s worthy, but it’s also very watchable."

    Read More | Chhapaak movie review 

    11:47 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    As Chhapaak releases, Deepika Padukone visits Siddhivinayak Temple

    (Photo: Varinder Chawla)

    11:37 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    Dia Mirza is cheering for Deepika

    Dia Mirza took to Twitter and shared, "I’m watching #Chhapaak first day first show u2764ufe0f Goooooooooooo Deeeepikaaaaaaaaa."

    11:24 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    Deepika Padukone talks about her Chhapaak journey

    11:14 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    'Hats off to Deepika Padukone'

    Jackky Bhagnani shared on Twitter, "#Chhapaak is not just a film, but a reality! A Story of a henious crime, struggle & victory of a brave soul. Hats off @deepikapadukone for such a brilliant performance, huge respect ! @masseysahib you were amazing. @meghnagulzar take a bow for making this 🙌🏻"

    11:05 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    'The most talented actor ever'

    Mini Mathur shared on Twitter, "Saw #chhapaak last night! It burnt a hole through my heart. @meghnagulzar has made a brave film on a hard hitting reality & @deepikapadukone .. you have proved beyond doubt that you have heart, soul & compassion! The most talented actor & producer ever! Please go watch the film"

    10:54 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    Planning to watch Chhapaak? Watch the trailer here

    10:41 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    'Deepika Padukone is just incredible'

    Kunal Kapoor shared on Twitter, "#Chapaak is such a powerful and important film. Soul stirring and uplifting! Directed with such sensitivity and beautifully performed. And @deepikapadukone is just incredible! What a brave choice to make as an actor and producer. @meghnagulzar @masseysahib Don't miss this one!!"

    10:31 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    'My heart goes out to Laxmi Agarwal'

    Riteish Deshmukh shared on Twitter, "Just watched #Chappak a brilliant film by one of my favourite film makers @meghnagulzar - @deepikapadukone’s portrayal of an acid attack survivor, her pain, her courage, her fight is pitch perfect. great debut as a producer @masseysahib is such a wonderful actor. My heart goes out to Laxmi Agarwal on whose life the film is based upon. You are a real hero. You have inspired me and am sure your story will inspire millions more. #Chappak"

    10:21 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    'More power to these 3 women'

    Genelia Deshmukh shared on Twitter, "More power to these 3 women. @meghnagulzar for making an amazing film on a topic that needed to be discussed. @deepikapadukone for making a brave choice as an actor and producer and acing it to the tee. #LaxmiAgarwal for sharing your story with us. You inspire me. #Chaapak. @masseysahib you were simply brilliant. #Chappaak is a rare film that makes you experience all the human emotions- shock, pain, sadness, hurt, helplessness, struggle, joy, euphoria & love."

    10:08 (IST)10 Jan 2020
    'Force that drives Deepika is unimaginable'

    "Even though the truth is heart-wrenching and deeply hurts and burns like acid but it never is able to corrode the beauty and purity of her soul! Force that drives Deepika is unimaginable and her integrity in reel and real life is exemplary! Vikrant your are just wonderful! Meghna, Atika, thank you! More power to your craft, to your honesty!" Juhi Chaturvedi further shared on Twitter.

    During a media interaction, Chhapaak director Meghna Gulzar shared that she doesn’t want to attach any kind of label to Chhapaak. "I would like to request everyone to not put this film in women-centric film category. Yes, my women characters are strong, but this story is not woman-centric. I have tried to tell this story with as much honesty and responsibility as possible. Will it become a commercial success I can’t say, but nobody sets out to make an unsuccessful film," she said.

    At another promotional event, Laxmi Agarwal added, "The film will impact society in a big way, and I want to thank Deepika Padukone for playing Laxmi’s role. I am happy that you showed that external beauty is not important. It was important to show how survivors are victimised. We need to spread awareness for this cause, and through this film, we will be able to remove the ‘tezaab’ (poison) from society."