Thursday, Oct 06, 2022

MMRDA plans seven roads in Oshiwara

The seven roads that the MMRDA has planned will add a total road length of 3,520 metres to Oshiwara.

To ensure good connectivity to the proposed ‘Oshiwara’ suburban railway station, the city’s development board has decided to construct seven new roads and other infrastructure in Oshiwara and has set aside Rs 62 crore for the works.

The Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) is the special planning authority for the area. The seven roads that the MMRDA has planned will add a total road length of 3,520 metres to Oshiwara.

Besides constructing the roads, the MMRDA will also work on improving infrastructure along the planned project alignment including road-side drains, culvert, and water lines. The roads have been planned to provide connectivity to the proposed station at Oshiwara and from the suburb to the SV Road. Of this, work worth Rs 37 crore has already started.

“The Western Railway is constructing a railway station ‘Oshiwara’ between Jogeshwari and Goregaon. Once this becomes operational, this region will become a new residential and commercial hub,” said MMRDA spokesperson Dilip Kawathkar.

Subscriber Only Stories
Remembering Indian tennis great, Naresh Kumar, who passed away on Septemb...Premium
How Carlsen would need to cheat just once in a game of chess to be invinc...Premium
IAS officer’s initiative scales up students’ learning level in Sangli sch...Premium
Rising rates after four repo hikes: Turbulent times ahead for home loan s...Premium

The Mumbai Rail Vikas Corporation, the infrastructure development arm of the city’s suburban railway system, had started the construction of the Oshiwara railway station more than two years ago. While the work is now in final stages, the corporation is waiting for the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) to construct a rail over-bridge between Goregaon and Jogeshwari to connect the Western Express Highway and SV Road and to close a level crossing there.

First published on: 08-09-2014 at 12:04:27 am
Next Story

BSP identifies 8 Independents to back in UP bypolls

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments