New faces in Devendra fadnavis cabinet

After the expansion, BJP has 20 ministers, while Sena has 10 representatives in the government.

| Mumbai | Published: December 6, 2014 2:38:47 am
cabinet-l New Sena-BJP ministers at the swearing-in ceremony at Vidhan Bhavan in Mumbai on Friday. (Source: IE photo by Vasant Prabhu)

1. Chandrashekhar Bawankule (45)   BJP

Pic-1 Chandrashekhar Bawankule

The senior BJP MLA from Kamptee in Vidarbha is set to get the energy portfolio. He is considered close to Union Minister Nitin Gadkari. Bawankule, who belongs to the Teli community (OBC), had won the elections from Kamptee for the first time in 2004. He retained his sway over the constituency and has won a third term. There are indications that Bawankhule got precedence over another senior MLA Chainskukh Sancheti from Buldhana.

2. Rajkumar Badole (52)  BJP

The senior BJP had given the BJP an electoral edge in Arjuni Morgaon (Gondia) in Vidarbha. The party has accommodated him in the cabinet to give representation to scheduled caste. The BJP intends to consolidate its base by promoting his candidature from the reserved constituency. Badole has been pursuing issues related to tribal and Dalit population in backward district Gondia in the cotton-growing belt of Vidarbha. He gets social justice ministry.

3. Baburao Lonikar (55)  BJP

The senior BJP MLA represents Partur in Jalna district of Marathwada. Lonikar has been persistently raising issues related to drought and water crisis in the region. In 2009, he had filed a PIL to expose financial irregularities in irrigation projects. The construction of barrages worth Rs 2,000 crore across Godavari was an issue he pursued. He is the BJP’s second cabinet minister from Marathwada after Pankaja Munde. He has got water supply and sanitation.

4. Girish Bapat (64)   BJP

Bapat is five-time MLA from Kasba Peth in Pune. An RSS activist, he had been in the reckoning for a Lok Sabha ticket from Pune as well as the Speaker’s position. Bapat is known to comprehend administrative issues well. He is also one of the few legislators with an impeccable attendance record, being present for 217 of the 225 days the House was in session in the last Assembly. He will get FDA and Parliamentary affairs ministries.

5. Girish Mahajan (54)   BJP

The five-time legislator from Jamner in Jalgaon district of Maharashtra has risen from a member of the Bharatiya
Janata Party’s students’ wing Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad. Mahajan is known for raising issues concerning cotton farmers in the state. He also shares a love-hate relationship with his one-time mentor and now cabinet colleague Eknath Khadse. He is
likely to get water resources ministry.

6. Eknath Shinde  (51)    Shiv Sena

He is a three-time MLA from Kopri Pachpakahadi in Thane. From working in a beer brewery to becoming the leader of Opposition, Shinde is a quintessential Shiv Sainik. He was handpicked by Uddhav Thackeray as Opposition leader because of his belligerent and confrontational style of functioning. Shinde has 20 cases registered against him, including that of attempted murder.

7. Deepak Sawant (61)    Shiv Sena

The senior Shiv Sena MLC from Mumbai Graduate constituency is a doctor. He has been representing Sena in the Legislature Council since 2000. Extremely vocal, Sawant has raised several public welfare issues related to corruption and negligence in the medical profession. He also heads the Sena medical and transport wing. Well versed with urban problems, he is also a member of the Sena core team.

8. Diwakar Raote (69)    Shiv Sena

The member of the upper House of the state legislature is a fiery leader from Mumbai.
Raote was tasked by the late Shiv Sena founder Bal Thackeray to expand the party base in Marathwda which he managed to carry out successfully in the late 80s. An organisational man, Raote is known for his fiery temper and shares an uneasy relationship with the BJP.

9. Subhash Desai (72)    Shiv Sena

A three-time MLA from Goregaon, Subhash Desai was defeated by a BJP’s Vidya Thakur, who ironically will be Desai’s cabinet colleague in the government. Desai is known as a strategist and one of the few Shiv Sena leaders whom party president Uddhav Thackeray relies on. Desai had played an important role in negotiating with the BJP during power-sharing talks. He has got industry portfolio.

10. Ramdas Kadam (64)     Shiv Sena

The three-time MLA from Khed in Konkan region is a member of the Maharashtra Legislative Council, the upper House, and had suffered defeat in the 2009 Assembly elections. Known as the enfant terrible of the Sena, Kadam has been known to share an uneasy relationship with the BJP. He had in 2009 termed the BJP as “treacherous” and blamed the party for his defeat in the Assembly elections.

For all the latest Mumbai News, download Indian Express App