Sportline: PFC’s Chirag Tanna appointed general secretary of IPFCA

Sportline: PFC’s Chirag Tanna appointed general secretary of IPFCA

The representatives of all the major professional football clubs in the country met in Vasco on Saturday to form the common body of 'I-League Professional Football Clubs Association’.

The representatives of all the major professional football clubs in the country met in Vasco on Saturday to form the common body of ‘I-League Professional Football Clubs Association’ (IPFCA). PFC Head of Operations,Chirag Tanna has been appointed the general secretary of the body. The managing committee will consist of members of all 13 clubs. The body will be working out matters linked to the registration of the association and other I-League related issues. Among the discussion was the promise of a revised I-League structure by IMG Reliance.

All clubs were concerned about this as the calendar for the upcoming football season has already been released by the AIFF,but there was no news about the proposed ‘revised structure of I-League.’ The clubs also expressed displeasure over AIFF finalizing the calendar for the next season. As per the meeting on February 20,AIFF was supposed to discuss the calendar with the clubs before finalising; however,the calendar has been circulated without taking the clubs into consideration. They have unanimously decided that they will release players for the national camps as per FIFA regulations. Representatives of Shillong Lajong,United Sikkim & ONGC could not attend the meeting but have conveyed their support for the association. The managing committee will consist of all the 13 clubs and the office bearers are:

President: R.A.J Gomes (General Secretary,Salgaocar FC)

Vice-President: Debashish Dutta (Director,Mc Dowell Mohun Bagan)

Vice-President: Dr. S.R. Dasgupta (Kingfisher East Bengal)

Vice-President: Armando Colaco (General Secretary,Dempo SC)

General Secretary: Chirag Tanna,(Head of Operations,Pune FC)

Treasurer: Victor Fernandes (CEO,Sporting CDG)

PFC U-15,U-17 ‘Open’ Trials next month

Pune Football Club (pfc) will conduct ‘Open’ trials for its Under-17 and Under-15 teams for the forthcoming 2012-13 season at the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex,Mahlunge-Balewadi on Saturday,July 7 and Sunday,July 8,2012. The selected players will form the respective age-group of PFC for the next season. “It is essential that local talent be honed and allowed a chance to graduate to the next level. We believe and hope that someday,along with the right exposure a player from these ranks graduate and makes the city proud in sport,” said Ranjan Choudhary,PFC’s head of youth development. Players born after January 1,1996 are eligible for PFC Under-17 trials and have to report at Balewadi Sports Complex by 7.30 am Saturday,July 7 for registration. The cut-off age for those entering PFC Under-15 trials is January 1,1999 and they need to report at Balewadi Complex at 3.30 pm July .

50 teams to represent RWITC-Chaganbhai Oswal Trophy

Asian Games silver medallist Yasin Merchant,National 6-red Snooker champions Shivam Arora and Aranxta Sanches are among 200 players who will represent 50 teams at the 4th edition of RWITC-Chaganbhai Oswal Trophy Inter Club Snooker Championships that began on Wednesday and will conclude on July 1. The event,organized by and played at the RWITC Club,offers a prize money of Rs 1 lakh and has attracted leading teams from Mumbai,Nashik,Aurangabad,Vashi and Thane. Crazol D’Silva,member,Organising Committee,said the tournament will be held under the endorsement of the Billiards and Snooker Association of Maharashtra.


“Turf Club has had an impeccable record at home and is among the best teams in the city. it has players of the calibre of Zubin and Mazhar and will try to avenge their unfortunate and controversial defeat in the last final,” he added. Yasin Merchant,Shivam Arora and Abhimanyu Gandhi’s team Yasin Merchant Apex Sports shooters have been given the top ranking,while last year’s runner-up RWITC comprising Zubin Registrar,Mazhar Tahirbhoy,Robert Dimole and Muniz Poonawalla will be ranked second. The team Poona Club comprising Vignesh Sangavi,Swapnil Singh,Kapil Punjabi will be ranked third,while defending champion Thane Terminators team comprising Nilesh Patankar,Abhishek Sopankar and Prathmesh Sawant have been ranked fourth,he added. PYC Hindu Gymkhana,Turf Club,Deccan Gymkhana,AP’S Cue and Ball,Cue Masters,Cue Ball & Café are some of the other Pune teams.

The winner will receive Rs 30,000 in cash prize and a trophy,the runner-up will receive a trophy and Rs 20,000 as cash prizes,the semi-finalist will get Rs 10,000 as cash prize and a trophy,while the quarter finalist will get Rs 4,000 as cash prize apart from prizes for highest breaks during the event. A total of 50 teams have been divided into 12 groups with 5 and 4 teams participating in each group.