Vengsarkar asks for a benefit game for drought-hit state

Vengsarkar asks for a benefit game for drought-hit state

Former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar has requested BCCI president N Srinivasan for an ‘additional final’ of IPL-6 season at Wankhede Stadium or DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on May 28

Former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar has requested BCCI president N Srinivasan for an ‘additional final’ of IPL-6 season at Wankhede Stadium or DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on May 28. “I am writing this letter in my personal capacity as a former captain of Mumbai and India. Since there is a severe drought in most parts of Maharashtra and as a result a lot of people are suffering who need urgent financial help. The BCCI,in the past,has always come forward and helped in such matters. I earnestly request you to arrange for an additional final of the IPL on 28th May to be played either at the Wankhede stadium or D.Y.Patil stadium after the final at Kolkata on 26th gets over to raise funds. It will go a long way if substantial amount is raised from the match for this worthy cause,” Vengsarkar wrote in his letter.

Top teams for rink hockey tourney

Sixteen of the top hockey teams from the city including the likes of Air India,Western Railways,Mumbai Customs,RCF and Union Bank will battle it out for the bragging rights at the Mt. Carmel Open Invitation Rink Hockey Tournament. The annual championship will be held at the Mt. Carmel Church compound in Bandra from May 8 to 11. The tournament will be held under the aegis of Mumbai Hockey Association.

Former Indian captain and joint organizing secretary Viren Rasquinha believes that the tournament promises a lot of action and will be an attraction among fans. He said: “We are very glad that players from some of the top club teams in the city like Republicans Sports Club,Companeroes,Sea View,Rebels Sports Club and SAISA will be rubbing shoulders with former internationals stars like Edgar Mascarenhas,Darryl D’souza and Gavin Ferreira. This 5-a-side format played on a small basketball size court is fast and exciting with plenty of goals and action. Hockey needs this sort of excitement to attract more fans.”

Claudius Desales,who was one of the judges at last year’s London Olympics added: “This year,we have introduced a veterans’ category as the demand was huge. Players who have completed 45 years are eligible to play in this section. We have six teams registered and it will be great to see our former hockey stars taking to the field once again.”

MFC colts blank Dena Bank 2-0


Mumbai FC Under-19 produced a disciplined performance to blank Dena Bank 2-0 in a Super Division Super Six encounter in the Mumbai District Football Association (MDFA) League at the St. Xavier’s ground,Parel,on Monday.

The youngsters from the Mumbai outfit showed good understanding and scored both the goals in the first half to start their campaign in the “Super Six’ on a positive note. Nishant Shetty fired home the opening goal past Dena Bank goalkeeper Chetan Dhanu in the 20th minute. Mumbai FC again rocked the Dena Bank citadel 15 minutes later through the efforts of Altamesh Sayyed to double lead. Earlier in the opening,Super Six fixture played in the afternoon,G M Franco East Indians overcame Central Bank of India by a 3-1 margin. Nehal Salunke,Kamlesh Nadar and Clint Fernandes,all contributed one goal each towards the East Indians victory,while Ubaid Ansari reduced the margin for the bankers.

Results: G M Franco East Indian 3 (Nehal Salunke,Kamlesh Nadar,Clint Fernandes) beat Central Bank of India 1 Ubaid Ansari); Mumbai FC Under-19 2 (Nishant Shetty,Altamesh Sayyed) beat Dena Bank 0

Rizvi College reign supreme

Rizvi College clinched the first edition of Rizvi Champions Trophy inter-collegiate cricket tournament,organised by Mumbai University,under the aegis of Mumbai Cricket Association. An all-rounder show by skipper Pankaj Jaiswal (39 & 2/30) saw the Bandra outfit defeat Jhunjhunwala College by 14 runs in a thrilling final played at the MIG Cricket Club ground on recently. Batting first on a turning track,Rizvi crawled to a small but competitive total of 175 in 36.1 overs. Jaiswal and Kevin D’Almeida (35) chipped in with special cameos that gave Rizvi’s a stiff target. Cruising along at 144 for four at one stage,they lost six wickets for 31 runs. For Jhunjhunwala,offie Jaideep Pardeshi (3/21) and Jay Nayak (3/9) did the most damage. The chase would never have been easy for Jhunjhunwala as spinners called the shots on a wicket that turned square. After a confident start,they huffed and puffed to the 150-run mark before being folded out for 161,but not without giving a brief scare in the end.

Brief scores: Rizvi College 175 all out in 36.1 overs (Kunal Dubey 24,Akhil Rajput 28,Kevin D’Almeida 35,Pankaj Jaiswal 39; Jaideep Pardeshi 3/21,Jay Nayak 3/9) beat Jhunjhunwala College 161 all out (Akhil Herwadkar 33; Ankush Jaiswal 3/39,Pankaj Jaiswal 2/30) by 14 runs; Man of the Final: Pankaj Jaiswal (Rizvi College); Best Batsman: Akhil Rajput (Rizvi College); Best Bowler: Jay Nayak (Jhunjhunwala College); Best Fielder: Sanav Dalvi (Ruparel College); Man of the series: Pankaj Jaiswal (Rizvi College).