One seat, but highest vote share for BJP in Pimpri-Chinchwad

The BJP bagged around 2.5 lakh of the 6,70,726 votes polled in Bhosari, Chinchwad and Pimpri

Written by Parthasarathi Biswas | Pune | Published: October 26, 2014 3:18:50 am

The BJP that won one seat in the industrial township of Pimpri-Chinchwad has managed to get the lion’s share of votes in the constituencies in the area. BJP bagged around 2.5 lakh of the 6,70,726 votes polled in Bhosari, Chinchwad and Pimpri. This is by far the best performance of the party in the industrial township.

BJP contested from Bhosari and Chinchwad and ally RPI(A) contested from Pimpri seat.

Laxman Jagtap (Chinchwad) was the lone BJP candidate to win. Eknath Pawar of the party lost in Bhosari and Chandrakanta Sonkamble of RPI(A) lost from Pimpri. Pimpri-Chinchwad has been an NCP stronghold and in the last state elections in 2009, NCP had won Pimpri seat while NCP rebels won Bhosari and Chinchwad seats. The party had the maximum vote share then.

In the 2014 elections, Shiv Sena, has become the party with the second highest vote share – 1,59,442 — in the three constituencies. NCP is third, with 1,35,525 votes, Congress and MNS are third and fourth with 34,028  and 17,617 respectively.

BJP performed the best in Chinchwad with 1,76,902 votes.

In Bhosari, the difference between NCP’s Vilas Lande and BJP’s Eknath Pawar was 585 votes while in Pimpri the difference between RPI(A)’s Sonkamble and NCP’s Anna Bansode was 1,473 votes. Shiv Sena candidates were second in Bhosari and Chinchwad.
Eknath Pawar said it was a culmination of work done by the party over the years that paid off. The partymen ensured that people know about it, he said.

“We had taken to streets on the issue of LBT and that ensured that in all the assembly segments traders are with us. Also we have been agitating about the Red Zone, unauthorized constructions for many years which helped us grow,” he said.

Pawar said the Modi wave managed to get the party 15 per cent more votes than it would have got.

BJP teams from UP, Rajasthan and Gujarat campaigned in the twin township.

For all the latest Pune News, download Indian Express App