Follow Us:
Saturday, July 21, 2018

Mock Vidarbha assembly session to start today in Nagpur

CM Ajit Pawar and all other ministers to attend the programme,Chatap said.

Written by Express News Service | Nagpur | Published: December 5, 2013 11:41:33 am

A two-day mock “Vidarbha state assembly” session will start on Thursday. The pro-Vidarbha front,Vidarbha Joint Action Committee (VJAC),on Wednesday selected MLAs,chief justice and governor.

Chief minister,Deputy CM,Leader of Opposition and House chairperson will be chosen on Thursday,committee convenor former Swatantra Bharat Paksha MLA Wamanrao Chatap said. The session will be held at Royal Parete Hall in the Khamla locality.

Invites will be sent to Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan,Deputy CM Ajit Pawar and all other ministers to attend the programme,Chatap said. Social worker Umesh Choube was chosen to be the “chief justice” and Vedprakash Vaidik as “governor”. The 62 MLAs have been divided into two parties —ruling Vidarbha Vikas Party and opposition Vidarbha Jana Party — in the ratio of 60:40. However,names of prominent pro-Vidarbha politicians do not figure.

When asked if Ashish Deshmukh,a youth leader and son of former state Congress chief Ranjit Deshmukh,will be attending,committee leader Ahmed Kader said “he is unlikely to be there”.

Deshmukh has started his own Vidarbha state campaign. Chatap said all legislative tools will be used to conduct the proceedings and a development plan for Vidarbha will be tabled. Those who will participate include sitting independent MLA from Morshi Anil Bonde,former BLP MLA Bhola Badhel,leading economist Srinivas Khandewale,Shetkari Sanghatana leaders Ram Nevale and Saroj Kashikar,former Income Tax Commissioner Dhananjay Dharmik and former police commissioner P K B Chakraborty.

For all the latest Mumbai News, download Indian Express App