Kerala election results: CPI(M)-led LDF regains power, BJP opens account

Kerala election results: CPI(M)-led LDF regains power, BJP opens account

Kerala election results LIVE: Senior UDF ministers like K Babu, Shibu Baby John and KP Mohanan have suffered defeats

Kerala election Results, election results, live Kerala elections, live Kerala election results, manorama, mathrubhumi, election result online, Kerala election result online, election results in Kerala, Assembly Results 2016, Election Result 2016, Kerala election results 2016, election results Kerala, Kerala Election Result Live, Kerala election results live, Kerala election result update, Kerala election news, BJP results, LDF results, UDF results
Kerala election results LIVE: Chief Minister and Congress leader Oommen Chandy (left) and CPM leader and CM contender VS Achuthanandan

CPI(M)-led LDF regained power in Kerala cruising to a comfortable majority by inflicting a massive drubbing to the ruling Congress-headed UDF in the assembly polls which also saw BJP scripting history by opening its account in the state assembly.

LDF won 91 of the 140 assembly seats at stake. The result of Wadakkancherry is yet to be declared officially where UDF candidate Anil Akkara has won by a margin of just three votes. The Left Democratic Front (LDF) won 85 seats on its own and another six by independents fielded by the opposition front.

93-year-old V S Achutanandan, the face of the LDF campaign and CPI(M) polit bureau member Pinarayi Vijayan,
Thomas Issac, E P Jayarajan and actor Mukesh are among prominent winners in the LDF.

ALSO READ: Mohammed Mohsin and Roji M John: From the heart of JNU agitation to aisles of Kerala Assembly


BJP’s leader and former Union minister O Rajagopal won from Nemom by defeating CPI(M) MLA V Sivankutty by a margin of 8,671 votes.

Adding to the Congress agony is the defeat of Chandy ministers like Shibu Baby John, KP Mohanan and K Babu.

Watch video

Real time update of Kerala election results 2016:

Tamil Nadu | Assam | West Bengal | Puducherry

Who are the winners and losers in this election?Click here


[Follow the complete coverage of Assembly elections 2016 (click here)]

6:30 pm: Oommen Chandy to submit resignation to Kerala Governor tomorrow at 10 am.

5:43 pm: One CPI (M) worker dead after a bomb was hurled during LDF’s victory rally in Pinarayi, Kannur district of Kerala. (ANI)

2:15 pm: The picture so far in the state

The trends in Kerala at 2 pm
The trends in Kerala at 2 pm