Election results 2016: From PM Narendra Modi to Oommen Chandy, who said whathttps://indianexpress.com/article/elections-2016/india/politics/elections-2016-results-2808381/

Election results 2016: From PM Narendra Modi to Oommen Chandy, who said what

Assembly elections 2016: Here's how leaders of various political parties reacted to the results

Mamata Banerjee’s TMC is set to form government in West Bengal, Jayalalithaa will retain power in Tamil Nadu, Tarun Gogoi has been voted out of Assam and the Left have stormed back to power in Kerala.

As the final results of assembly elections 2016 in five states have been pouring in, it’s become clear that Mamata Banerjee and J Jayalalithaa will retain their terms in West Bengal and Tamil Nadu respectively.

Assam witnessed BJP’s historic victory in the state as Sarbananda Sonowal prepares to be the next chief minister after Tarun Gogoi’s three consecutive terms. In Kerala, the CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) has come back to power with a clear majority of 83 seats. On the other hand, Puducherry seems set to see a new chief minister, and is the only hope for Congress this time.

WATCH VIDEO | Election Results 2016: Editors Analyse How The Parties Fared

Here are some reactions:

1. PM Narendra Modi tweeted: “I thank the people of Assam, WB, TN, Puducherry & Kerala for their support & assure them we will always work hard & serve them.” He also tweeted, “Heartiest congratulations to Assam BJP Karyakartas & leaders for the exceptional win. This win is historic by all standards. Phenomenal!”



2. Kerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy said the debacle of the UDF was unexpected. “We accept the verdict of the people. This setback was unexpected. During the electioneering and subsequent discussions, we got the feedback that the UDF would retain power. The verdict went against our expectation. The UDF and the Congress would discuss the outcome and make corrective steps.”

3. Assam CM Tarun Gogoi also expressed his greetings for the winning party saying, “I congratulate Sarbananda Sonowal & BJP for their grand success, we will fulfil our role as opposition.”

4.  “Sincerely grateful to people of Assam for giving us opportunity to work fr development of state,” said Sarbananda Sonowal, BJP’s face for CM’s position in Assam.

5. Home Minister Rajnath Singh said, “BJP’s success in the assembly polls clearly shows the increased confidence of the people in our commitment to development and governance.”

6. I convey my heartiest thanks to voters who have reaffirmed their faith on me and given me another chance, said Tamil Nadu’s Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa. She said in a press conference, ” I’ll continue to strive for the betterment of this state till my last breath.”

7. “It is of course disappointing, we will be a constructive opposition,” said Congress leader Shashi Tharoor. He also tweeted, “As Thiruvananthapuram MP, I agreed with new Nemom MLA O. Rajagopal that we must work together for the constituency’s development and pledged co-operation.”

8. Want to congratulate BJP. We have lost because of Congress party: Badruddin Ajmal, AIUDF Chief.

9. “Accept people’s verdict, will look into where we went wrong,” said TMC’s candidate from Tamil Nadu Baichung Bhutia on losing to CPIM candidate Ashok Bhattacharya.

10. This is a huge win for LDF in Kerala, will bring development for Kerala and take people towards a new direction: CPIMs Prakash Karat.

11. Since all exit polls predicted DMK’s win, this forced ruling Govt to spend more money, said DMK’s Dayanidhi Maran.

12.”Assembly results clearly show that people of India are intolerant towards Congress,”said Union Minister of Urban Development Venkaiah Naidu

13. Results in Assam, Kerala although disappointing for Congress are not unexpected: Congress’ Jairam Ramesh

14. It’s great day for India.Finally,we’re moving towards India which doesn’t hv footprints of Cong,almost anywhere in country: Piyush Goyal, BJP.


15. Result shows that people who trying to disrupt Parliament, politicise issues (Cong) have been shown doors by voters: Amit Shah