Follow Us:
Monday, February 17, 2020
Live now

Badla movie review and release LIVE UPDATES: Celebs laud Amitabh-Taapsee film

Badla movie review and release live updates: Here's what celebrities, critics and fans are saying about Taapsee Pannu, Amitabh Bachchan and Amrita Singh starrer Badla.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi | Updated: March 8, 2019 5:48:28 pm
Badla review Badla movie review: Badla is produced by Gauri Khan, Sunir Khetarpal, Akshai Puri and Gaurav Verma.

Sujoy Ghosh’s whodunnit drama Badla, starring Taapsee Pannu and Amitabh Bachchan, has hit the screens. The film is a remake of hit Spanish thriller The Invisible Guest (2016) and is produced by Gauri Khan, Sunir Khetarpal, Akshai Puri and Gaurav Verma. It also stars Manav Kaul and Amrita Singh.

Talking about adapting a hit crime-thriller, Ghosh told The Indian Express, “The story of Badla, which is based on the Spanish movie Contratiempo (The Invisible Guest), has a very interesting premise. Something I had not attempted earlier. While making movies, there has to be a certain amount of excitement to keep one going. I had watched the Spanish movie. It took me a while to wrap my head around it. I read the original script and all its drafts. The initial struggle was how do I top this. More importantly, the question for me was that can I better it? It’s only after I found answers to my questions that I took up this project.”

The songs, trailer and the promo videos of the film have created a positive buzz among cinephiles. The film is the second collaboration of Amitabh Bachchan and Taapsee Pannu after 2016’s successful Pink.

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about Badla.

Highlights

    17:48 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Saqib Saleem 'can’t wait to watch' Badla

    Saqib Saleem took to his Twitter account and wrote, "Wishing team #Badla my best .. can’t wait to watch it over the weekend!! @SrBachchan @taapsee @sujoy_g @iamsrk @PuriAkshai @SunirKheterpal @RedChilliesEnt."

    17:42 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    'Badla is made by fantastic team with outstanding actors'

    "Guys go catch #badla in theatres today made by a fantastic team with outstanding actors #akshaypuri," Varun Dhawan shared via Twitter.

    16:55 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Badla director Sujoy Ghosh on equation between Taapsee and Amitabh Bachchan on the sets

    "They are very comfortable with each other. They have known each other for long, which is great but that doesn’t help because this is a new film. So, no matter how well they know each or how much they have worked, they still have to start from scratch in my film," Sujoy Ghosh shared in a interaction with indianexpress.com.

    16:23 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Raj Nayak is looking forward to see Badla

    "Hearing fab reviews on the movie. Looking forward to seeing it soon. #BadlaToday #BadlaReviews," Raj Nayak wrote on his Twitter account.

    15:45 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Taapsee Pannu on similarities between her characters in Pink and Badla

    In a recent interview with indianexpress.com, Taapsee Pannu shared, "Pink was a social thriller. Badla is a murder thriller." Sharing about her same co-star in both the films, Big B, she said, "Of course, the equation of the lawyer (Amitabh Bachchan) and the client remains the same. He is again asking me questions, but we are settling it out of court this time (laughs)."

    15:14 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    'Taapsee is under a great spin as a performer'

    "If you love a good taut thriller that turns the whole plot on its head... go watch #Badla! @taapsee is under a great spin as a performer and @SrBachchan enthralls ! Congrats @PuriAkshai , @SunirKheterpal @sujoy_g , @iamsrk !," Lada Guruden Singh said via Twitter.

    14:53 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Farah Khan wishes Badla gang

    Farah Khan posted on Twitter, "Wishing the entire #BADLA gang all the very best for the release!! Don’t be an invisible guest.. Go See It! @sujoy_g @iamsrk @SrBachchan @taapsee @AKSHAYPURI_9 @sunilkhetarpal @RedChilliesEnt"

    14:37 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Armaan Malik feels Badla actor Taapsee is 'really AMAZING'
    14:10 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Badla: Our verdict

    Badla, an official remake of a Spanish murder mystery, pulls off a mostly gripping whodunit, something Bollywood rarely manages.

    Also Read | Badla movie review: A well-crafted suspense thriller

    13:56 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Badla excepted to be a riveting experience

    Joginder Tuteja wrote on Twitter , "So much looking forward to #Badla today. Thrillers are my favourite genre and I trust @sujoy_g to deliver a riveting experience with @SrBachchan and @taapsee alongside him. @iamsrk stepping in as a producer only makes it further special."

    13:44 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Amitabh Bachchan's 'body language, dialogue delivery is too perfect'

    Aditi Raval took to Twitter to share, "Now watching #Badla .. she is terrific @taapsee and @SrBachchan is as usual too good !! His body language , dialogue delivery , charm , acting etc are too perfect 👌🏼😻."

    13:27 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Prosenjit Chatterjee is 'excited to watch' Amitabh Bachchan

    ‪Prosenjit Chatterjee tweeted, "Excited to watch Amit Ji and Taapsee together in #Badla. Best wishes to Sir @SrBachchan, @sujoy_g , @taapsee and the entire team."

    13:08 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    'Badla is a nail-biting suspense thriller'

    Ritesh Arora shared his views on Badla. He said, "#Badla is a combination of a nail-biting suspense thriller and emotional revenge drama lead by superlative performances!! @SrBachchan @taapsee @iamsrk @sujoy_g @_GauravVerma @SunirKheterpal."

    12:54 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Badla off to a good start

    Film distributor Raj Bansal shared on his Twitter account, "The reports of @SrBachchan @taapsee @sujoy_g #Badla is very good. In the end film gets a standing ovation. Superb performance & direction."

    12:41 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Abhishek Bachchan asks all to go watch Badla

    "BADLAAAA!! Go watch. #Badla @SrBachchan @sujoy_g @taapsee," Abhishek Bachchan said via Twitter.

    12:22 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Mahendra Soni is 'e x c i t e d to watch Badla'

    Mahendra Soni shared on Twitter, "I am so e x c i t e d to watch #Badla on big screen just to see A N G R Y @SrBachchan #NoOneDoesItBetter Best wishes @sujoy_g @_GauravVerma @RedChilliesEnt @iamsrk @taapsee @SVFsocial #TheArtOfRevenge."

    12:06 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Gaurav Verma is proud of what has been created

    Gaurav Verma, who is a part of Red Chillies Entertainment tweeted, "Finally the day of release! Please go watch it!! Thank you @sujoy_g @SunirKheterpal and @PuriAkshai for #badla so proud of what you have created!! It’s been an absolute honour @SrBachchan @taapsee thank you!!! @iamsrk @RedChilliesEnt."

    11:55 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    'Best wishes to team Badla'

    Actor Vedhika shared a poster of Badla and wrote, "Best wishes to team #Badla for their big release today @SunirKheterpal @RedChilliesEnt @SrBachchan @sujoy_g @taapsee Cant wait to watch this one 👏👌."

    11:40 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Badla is 'going to be kickass'

    Pratim D Gupta wrote on his Twitter account, "Kahaani-teller @sujoy_g back with #Badla today! Avik-da behind the camera, @SrBachchan and @taapsee in front. This is going to be kickass!"

    11:25 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Milap is 'hearing terrific reports'

    Director Milap tweeted, "Missed the #Badla screening last night but hearing terrific reports!! Congrats and best of luck @sujoy_g @SrBachchan sir @taapsee @iamsrk @RedChilliesEnt It’s gonna rock!!! 💪👏🤗."

    11:01 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Sujoy Ghosh asks all to see Badla

    "#badla in cinemas today. please see if you can. hope you enjoy 😀," Badla director Sujoy Ghosh wrote on Twitter.

    10:48 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Parambrata shares his best wishes

    Parambrata posted on Twitter, "It’s #Badla time! Best wishes to the team! Really looking forward to it! @RedChilliesEnt @SrBachchan @taapsee . Kaku I have a feeling you’re gonna Kick some serious ass here @sujoy_g."

    10:25 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    'Hearing super stuff about Badla'

    Karan Johar shared on Twitter, "Big love to you Sujoy!! And to team @RedChilliesEnt @SrBachchan @taapsee @iamsrk !! Can’t wait to see it! Hearing super stuff!!!!"

    10:16 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    On the fence about watching Badla? Check out the trailer of Amitabh-Taapsee film

    10:00 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    'Badla leaves you engaged, breathless and guessing'

    "Based on the Spanish feature "The Invisible Guest", the @sujoy_g - directed #Badla, leaves you engaged, breathless and guessing. It accomplishes almost all the elements in any checklist of a nail-biting thriller-suspense. Exemplary perfs by @SrBachchan and @taapsee," film producer Tanuj Garg said via Twitter.

    09:43 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Actor Zoa Morani on Badla

    "Saw #Badla last night, was so sad when it got over! it kept me at the edge of my seat the entire time, the journey SO exciting ! Thank you @sujoy_g for making this! what a role @SrBachchan 🤩🤩 & @taapsee 🤩@RedChilliesEnt @iAmAzure ‘s got a winner and HOW !!!," tweeted Zoa Morani. 

    09:34 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    'What an amazing suspenseful film'

    Director-writer Tarun Mansukhani tweeted, "Just watched #Badla What an amazing suspenseful film. @SrBachchan and @taapsee keep you riveted wanting to find out the truth!! Way to go @sujoy_g here's to another gripping Kahani from you!!! 🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗."

    09:21 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Jackky Bhagnani on Badla
    09:11 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Badla box office prediction

    Film trade analyst Girish Johar has predicted a Rs 3 crore opening day box office collection for Badla. He said, “It looks like an enticing thriller. Though it has good names like Amitabh (Bachchan) and Taapsee (Pannu) attached to it, I feel this kind of niche high-end thrillers are targeted at a specific audience which is the multiplex audience.”

    He added, “The film is promoted as a thriller and has made the audience keen. I somehow feel this is a film which will work based on word of mouth. It may start decent but once the word of mouth comes into play, it might earn Rs 3 crore on its opening day at the box office.”

    Also read | Badla box office prediction: Taapsee Pannu and Amitabh Bachchan film to earn Rs 3 crore on Day 1

    09:00 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    'What a mind bending climax'

    Paltan actor Harshvardhan Rane wrote on Twitter, "Just watched #Badla what a mind bending climax 💥 you will not be able to guess the end🎭. @RedChilliesEnt, @SunirKheterpal Sir fabulous execution. Got to witness master craftsman @sujoy_g Sir, the ever flawless @taapsee and one of the finest deliveries by @SrBachchan Sir❤️" 

    08:49 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    Kunal Kohli On Badla

    Filmmaker Kunal Kohli tweeted, "Saw #Badla last night @SrBachchan what a nuanced performance. @taapsee shows her versatility yet again.
    #AmritaSingh in one of her best performances to date Congrats #TeamBadla." 

    08:37 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    'Superb performances by every actor'

    "What a gripping film #Badla is and post interval it just tightens it’s grip around you and nails you there. Superb performances by every actor. @taapsee is so natural and effortless. Amritaji is stellar @SrBachchan is as usual legendary! Take a bow @sujoy_g," actor Ronit Roy wrote on Twitter.

    08:21 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    'Don't miss this gem'

    After watching Badla, Riteish Deshmukh tweeted, "Master Story Weaver @sujoy_g ‘s #Badla is brilliant. @SrBachchan Sir you are just amazing in the film- Pure GOLD. @taapsee you are such a fine actor.👏🏽👏🏽 #AmritaSingh is amazing -@PuriAkshai proud of you Congratulations @RedChilliesEnt & the entire team- Don’t Miss this Gem." 

    08:10 (IST)08 Mar 2019
    'Badla is super engaging'

    Vicky Kaushal posted on Twitter, "#Badla ...One of the most gripping films in recent times. Super engaging. And what joy in watching Bachchan Sir and Taapsee sit across a table and give such fine and inspiring performances! Sujoy Da’s superlative direction! @SrBachchan @taapsee @sujoy_g Best wishes to the team 🙏"

    This is the fourth time that Amitabh Bachchan and Sujoy Ghosh have united for a film. Earlier they have worked together in films like TE3N, Kahaani and Aladin. Talking about working with Senior Bachchan, Ghosh told Mumbai Mirror, "When you get an actor like Amitabh Bachchan, half your battle is won as he’s every director’s delight and I’m extremely excited to direct him."