Follow Us:
Saturday, September 18, 2021

Tamil Nadu Assembly: 10 Opposition MLAs to join AIADMK

With eight of his MLAs giving in their resignation, DMDK's Captain Vijayakanth lost the status of leader of opposition.

Written by Arun Janardhanan | Chennai |
Updated: March 18, 2016 12:31:34 pm
tamil nadu, tamil nadu assembly, dmdk mla resign, aiadmk, jayalalitha, tamil nadu mlas resign, tamil mlas resign, dmdk mlas, tamil nadu politics. india politics, india news Ten dissident MLAs submit resignation to Speaker in Tamil Nadu Assembly. (Source: PTI)

Ten opposition MLAs, including eight from Captain Vijayakanth’s DMDK, resigned as legislators Sunday. The resignations come a day after the last day of the last session of Tamil Nadu’s 14th Assembly.

With eight of his MLAs resigning, DMDK leader Captain Vijayakanth lost the leader of opposition status. In a statement, Assembly secretary A M P Jamaluddin said no party was now now qualified for the post of leader of opposition as all had lost the minimum required strength of 24 MLAs.

All these MLAs, however, had been supporting AIADMK for nearly two years in the Assembly and a formal resignation was needed for them to join the party.

The resignations come a day after Vijayakanth and his wife Premalatha had, on Saturday, launched a scathing attack on Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa during a rally in Kancheepuram.


The DMDK MLAs who resigned are K Pandiarajan (the legislator from Virudhunagar), C Arun Pandian (Peravurani), S Michael Royappan (Radhapu-ram), T Sundararajan (Madurai West), Tamil Azhagan (Tittagudi), T Suresh Kumar (Chengam), M Arun Subramanian (Tiruttani) and R Santhi (Senthamangalam). 

M Kalaiarasan, who had won the Anaicut seat on a PMK ticket, also submitted his resignation along with A Ramasamy of the Puthiya Thamizhagam party.

While Vijayakanth himself had suspended seven rebel MLAs from the party’s primary membership in June 2013 after they voted against party candidate A R Elangovan in the Rajya Sabha election, there were also incidents of DMDK MLAs and dissidents exchanging blows in the Assembly.

PMK had Kalaiarasan expelled from the party in February 2014 for supporting Jayalalithaa. A Ramasamy, one of the two MLAs of Puthiya Thamizhagam, had also been in the news from early 2014 for his attempts to get close to AIADMK leadership. His party leader Dr. Krishnasamy, who founded the party based in southern Tamil Nadu representing Scheduled Castes, is a strong critic of Jayalalithaa.


📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by