Follow Us:
Monday, March 30, 2020

Bhoot movie release: Highlights

Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about Bhoot: The Haunted Ship, starring Vicky Kaushal, Bhumi Pednekar and Ashutosh Rana.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi | Updated: February 23, 2020 6:21:21 am
Bhoot Bhoot movie review: Will Vicky Kaushal deliver another hit?

Vicky Kaushal starrer Bhoot: The Haunted Ship releases today. The movie also features Bhumi Pednekar and Ashutosh Rana in pivotal parts. The Dharma Productions venture is helmed by Bhanu Pratap Singh.

Touted to be the first part of a horror franchise, Bhoot is Vicky’s maiden venture into the horror genre. Talking about his experience of shooting the movie, the actor told indianexpress.com, ” The grammar of shooting a horror film was different and a new experience for me. It is very technical. You have to be scared in response to a thing which does not exist. It is like romancing my heroine who doesn’t exist. It is difficult. You have to use your imagination and have to be very focused. You don’t have the scope to improvise unlike other genres.”

“For this film, I needed to learn what all goes into the post-production process after the film has been shot. I was also keen to know what sort of background music is being used in different situations because my acting also kind of depended on it,” he added.

Live Blog

Read all the updates about Vicky Kaushal's Bhoot: The Haunted Ship.

Highlights

    17:00 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Bhoot: Public verdict
    13:25 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Bhoot: Our vedict

    Indian Express' Shalini Langer gave the film 1.5 stars out of 5. In her review, she wrote, "Bhumi Pednekar and Ashutosh Rana are there to add some brief acting heft, and to do some mantra-reciting ghost-fighting. A large part, however, is left to the able and much-taxed shoulders of Vicky Kaushal."

    13:10 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Weak screenplay'

    “And the struggle continues for us as #BhootTheHauntedShip couldn't lived upto my expectation .Instilled with not so genuine scary moments , weak screenplay and average performance by Vicky this would have been better specially in second half. Average saga !,” said @RahulVerma4860 on Twitter.

    12:54 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Not worth the hype'

    User @Box_Office_new shared on Twitter, “#Bhoot is not worth the hype, your time and money. It fails to scare and thril you. Weak and predictable storyline, amateurish direction are biggest drawbacks. Will find the going tough at box office.”

    12:40 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Disappointing affair'

    User @Sharanyashettyy posted “Meh.. There is nothing that scares you even in the second half.. Disappointing affair l.. It doesn't even try to scare you #BhootReview #BhootPartOneTheHauntedShip.”

    12:24 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Spookfest'

    “#Bhoot creats an unprecedented  ambience for a hindi horror.Spine chilling affair backed by a strong storyline. Bereft of usual tropes, it redefines the genre.@vickykaushal09 pitches in a hair raising performance. A spookfest best savoured on big screens,” said user @BollyFiesta via Twitter.

    12:09 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'You will relish Vicky Kaushal's perfomance'

    User @iPriyanka_S posted on Twitter, “#BhootTheHauntedShip gives you many moments to hide your face behind the one sitting next to you, and just when you get hungry for more scares, it stops serving you. It's, however, @vickykaushal09's performance that you will relish long after your plate is empty.”

    11:56 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Vicky Kaushal is the only plus'

    “#OneWordReview...#Bhoot: DULL. Rating: 1 ½ starws Fails to live up to its title... Weak writing... Lethargic pace... Few scares... Exhausting second half... Unconvincing backstory... #VickyKaushal is the only plus here. #BhootReview,” tweeted entertainment tracker Girish Johar.

    11:36 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Outstanding performance by Vicky Kaushal'

    Casting director Mukesh Chhabra wrote on twitter, "Just watched bhoot..Outstanding performance by @vickykaushal09. Scared to type anything right now...I'll tweet about bhoot tomorrow morning... Till then keep thinking about bhoot.SkullSkull"

    11:09 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Vicky Kaushal sharing his phobias
     
     
     
     
     
    View this post on Instagram
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     

    The making... #Bhoot #TheHauntedShip @karanjohar @apoorva1972 @bhumipednekar @bhanu.singh.91 @ShashankKhaitan @somenmishra @dharmamovies @zeestudiosofficial @zeemusiccompany

    A post shared by Vicky Kaushal (@vickykaushal09) on

    10:49 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Unapologetically scary'

    Fashion photographer tweeted, "Just saw #Bhoot.. Definitely not sleeping tonight!Face screaming in fearUnapologetically scary!! Go watch it to get scared.. very scared!! @vickykaushal09 carries it brilliantly! Superb direction & production Thumbs up"

    10:33 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Phat jaayegi'

    TV actor Arjun Bhijlani wrote on Twiter, "Watched #bhootthehauntedship .. guys u must watch it . Hindi mein bole toh phat jaayegi... congratulations @DharmaMovies @karanjohar sir @ShashankKhaitan sir and #bhanupratapsingh . U were amazing  @vickykaushal09."

    10:18 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'India’s best horror work'

    Director Mudassar Aziz tweeted, "#BhootTheHauntedShip is a HANDS DOWN WINNER!!! Easily India’s best horror work! Kudos #Bhanu for fabulous debut! Take a bow @ShashankKhaitan & @karanjohar And @vickykaushal09 my man... YOU ARE A SUPERSTAR! Love you  @bhumipednekar & the whole team!!! Waaah!"

    10:06 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Ayushmann Khurrana wishes luck to Vicky Kaushal

    Ayushmann Khurrana shared this message for Vicky Kaushal on Twitter. Ayushmann's Shubh Mangal Zyaada Saadhan releases alongside Vicky's Bhoot.

    09:51 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Best Indian horror film I’ve seen'

    Huma Qureshi shared on Twitter, "This is the best Indian horror film I’ve seen !! #BhootTheHauntedShip is scary and cool all rolled into one !! @Bps_91 what a debut sir !! And @vickykaushal09 is unbelievably good (as usual).. the whole team and my girl @bhumipednekar are on fire Fire @ShashankKhaitan @karanjohar"

    09:35 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Powerful and path-breaking film'

    "@ShashankKhaitan I know this film is very special to you ❤ More power to you for nurturing such amazing talent and picking these scripts :) @karanjohar @apoorvamehta18 @DharmaMovies congratulations on making such a powerful and path-breaking film #Bhoot - it truly scares the daylights out of you," continued Bhumi Pednekar.

    09:26 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Screamed so hard while watching Bhoot'

    Bhumi Pednekar shared on Twitter, "I screamed so hard while watching #Bhoot that I had a muscle spasm. @Bps_91 you didn’t give us a minute to breathe. You've made a genre-breaking horror film and everything about it is excellent. I've never seen something come alive like this from paper to screen. Am so proud of you @vickykaushal09 - aka Prithvi. The fear, the pain, the loss, the courage and vulnerability that you portray on screen is beautiful. We were so invested in you 👏🏻"

    09:07 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'The scariest Hindi movie I’ve seen in a while'

    Nushrat Bharucha, shared on Twitter "Saw #Bhoot last night & OH MY GOD, I have screamed out loud in the theater! People around me were screaming! By far the scariest Hindi movie I’ve seen in a while, it really does shake you right out of your chair & make your popcorn fall over the place! @DharmaMovies a brave move turning DARK! Hope you turn into other colours too & set the bar this high for their genres! @vickykaushal09 You’re simply fantastic! @Bps_91 a very well shot movie, amazingly made! Staying true to the horror genre, it really scared the shit out of me!"

    08:52 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    'Bhoot has some really genuine scares'

    Amol Parashar posted on Twitter, "#Bhoot has some really genuine scares! Saw a horror film after a long time and realized I do get scared. Kudos brother @vickykaushal09 for carrying the film, you are superlative and solid! @bhumipednekar aapne ek chance mein hi darra diya @DharmaMovies"

    08:36 (IST)21 Feb 2020
    Bhoot: Our verdict

    Bhumi Pednekar and Ashutosh Rana are there to add some brief acting heft, and to do some mantra-reciting ghost-fighting. A large part, however, is left to the able and much-taxed shoulders of Vicky Kaushal.

    Also Read | Bhoot movie review: Vicky Kaushal is the saving grace of this horror film

    Director Bhanu Pratap Singh is making his debut as a filmmaker with Bhoot: The Haunted Ship. However, in his interview with indianexpress.com, Bhanu said that he doesn't fear comparisons with other movies in the same genre.

    "I am confident enough to say it is on par with Hollywood films. We are trying to do something different this time, thanks to my producers who backed me. In India, we make all sorts of movies, be it romantic, or even biopics but not many horror films are made. Some scripts are written, but producers do not back it because they think it would not work at the box office. I won’t say make a lot of them, but at least one or two horror films from big production houses will encourage others to support such films because there is an audience for it," Bhanu said.