Monday, Sep 26, 2022

12 Sena MPs write to Lok Sabha Speaker, naming leader and chief whip: LS Secretariat

12 of the 19 Shiv Sena MPs have requested Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla to make Rahul Shewale their leader while retaining Bhavana Gawali as the chief whip, sources said

Rahul Shewale (Source:

Twelve of the 19 Shiv Sena Members of Parliament (MPs) in the Lok Sabha have written to Speaker Om Birla, requesting him to make Rahul Shewale their leader while retaining Bhavana Gawali as the chief whip, sources in the Lok Sabha secretariat said.

Another letter from the Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena, which claims to be the original Shiv Sena, has reached the Speaker’s office removing Gawali from the post of chief whip and replacing her with Rajan Vichare. The letter written by Shiv Sena leader in the Lok Sabha, Vinayak Raut, said Vichare will be the party’s chief whip.

The move comes almost a month after a revolt in the Shiv Sena ranks saw over two-third MLAs joining rebel leader and now Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, paving the way for a new alliance government with the BJP.

Meanwhile, BJP sources said the Eknath Shinde faction of Shiv Sena would have 14 MPs in it. “It is not 12. There will be 14 MPs in the Shinde side,” a senior BJP leader said.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Key-September 26, 2022: Why you should read ‘Attorney General of Ind...Premium
Congress & its missteps: Rajasthan latest in a series of own goalsPremium
UPSC Essentials: Key terms of the past week with MCQsPremium
ExplainSpeaking: Why RBI is likely to cut GDP growth forecast and raise i...Premium

CM Shinde is in Delhi to review the legal strategy on the disqualification petition filed by the Uddhav Thackeray camp against 16 MLAs supporting him.

First published on: 19-07-2022 at 01:33:27 pm
Next Story

Nope first reactions compare Jordan Peele’s ‘frightening and ferocious’ film to a Steven Spielberg spectacle: ‘An experience that won’t be easy to shake off’

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments