Follow Us:
Monday, July 16, 2018

Laddad,Barve battle their way into quarters

The championship is organised in the memory of Late Rajabhau Shahade at the PYC Hindu Gymkhana.

Written by Express News Service | Pune | Published: June 17, 2013 12:28:07 am

Rahul Laddad of Satara along with PYC players Aditya Deshpande and Anand Raghuvanshi moved into the quarterfinal round of the fourth edition of the PYC-Green Baize Snooker Knockout Championship. The championship is organised in the memory of Late Rajabhau Shahade at the PYC Hindu Gymkhana.

In the pre-quarterfinals played on Sunday,Satara boy Laddad scraped past Sameer Bidwai 3-2(53-19,43-68,71-15,60-68,51-30). Aditya Deshpande of PYC scored a 3-1 win over Prathmesh Sawant of Vashi 21-51,55-50,57-20,61-46 while club-mate Anand Raghuvanshi outplayed Shivraj Mohite 3-0 (61-31,58-8,73-63). Gaurav Patange of Deccan Gymkhana and Nashik’s Abhijit Ranade also made it to the quarterfinals ousting Pranav Sanghvi of Nashik and Samar Khandelwal of Pune.

52-year-old Arun Barve of PYC,upset 2012 runner-up Manoj Gadgil of Pool Around 3-2 (25-61,50-58,69-16,58-39,45-27) to make it to the last sixteen at the event.

Results: Third knock out round: Prathmesh Sawant(Vashi) beat Kaiwalya Chavan(Satara) 3-0 (67-40,58-11,60-50); Yogesh Sharma beat Chintamani Jadhav(Corner Pocket) 3-1 (56-64,70-9,60-32,51-33); Gaurav Jaisinghani(Vashi) beat Satish Karad (Deccan Gymkhana) 3-1 (52-31,54-71,71-25,47-8); Pranav Sanghvi(Nashik) beat Sushil Rasal (Satara) 3-2 (60-24,40-64,54-44,39-68,96-85); Shivraj Mohite (Satara) beat Zameer Hotgi (Solapur) 3-1 (63-24,53-17,11-56,55-8); Aditya Deshpande (PYC) beat Liyakat Shaikh (Solapur) 3-2 (48-52,69-32,21-65,76-22,69-27); Arun Barve (PYC) beat Manoj Gadgil (Pool Around) 3-2 (25-61,50-58,69-16,58-39,45-27); Swapnit Singh beat Chetan Rajput (Aurangabad) 3-1 (28-66,63-49,63-21,66-33); Pre-quarterfinal round: Rahul Laddad(Satara) beat Sameer Bidwai 3-2 (53-19,43-68,71-15,60-68,51-30); Aditya Deshpande(PYC) beat Prathmesh Sawant (Vashi) 3-1 (21-51,55-50,57-20,61-46); Gaurav Patange(Deccan Gymkhana) beat Pranav Sanghvi (Nashik) 3-0(49-35,65-47,61-22); Abhijit Ranade(Nashik) beat Samar Khandelwal (Deccan Gymkhana) 3-0 (67-21,57-38,64-42); Anand Raghuvanshi (PYC) beat Shivraj Mohite(Satara) 3-0 (61-31,58-8,73-63) Siddharth Baran(Deccan Gymkhana) beat Yogesh Lohiya (PYC) 3-2 (75-45,36-59,57-48,47-55,43-35).

For all the latest Pune News, download Indian Express App