Follow Us:
Tuesday, October 19, 2021

But in Pune district,going it alone won’t be easy

The Congress and the NCP may be thinking of going it alone in the assembly polls. But as far as Pune district is concerned...

Written by Ajay Khape | Pune |
May 19, 2009 10:23:46 pm

The Congress and the NCP may be thinking of going it alone in the assembly polls. But as far as Pune district is concerned,the segmentwise performance of the two parties in the Lok Sabha polls shows that it may not be easy for either to gain supremacy in the assembly polls if they part ways.

Though the Congress-NCP alliance won two of the four seats in the district,the break-up shows that the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance led in most of the 21 assembly segments

In 2004,the two parties had jointly led in 13 of the 18 assembly segments (then there were only three constituencies) while this time,the Congress-NCP alliance led in only nine out of the 21 assembly segments.

The assembly segments in Pune district increased from 18 to 21 after delimitation (three segments of Maval are outside Pune district).

In 2004 assembly polls,the NCP had won 9 seats,and the Congress 4,while the BJP won 3 seats and the Shiv Sena 2 seats in Pune district.

In the just-concluded polls,the Congress-NCP performed the best in Baramati where the NCP’s Supriya Sule had a huge lead in all the six assembly segments,Daund,Indapur,Baramati,Purandar,Bhor and Khadakwasla.

The Congress retained the Pune Lok Sabha seat with Suresh Kalmadi winning by a margin of over 25,000 votes. But the BJP got more votes in the three of the six assembly segments. The Congress led in Wadgaonsheri,Pune Cantonment and Shivajinagar segments while the BJP led in Kasba Peth,Kothrud and Parvati segments. The Congress-NCP suffered the biggest setback in Shirur Lok Sabha seat,where Shiv Sena’s Shivajirao Adhalrao-Patil won although five of the six assembly segments were represented by Congress-NCP leaders. The only saffron legislator in the constituency,Baburao Pacharne from Shirur assembly segment had joined the NCP camp just before the Lok Sabha polls. Despite these factors,the Sena took a lead of 27,001 votes in Ambegaon assembly segment held by state Finance Minister Dilip Walse-Patil and a lead of 23,080 votes in Junnar assembly segment held by NCP district chief Vallabh Benke.

The NCP also received a setback in the three assembly segments of Maval that fall in Pune district. Sena candidate Gajanan Babar took the lead in all three segments,Maval,Chinchwad and Pimpri. The other three assembly segments are in Raigad district.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Pune News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.