Follow Us:
Saturday, August 08, 2020

‘Aashiqui 2’ sweeps GiMA awards with six trophies

Mohit Suri's love saga 'Aashiqui 2' was a big winner at the 4th GiMA Awards.

, Edited by Goyal Divya | Mumbai | Published: January 21, 2014 3:32:23 pm
Aashiqui 2 Mohit Suri’s love saga ‘Aashiqui 2’ was a big winner at the 4th GiMA Awards.

Mohit Suri’s love saga ‘Aashiqui 2’ was a big winner at the 4th edition of Global Indian Music Academy (GiMA) Awards with six wins in the film section including best film album.

The best film song honour went to ‘Tumhi ho’ from ‘Aashiqui 2’ and the singer Arijit Singh bagged best playback male award. Shreya Ghoshal was named best female singer for her rendition ‘Sun Raha Hai Na Tu’ in the film.

The best musical debut award was given to Ankit Tiwari for ‘Sun Raha Hai Na Tu’ and Eric Pillai won the best sound engineer for the Aditya Roy Kapoor, Shraddha Kapoor starrer.

‘Aashiqui 2’ was followed by Ranbir Kapoor’s ‘Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani’, which won three honours- best music director for Pritam, best duet for Rekha Bhardwaj and Tochi Raina (Kabira) and best music arranger for the song ‘Badtameez Dil’.

Farhan Akhtar starrer ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ and Abhishek Kapoor-directed ‘Kai Po Che’ bagged one award each in the the best background score category for Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy and best lyricist Swanand Kirkire (Manza) respectively.

The prestigious Lifetime Achievement Honour was awarded to Asha Bhosle in the popular category for her outstanding contribution to the music industry. Pt Ram Narayan, considered the finest sarangi exponent in the country and the man who made it a popular instrument was also awarded the Lifetime Achievement Honour – Classical.

Global music icon honour went to Pt Ravi Shankar’s daughter Anoushka Shankar and L Subramaniam was given the global musician honour.

The ceremony hosted by actor Ranveer Singh featured performances by Bhosle, who paid tribute to music legend RD Burman as she sang some of his most iconic songs ‘Mera Naam Shabnam’, ‘Dum Maro Dum’, ‘Gulabi Chehra’, ‘Duniya Mein’ and ‘Aa Dekhe Zara’ among others.

The evening also saw performances by actress Sonakshi Sinha, Mika and Honey Singh. The show also showcased a host of promising and upcoming artistes including Aditya Narayan, Shefali Alvares, Ankit Tiwari, Sreeram, Bhoomi, Aditi Singh Sharma, Siddharth Mahadevan and Nikhil Paul George come together in a very special act, rendering the chart busters of the year gone by.

Usha Uthup also had a special performance singing a number of songs, most notably, Adele’s Oscar-winning hit ‘Skyfall’.

In the non-film music category singer Shilpa Rao bagged the the best music debut award for Coke Studio’s ‘Dum Dum’. Best pop album honour went to Ram Sampath for the album ‘Satyamev Jayate’, best indie song was won by Clinton Cerejo, Vishal Dadlani, Sonu Kakkar for the hit ‘Madari’.

Harshdeep Kaur was honoured with the best devotional album award for ‘Ik On’kar’. Late singer Jagjit Singh was awarded the best ghazal album honour for ‘The Master And His Magic’. The GiMA Awards was presented by Gionee and Star TV and powered by Reliance 3G.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Entertainment News, download Indian Express App.