Nine held for vandalism during vote counting in Nashik

Six policemen and some locals were injured in incident, before police lathicharged and fired some rounds in the air to disperse the clashing mob.

| Nashik | Published: February 24, 2017 12:45:27 pm
BMC polls, BMC polls clashes, BMC clashes, BMC Nashik, Nashik BJP win, BMC polls BJP win, BMC polls Nashik BJP, BJP Maharashtra, Balasaheb Sanap Machhindra Sanap, Balasaheb Sanap, Maharashtra news, India news BJP workers celebrating the party’s victory in BMC elections, at party headquarters in New Delhi on Thursday. (PTI Photo/Subhav Shukla)

Nine persons were arrested following an incident of stone-pelting and ransacking of vehicles that led to a delay in counting of votes at a ward in the Nashik civic body, the police said on Friday. Six policemen and some locals were injured in incident. The police also had to fire some rounds in the air to disperse a mob of BJP and Shiv Sena supporters who clashed outside the Meenatai Thackeray stadium, where counting of votes for Ward No. 3 was in progress on Thursday, they said.

BJP city chief and MLA Balasaheb Sanap’s son Machhindra Sanap was declared elected from group A of Ward No. 3 during the vote counting yesterday. However, some Shiv Sena activists alleged that the EVMs showed excess votes than actually polled in the ward. This led to a clash between Sena and BJP workers, who also pelted stones and vandalised some vehicles, including a police van, forcing the poll officials to stop the counting of votes at the centre.

The incident led to tension outside the counting centre in Panchavati area’s Hirawadi locality.

The police then lathicharged and fired some rounds in the air to disperse the clashing mob, Panchvati police station incharge Dinesh Bardekar said.

Top police officials, including Nashik Commissioner of Police Ravinderkumar Singal rushed to the spot and the situation was brought under control, Bardekar said.

Subsequently, nine persons were arrested and booked under relevant sections.

Finally, from Ward No. 3 of the Nashik Municipal Corporation, the BJP candidates were declared elected in groups A, B and D while Sena’s nominee won in group C.

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

For all the latest Mumbai News, download Indian Express App