From Mamata to Jayalalithaa: Here is how the big names fared in the five states

From Mamata to Jayalalithaa: Here is how the big names fared in the five states

It was also surprising to see many stalwarts losing the battle and underdogs making a big turnaround in the recent elections in five states.

Election WInner, latest election winners, Tamil Nadu winner, Jayalalithaa winner, mamata winner, tmc winner, election result winner, election result winner 2016, assam election result winner, election results online, election 2016 wiiner, election assam winner, election today win, Election win 2016, Elections, Election Results 2016, Election Results, Election Result 2016 Live, Election result live, election result online, online election result, election results 2016 online, Assembly election Results, live assembly election result, Assam election results 2016 live, West Bengal election results 2016 live, Tamil Nadu election results 2016 live, Kerala election results 2016 live, Puducherry election results 2016 live
The Congress faced humiliation in both Kerala and Assam, where the BJP made a historic debut.

The results of the Assembly elections in four states and the UT of Puducherry threw many surprises with AIADMK defying history to come back to power and Mamata Banerjee’s TMC silencing critics taming anti-incumbency to retain power in West Bengal. The Congress faced humiliation in both Kerala and Assam, where the BJP made a historic debut. It was also surprising to see many stalwarts losing the battle and underdogs making a big turnaround.

From Mamata to Jayalalithaa: Here is how the big names fared

West Bengal

Mamata Banerjee: The TMC chief and West Bengal Chief Minister won the Bhabanipur seat thrashing Congress leader Deepa Dasmunsi by almost 15000 votes.

Baichung Bhutia: The former Indian football team captain and TMC candidate from Siliguri lost to CPI (M)’s Ashok Bhattacharya by over 1,300 votes.


Roopa Ganguly: The TV actor and a BJP candidate from Howrah North lost to Laxmi Ratan Shukla (TMC) and former Indian cricketer by almost 30,000 votes.

Madan Mitra: The former Transport Minister of Mamata cabinet, who is at present in jail for his alleged involvement in the Saradha chit fund scam, lost to Manas Mukherjee (CPM) from Kamarhati seat.

Sujan Chakraborty: CPM top name defeated TMC’s Manish Gupta by a margin of over 10,000 vote in Jadavpur.

Surjya Kant Mishra: The state secretary of CPM who was once a Minister of Health in the Buddhadeb Bhattacharya’s cabinet was defeated by TMC’s Prodyut Kumar Ghosh in Narayngarh.


Tamil Nadu

Capt Vijayakant: The former Leader of Opposition in Tamil Nadu Assembly and the founder of DMDK lost to Kumaraguru R of ADMK from Ulundurpettai.

Anbumani Ramadoss: The former Union Health Minister and PMK’s chief ministerial candidate in Tamil Nadu, is trailing in Pennagaram.

Jayalalithaa: The AIADMK chief is close to a big victory in Radhakrishnan Nagar. Her conviction in disproportionate assets case and strong anti-incumbency campaign failed to influence her follower.

MK Stalin: The DMK chief’s son who was seen as potential chief ministerial candidate won from Kolathur defeating his AIADMK rival JCD Prabhakar of AIADMK by over 15000 votes.

M Karunanidhi: The DMK chief retained his Thiruvarur seat thrashing AIADMK’s R Paneerselvam by a big margin of 67549 votes.

R. Sakkarapani: The DMK MLA from Oddanchatram retained his seat defeating K Kittusamy of AIADMK by around 36000 votes.


Prafulla Kumar Mahanta: The AGP leader is ahead of Congress’ Suresh Bora from Brahampur. His decision to form an alliance with the BJP gave good return as the coalition ousted ‘the ruling Tarun Gogoi government.

Atul Bora: The AGP chief defeated Congress’ Arun Phukan from Bokakhat by over 40,000 votes.

Badruddin Ajmal: The AUDF leader lost to Congress’ Wazed Ali Shah from South Salmara. Ajmal is also the president of the Assam State Jamiat Ulema-e-Hind and a member of the advisory board of Darul Uloom Deoband.

Himanta Biswa Sarma: Once called Tarun Gogoi’s blue-eyed boy, the BJP leader defeated his old party (Congress) candidate Niren Deka in Jalukbari by a huge margin of 85935 votes.

Sarbananda Sonwal: The BJP’s chief ministerial candidate secured 49602 votes to defeat Rajib Lochan (30679) of Congress by over 19000 votes in Majauli. The 54-year-old Sports Minister’s name as the party’s face came as no surprise as he came with a clean image and no baggage and enjoyed the confidence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Tarun Gogoi: The Assam Chief Minister retained his Titabar seat beating BJP’s Kamakhya Prasad Tasa by around 17000 votes. However, his party failed to counter the anti-incumbency wave.

Siddhartha Bhattacharya: The former head of BJP’s Assam unit defeated his nearest rival Bobbeeta Sharma of Congress by a huge margin of 96532 votes in East Gauhati.



Sreesanth: Once an aggressive pacer on the cricket filed, failed to deliver on his political debut for the BJP as he lost to Congressa VS Sivakumar.

Oommen Chandy: Though his party failed to retain power, the chief minister defeated his opponent JC Thomas of CPM by over 25000 votes in Puthupally.

KM Mani: Named in the bar bribery scam, the Kerala Congress leader KM Mani avoided humiliation and defeated NCP’s M C Kappen to retain Pala seat.

Kummanam Rajasekharan: The state BJP chief lost to Congress leader K Muraleedharan, son of former Kerala CM K Karunakaran, from Vattiyoorkavu.

Pinarayi Vijayan: A Politburo member and former Kerala state secretary Pinarayi Vijayan thrashed Mambaram Divakaran from Congress by 37000 votes. Although the campaign for the CPM in the state was largely led by Achuthanandan, Vijayan could end up being the CM.

VS Achuthanandan: The former chief minister and CPM veteran comfortably won from his Malampuzha constituency. Though the CPM has not declared a chief ministerial candidate, but the 92-year-old could stake a claim.

Padmaja Venugopal: The daughter of former Kerala CM K Karunakaran’s, Congress’ Padmaja Venugopal lost at party’s stronghold Thrissur to CPM’s V S Sunilkumar. It came as a big setback for the Congress.



N Rangasamy: The chief minister has won from Indra Nagar.

For more names from the state, click here