scorecardresearch
Wednesday, Feb 01, 2023
Advertisement

Bunty Aur Babli 2 and Dhamaka movie review and release highlights: Kartik Aaryan feels ‘blessed’ with all the love

Bunty Aur Babli 2 and Dhamaka movie review and release highlights: Starring Rani Mukerji, Saif Ali Khan, Siddhant Chaturvedi and Sharvari, Bunty Aur Babli 2 releases in theatres on Friday. Kartik Aaryan starrer Dhamaka has released today on Netflix.

By: Entertainment Desk
New Delhi | Updated: November 19, 2021 20:08 IST
bunty aur babli 2 dhamaka releasesbunty aur babli 2 dhamaka releasesBunty Aur Babli 2 and Dhamaka released on Friday.

Starring Rani Mukerji, Saif Ali Khan, Siddhant Chaturvedi and Sharvari, Bunty Aur Babli 2 releases in theatres on Friday. Directed by Varun V. Sharma and produced by Aditya Chopra, Bunty Aur Babli 2 is a sequel of the 2005 film that starred Rani Mukerji and Abhishek Bachchan. This time, a new set of Bunty-Babli are out conning people so the original cons return to end the mess. Pankaj Tripathi also stars in the film.

Meanwhile, Kartik Aaryan starrer Dhamaka has released today on Netflix.

The thriller is directed by Ram Madhvani. Based on the 2013 film The Terror Live, it stars Kartik as a journalist named Arjun Pathak who receives a threat after he exclusively interviewed a terrorist who blew up a bridge. The film also stars Mrunal Thakur and Amruta Subhash in prominent roles.

Unlike Bunty Aur Babli 2, which is releasing in the theaters, Dhamaka is getting an OTT release on the streaming service Netflix.

In an earlier statement, Bunty Aur Babli 2 star Rani said, “Not only am I getting to play a character like Vimmy who I have loved and related to always and am I working with Saif after years, but what’s giving me abundant joy is that Bunty Aur Babli 2 is the first film of mine that Adira has seen and thoroughly loved.”

“Nothing can beat this moment for me and my career. It was amazing to see her reaction to the film and what I have done on screen. She was laughing and rolling watching the mad comedy that we have done. I‘m so happy that I could make her laugh. It fills my heart with so much happiness. She had the best time and it means the world for me,” she continued.

Trade analyst Girish Johar spoke to indianexpress.com about the film’s box office performance and said it is expected to have a “decent” opening. “We are slowly limping back to normalcy, coming out of the pandemic, with the vaccination going in higher and the norms are being relaxed. Having seen that and the previous films (BellBottom, Sooryavanshi) also doing sufficiently well at the box office, I believe that the chance of Bunty Aur Babli 2 to do well is pretty much high at the box office. It all depends on the content, and how it is received, the reviews and feedback. Having said that, the trailer has generated much curiosity, and the first Bunty Aur Babli did pretty well.”

Live Blog

Follow this blog for all the live updates on Bunty Aur Babli 2

18:41 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Kartik Aaryan visits Siddhivinayak temple on Kartik Purnima

On the occasion of Kartik Purnima, Kartik Aaryan was swarmed with love and visited Siddhivinayak temple. His fans also shared videos and messages for him with the trending hashtag.

(Photo: Varinder Chawla)

(Photo: Varinder Chawla)

18:12 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Raj and DK: 'Non-stop thrill ride'

Filmmaker duo Raj and DK tweeted, "A non-stop thrill ride, and social commentary… carried by an intense @TheAaryanKartik and  @RamKMadhvani’s craft. Heard it was shot in 11 days! Kartik’s best performance!! Congratulations @RSVPMovies @mrunal0801 and the whole #Dhamaka team!!"

17:30 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Dhamaka is 'a crackerjack thriller with a heart'

Subhash K Jha tweeted, "#Dhamaka lives up to  its name ..A crackerjack thriller with a heart , balls a conscience and a stellar awards worthy performance by @TheAaryanKartik."

16:48 (IST)19 Nov 2021
'Pankaj Tripathi is the highlight of Bunty Aur Babli 2'

Sumit Kadel tweeted, "@SiddhantChturvD & #Sharwari acts are superlative followed by Rani & Saif earnest performances. @TripathiiPankaj is the HIGHLIGHT of the film, he entertains with his superb one liners & unique acting style. Overall #BuntyAurBabli2 is clean family entertainer."

16:21 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Kartik Aaryan: Feeling blessed with all the love coming from the industry

Kartik Aaryan shared on Twitter, "Aaj kaan mein sirf Thank You bola. Ganpati bappa Moriya. Feeling blessed with all the love coming from the industry. Can’t wait for the fans to watch it!! #Dhamaka now LIVE on Netflix!"

16:01 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Dhamaka: 'A non-stop thrill ride'

Director duo Raj & DK shared on Twitter, "A non-stop thrill ride, and social commentary… carried by an intense @TheAaryanKartik and @RamKMadhvani’s craft. Heard it was shot in 11 days! Face screaming in fear Kartik’s best performance!! Clapping hands sign Congratulations @RSVPMovies @mrunal0801 and the whole #Dhamaka team!!"

15:35 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Taran Adarsh shares Bunty Aur Babli 2 review

"#OneWordReview… #BuntyAurBabli2: DISAPPOINTING. Rating: 1½; Interesting ideas don't necessarily translate into interesting films... An absolute waste of such fine talent and opportunity! #BuntyAurBabli2Review"

15:16 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Kartik Aaryan visits Siddhivinayak temple

Dhamaka star Kartik Aaryan was seen at Mumbai's famous Siddhivinayak temple. He also greeted the fans. The actor's family was seen along. (Photo: Varinder Chawla)

More from Entertainment
Siddharth Anand says Shah Rukh Khan’s ‘inaccessibility’...
Faraaz director Hansal Mehta: ‘Every film cannot be a blockbuster o...
Rajinikanth receives grand welcome in Jaisalmer, hotel staff dance to Lun...
Jawan director Atlee and wife Priya welcome baby boy: ‘There’s no f...
Shiv Shastri Balboa trailer: Anupam Kher and Neena Gupta charm in this ta...
14:45 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Bunty Aur Babli 2 a 'clean family entertainer'

Sumit Kadel shared via Twitter, " #BuntyAurBabli2 - ⭐⭐⭐Clean family ENTERTAINER with good 1st half & Average 2nd half.. There is a funny & intriguing con jobs showcased in the film throughout where both Bunty Babli’s duo’s takes on each other. Director Varun Sharma manages to retains the Quirkiness of BB1."

14:15 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Bunty Aur Babli 2: Our verdict

Indian Express film critic Shalini Langer gave the Saif Ali Khan-Rani Mukerji-starrer two and a half star and wrote in her Bunty Aur Babli 2 review, "Director Varun V Sharma doesn’t think Saif Ali Khan-Rani Mukerji are enough to repeat the success of the original, so he keeps falling back on Sharvari and Siddhant."READ THE FULL BUNTY AUR BABLI 2 REVIEW HERE

14:09 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Dhamaka Review: Our verdict

Indian Express film critic Shubhra Gupta gave the Kartik Aaryan film one star and wrote in her Dhamaka review, "Kartik Aaryan film feels like a set. And everyone feels like they are acting out set-pieces in this Netflix thriller."

READ THE FULL DHAMAKA REVIEW HERE

13:41 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Fan 'missed Abhishek Bachchan'

A user @ravijawani tweeted, "@BuntyAurBabli2_   #BuntyAurBabli2 What an entertaining movie! Loved the performance of #SaifAliKhan and my all time favourite #RaniMukerji ! The young B&B have done good too…. Good job #yashrajfilms. Missed  @juniorbachchan though!"

12:55 (IST)19 Nov 2021
When Rani Mukerji says she was afraid of falling in love with Aamir Khan

Rani Mukerji recently appeared on Kapil Sharma’s comedy show on Sony TV to promote Bunty Aur Babli 2, she gave her audience a sneak peek into her early days of Bollywood. She said she was nervous about doing romantic scenes with Aamir Khan and Shah Rukh Khan early on in her career, adding that she had 'young crush' on both of them. READ MORE

12:22 (IST)19 Nov 2021
When and where to watch Kartik Aaryan-starrer
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by KARTIK AARYAN (@kartikaaryan)

Kartik Aaryan shared, "#Dhamaka goes live on Netflix at 1:30 pm today 💥."

11:53 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Bunty Aur Babli 2: Fans conflicted as Saif Ali Khan replaces Abhishek Bachchan as OG conman

Abhishek Bachchan won hearts in Bunty Aur Babli. His acting chops and incredible chemistry with Rani Mukerji made his OG Bunty a fan favourite. READ THIS

11:28 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Ramesh Taurani loves Kartik Aaryan's Dhamaka

Film producer Ramesh Taurani shared on Instagram, "What an amazing movie."

10:51 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Ayushmann Khurrana reviews Dhamaka

Ayushmann Khurrana took to his Instagram story to share, "Watched Dhamaka last night! Whatta dhamakedaar film and performances!"

10:14 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Photos from Dhamaka screening
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Varinder Chawla (@varindertchawla)

Kartik Aaryan hosted a special screening for Dhamaka last night. Here are the photos.

10:00 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Rani Mukerji fans excited to see her on the big screen

A fan @Chamkeelii shared via Twitter, "THE DAY IS HERE! #BuntyAurBabli2 releases today in theatres. Sooooo excited to watch it, been waiting for a sequel since 2005 & waiting for its release for almost 2 years. So thrilled to have #RaniMukerji back as Babli. Whether it works or not, Ranians are in for a treat."

09:27 (IST)19 Nov 2021
Bunty Aur Babli 2 star Siddhant Chaturvedi looks at his journey
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Siddhant Chaturvedi (@siddhantchaturvedi)

Sharing a series of old to new photos of himself, Siddhant Chaturvedi posted, "Inside Edge mein Bowling seekhi…Gully boy mein Rap sikha…Bunty aur Babli mein kya? Kisko Thuga bhaiya?! - Kismat ko Thuga hai, Aur kya. Sabko laga ladka Naukri payega, Settle ho jayega, Kundali mein Vyapaar bhi tha….Magar ladka toh andar se Kalakaar hi tha….."

Pankaj Tripathi is playing a cop in the film. He earlier told PTI, "In the film, the new Bunty Aur Babli are tech-savvy. The old con couple had an old world set-up. In this new digital age, in a bid to earn quick money some people, unfortunately, get trapped. It is the right time to come up with a film like this."

Saif Ali Khan is stepping in Abhishek Bachchan's shoes for the film. In an earlier statement, Saif had said, "Bunty Aur Babli 2 is a completely rebooted sequel and is set in today’s time. It is a fantastic script that hooked me on instantly. It is an out and out entertainer for the entire family to sit and enjoy, and this is what I loved and connected with. Also, it is a new role, language and milieu and that’s what I really look for in a script. I also love the dynamics between the originals and the new Bunty and Babli in the film. It is fresh, hilarious and extremely engaging. Rani and I have always had a lot of fun working with each other, and I am looking forward to our creative collaboration again. It is also equally amazing to be back home at YRF again."

The cast of the film recently appeared on shows like The Kapil Sharma Show, Kaun Banega Crorepati 13 and The Big Picture.

  • news-guard-logo
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • news-guard-logo-with-title
First published on: 19-11-2021 at 08:44 IST
Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments
close