Follow Us:
Thursday, August 18, 2022

Bell-free school to global citizenship curriculum: National award winning teachers’ innovative ideas

A total of 47 teachers were conferred with national awards today from across India. 'Bell-free school', 'child parliament', gender sensitisation exercises, and 'global citizenship curriculum' are among the innovative teaching-learning practices adopted by them

national teachers award, best teacher award, teachers day award, teachers day indian, education news, teachers day president award indianexpress, education news47 teachers were conferred with national award today. (Representational image)

Introducing ‘bell-free school’, ‘child parliament’, gender sensitisation exercises, and ‘global citizenship curriculum’ are among the innovative teaching-learning practices adopted by 47 teachers who have bagged the National Teachers Award this year.

Mahipalsinh Sajjansinh Jetavat, a teacher at Shree Tidana Primary School in Gujarat, introduced the concept of a “bell-free school”.
He said the initiative has encouraged children to attend classes regularly.

“I experimented with innovative practices for a child-centered school such as a children’s parliament, making ‘gyankutir’ where children record their own stories, use of ICT technology, promotion of girl child education through local sponsors and a project-based stress-free education. These efforts have borne excellent results in terms of enrolment figures,” Jetavat said.

Jyoti Arora, the principal of Mount Abu Public School in Delhi, has introduced a “global citizenship curriculum” in schools to sensitise children about the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Key-August 18, 2022: Why you should read ‘Extrajudicial Speech’ or ‘...Premium
Nitin Gadkari out, Devendra Fadnavis in: How Maharashtra leaders are read...Premium
Dehlavi To Rushdie, how Salman Rushdie’s father ‘invented&#82...Premium
Delhi Confidential: Kerala football club stuck in Tashkent, S-G Tushar Me...Premium

Prakashchandra Narbheram Suthar, the principal of Kanjeli Primary School, implemented his carpentry skills in making interesting kits, models and experiments at a low cost for learning scientific concepts.

Read Meet these two ‘special’ teachers who used innovative methods to make a change

Sanjay Kumar Jain, a teacher in Madhya Pradesh, has introduced several teaching-learning practices by using school floors, walls, and open spaces as tools for joyful learning.


“I have used the surrounding rocks and boulders as learning materials. Academic attainments in the school have improved with a clear emphasis on learning outcomes whilst making the schooling experience enjoyable for students,” Jain said.

Lomas Dhungel, a teacher from Sikkim, has adopted novel methods of teaching geometry, algebra, and mathematical concepts through poetry, storytelling and art. “He has integrated the understanding of nature in the teaching of maths through stability and symmetry. His activities are extremely child friendly and have engaged children whose skills in maths have shown improvement,” his award citation read.

Read | PM Modi on Teachers’ Day 2020: ‘Grateful for their contribution to shaping minds, building nation’


The other awardees are Manoj Kumar Lakhra (Haryana), Nardev Singh (Himachal Pradesh), Rajinder Kumar (Punjab), Surender Singh (Delhi), Kewalanand Kandpal (Uttarakhand), Geeta Kumari (Rajasthan), Sindhu Prabhu Dessai (Goa), Mohammad Shahid Ansari (Madhya Pradesh), Akhileshwar Pathak (Bihar) and Basant Kumar Sahu (Odisha), among others.

The Ministry of Education invited self-nomination by teachers through an online portal for the awards.

First level scrutiny was done by the District Selection Committee (DSC) headed by the district education officer. Based on prescribed selection criteria, DSC shortlisted three names, and the same was forwarded to the State Selection Committee through an online portal.

This year, the candidates appeared before the jury through a video conference and made presentations. The awards were conferred upon by President Ram Nath Kovind in a virtual award ceremony.

First published on: 05-09-2020 at 02:40:50 pm
Next Story

WWE SmackDown: Roman Reigns’ gets a challenger for PPV, Bayley brutalizes Sasha

Featured Stories