scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Tuesday, September 28, 2021

Bhuj The Pride of India movie review and release updates: Ajay Devgn film is streaming on Disney Plus Hotstar

Bhuj movie review and release updates: Ajay Devgn-starrer Bhuj The Pride of India stars Sanjay Dutt, Sonakshi Sinha, Nora Fatehi, Sharad Kelkar and Ammy Virk among others. Directed by Abhishek Dudhaiya, it releases ahead of Independence Day.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: August 17, 2021 8:54:25 am
ajay devgn bhuj filmAjay Devgn plays IAF Squadron leader Vijay Karnik in Bhuj: The Pride of India. (Photo: Hotstar)

Ajay Devgn-starrer Bhuj: The Pride of India will premiere today on Disney Plus Hotstar. It will begin streaming from 5:30 pm. The Independence Day weekend release, also starring Sanjay Dutt, Sonakshi Sinha, Sharad Kelkar and Ammy Virk, takes a slice out of the 1971 India-Pakistan war. It follows IAF Squadron leader Vijay Karnik (Ajay Devgn) who ensured India’s victory by re-constructing the Bhuj airbase along with the help of 300 women from a local village in Madhapar.

Bhuj: The Pride of India boasts of heavy-duty dialogues that talk of martyrdom, the spirit for patriotism and duties of a soldier.

Revealing why he wanted to be a part of the movie, Ajay Devgn said in a promotional video, “The main aim is to spread awareness of such bravery among the citizens of the country. It is very inspiring to hear such stories, which is one of the primary reasons why I wanted to be a part of the movie.”

He further shared his emotions of donning the uniform of the armed forces. Ajay said, “A lot of strength and dignity comes from wearing the uniform. As soon as one wears it, both the thought process and the body posture automatically undergoes a change. You feel a sense of power within you.”

Live Blog

Follow all the updates about Bhuj: The Pride of India.

22:35 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Our review

The Indian Express film critic Shubhra Gupta gave Bhuj: The Pride of India, one star. In her review she wrote, "The film does exactly what it sets out to do: create a ‘war film’ toplined by a swaggering hero, so heavy on jingoistic jingle jangles and slogan-shouting that it almost succeeds in hiding the real ‘heroes’ of the story – the 300 women who pulled off the incredible feat."

Read the full review here

22:01 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Another click of Ajay Devgn meeting Rajnath Singh

sAjay Devgn tweeted the picture.

21:00 (IST)13 Aug 2021
'Young generation needs to learn more about our army and unsung heroes'

Rohit Jaiswal tweeted, "Hearing some good reviews of #BhujThePrideOfIndia from my media friends… Really feels good when War Oriented real stories gets appreciated … Young Generation needs to learn more about our army and unsung heroes of our great country….. Jai Hind…. Good Luck team #Bhuj"

20:22 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Ajay Devgn meets Defence Minister Rajnath Singh
18:58 (IST)13 Aug 2021
'Bhuj is a big screen, mass-appealing spectacle'
18:32 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Bhuj director's grandmother was among 300 women who built the runway

Director Abhishek Dudhaiya says Bhuj: The Pride of India helped him revisit his grandmother’s story of how she and other women from a village played an active role in reconstructing a bombed airstrip in Bhuj during the 1971 Indo-Pak War.

Read full story here

18:17 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Which countries can watch Bhuj?

The official Twitter handle of Disney Plus Hotstar is replying to all fan related queries.

17:05 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Bhuj: The Pride of India ready to stream!
16:14 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Are you ready to watch Ajay Devgn film?

Taran Adarsh shared on Twitter, "'BHUJ' STREAMING TODAY: NOTE THE TIME... #BhujThePrideOfIndia streaming today at 5:35 pm only on @DisneyPlusHS." 

15:43 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Ajay Devgn shares daughter Nysa’s review of Bhuj The Pride of India

Ahead of Bhuj: The Pride of India release on Disney+ Hotstar on Friday, actor Ajay Devgn spoke to a section of media about how his family enjoyed the film. Ajay saw the film recently with children Nysa and Yug, and wife Kajol. READ THIS

15:29 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Watch Nora Fatehi’s dance number Zaalima Coca Cola

14:59 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Ajay Devgn on Bhuj's OTT release

Ajay Devgn's film Bhuj: The Pride of India, will release on Disney+ Hotstar VIP. Amid the current situation where theatres haven't opened across all states in the country, Devgn said it is better if Bhuj is seen by a wider audience on the streaming platform. "Given the scenario, when you make a film, you want maximum people to see it and OTT is a good platform. I'm not saying all the films should be released on OTT but it'll be a good balance in the future because theatres are going to come back in a big way."

14:30 (IST)13 Aug 2021
'The epic battle begins today'
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Ajay Devgn (@ajaydevgn)

Ajay Devgn shared on Twitter, 'The epic battle begins today! Witness the history unfold  #BhujThePrideOfIndia streaming from today only on @DisneyplusHSVIP.'

14:08 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Tanishaa Mukerji can't wait for Ajay's film

Kajol's sister Tanishaa Mukerji shared on her Instagram story, "Can't wait for this!!"

13:44 (IST)13 Aug 2021
The Kapil Sharma Show hosted Bhuj: The Pride of India stars

Actor-host Kapil Sharm shared a glimpse of the first episode of The Kapil Sharma Show, which is set to return to Sony TV on August 21. The team will host the cast of Bhuj: The Pride of India, including Ajay Devgn, Ammy Virk, Nora Fatehi and Sharad Kelkar. CHECK THIS OUT

12:57 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Sonakshi Sinha mentions the film 'a special one'
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Sonakshi Sinha (@aslisona)

Sonakshi Sinha shared yet another video talking about the film. She wrote, "This movie and role will always be a special one. Today, witness the brave story of Sunderben Jetha Madharparya and the 300 women of Bhuj!"

12:40 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Nora Fatehi’s role in Bhuj: The Pride of India
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Nora Fatehi (@norafatehi)

As shown in the trailer of the film, Nora Fatehi is playing a spy in the film who goes to Pakistan to collect information. Her character is named Heena Rehman.

12:02 (IST)13 Aug 2021
Sharad Kelkar recalls the time when he was faced with debt

Bhuj: The Pride of India actor Sharad Kelkar might be an established actor today, but the road to success was paved with difficulties. In an upcoming episode of Maniesh Paul’s podcast, Sharad recounted the time when he was struggling with his finances. READ THIS

11:45 (IST)13 Aug 2021
'Bhuj: The Pride of India' director revisits his grandmother's story

Debutant director Abhishek Dudhaiya says Bhuj: The Pride of India helped him revisit his grandmother's story of how she and other women from a village played an active role in reconstructing a bombed airstrip in Bhuj during the 1971 Indo-Pak War. "In Bhuj, the story is narrated as a folktale. My grandmother Laxmi Parmar, who was 35 at that time, was one of the 300 women who helped in the making of the runway and I had heard a lot of stories about it from her. So, I decided that whenever I direct a movie, this will be my first film."

11:16 (IST)13 Aug 2021
'More clarity is required on what could become problematic online'

Ajay Devgn said the regulations should be in place to keep a check on any unwarranted content, but more clarity is required on what could become problematic online."If we don't regulate something, people take advantage. Four people taking advantage will spoil the name of the whole industry. If you don't regulate, people will start putting porn on it also. So regulations are important but there has to be a line drawn," said the actor in his interview.

Wing Commander Vijay Karnik, on whom Ajay Devgn's character is based, shared why he gave his nod to Bhuj: The Pride of India. He said, "When director Abhishek Dudhaiya came to me stating he wants to make a film on the incident, he told me that he had done his research, and that the team had spoken to 50-60 women of Matapur. That is when I decided to give my nod to the project. Something within me after that narration told me that this is the man to work with."

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.