Follow Us:
Friday, July 20, 2018

Hockey: Braces from Lakra,Thakur take PAA to victory

Railway Boys Club,SRPF record victories

Written by Express News Service | Pune | Published: July 23, 2013 3:52:32 am

Railway Boys Club earned a 3-1 victory over Prakash Sapkal Academy while Prabhakar Aspat Academy handed out a thrashing to Metro Sports Club in the third edition of the Late Devdas Shetty memorial monsoon hockey league.

The tournament which is being played at the Major Dhyan Chand hockey stadium saw Akash Khaire open the scoring for Railways Boys. Amol Bhosale equalised for Prakash Sapkal Academy a few minutes later. However,second half goals from Rubeen Kedari and Rajeev Bhatkar pulled Railways Boys Club to victory.

Prabhakar Aspat Academy (PAA) hammered in five goals against a hapless Metro SC to win 5-1. Metro SC’s Mukesh Biranje gave his side the lead in the 15th minute but Yogesh Thakur restored parity in the 22nd minute and that opened the floodgates for Prabhakar Aspat Academy. Anup Lakra smacked home a brace while Amar Thakur helped himself to a goal. Thakur completed his brace as he scored his team’s fifth goal late in the second half.

SRPF recorded their first victory of the tournament as they beat Vikram Pillay Academy 2-1. Milind Malai and Vivek Kale scored for SRPF while Ritesh Pillay put one in for Vikram Pillay Academy.

Thamba to umpire in Federation Cup

Shridharan Thamba,a national hockey umpire from Pimpri-Chinchwad,has been selected to umpire in the national level Federation Cup tournament which will be conducted in Delhi from July 23 till July 30. Thamba has earlier umpired in various national tournaments all over the country along with being a sports teacher in Alphonsa High School in Kalewadi.

For all the latest Pune News, download Indian Express App